Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
8 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 9 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Carthage Middle School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted January 27, 2016
- a parent
To all the teachers on team 5B: Thank you for doing what you do and I know you don't get enough praise for all the hard work. Thank you and thumbs up!

Carthage Middle School 5

Posted January 27, 2016
- a parent
We had nothing but a wonderful school year at Carthage Middle School. The teachers are involved, always available to address any concerns, showed all the kids all the ins and outs on being a Middle Schooler.


Carthage Middle School 5

Posted December 03, 2013
- a community member
this school is amazing. you have no idea how many good oppertunities, privilages, and fundraisers they have compared to others. they have dozens of sports even swimming. were else can you get onn a swim team in 7th grade? their science programs and teachers are fun and intelligent while art and music programs never fail to amaze me. As a former student I never realized how amazing it was until I was gone.

Carthage Middle School 2

Posted June 03, 2013
- a parent
This school is horrid! The assistant principal dresses like high class call girl, is hard-headed, and oblivious to the parents. She will smile her fake smile and without a listening ear do what's best for her staff. Majority of the students are military and without us, she'd be a clerk at the local 7-eleven.

Carthage Middle School 2

Posted January 14, 2011
- a parent
Though most of the teachers are nice, the principal is extremely hard to work with. She manipulates every conversation to have the parent agree with her point of view and does little or nothing to help. She also overall seem to believe that most children are bad people. My fifth grader was very confused to have 9 different periods, and 8 different teachers with the schedule changing daily. At the beginning of the year he was very confused about his homework. When I asked the principal to ask her teachers to give us a syllabus, she refused and said that my child is probably not confused but hiding the homework from me. My son is very honest and hard working and would never do that, he was simply not used to the High School set up in fifth grade. On other occasions when I have asked the principal for help, she has either refused or manipulated me into saying that I don't need her help after all. Also there are not any enrichment activities for gifted children. If you want your kids to learn the basics, the school is OK, but if you want children to excel you will be very disappointed because all curriculum is geared toward passing the state test.


Carthage Middle School 4

Posted May 25, 2010
- a parent
I have to agree with the post about confusing. There never really is information that is sent home. My son is unilaterally deaf and has a hard time hearing the intercom when there is a lot of noise around him, but they only give info in announcements at the end of the day and the kids are expected to know everything from that, bring it home, and go from there. I never know what is going on there. There is no PTO to speak of. A friend and I tried to help get it going and were completely ignored. The education is top notch from where we have been. He is in all excellerated classes and absolutely loves all of his teachers. I have never been able to say that before at other schools. The principle is supportive, but not equip to deal with any sort of problem, concern, or complaint.

Carthage Middle School 4

Posted April 10, 2006
- a student
Good quality education. Supportive administration, Teaching staff is very concerned about well being of the students.

Carthage Middle School 4

Posted November 10, 2005
- a parent
My child is in 8th grade (8B). Most of the teachers do a wonderful job at emailing me if my son is falling behind before it's to late for him to get caught up. They really care about the students. They also answer my emails in a timely fashion. I also think the K12 planet website is a great website to view the progress of my child's grades and homework assignments. I am very pleased with this school in this aspect.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Carthage Middle School
21986 Cole Road, Carthage, NY  13619
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. (315) 493-5020
Last modified Carthage Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 5-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top