Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lawrence Senior High School

Public | 9-12 | 960 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 21, 2012

This is the greatest school ! My grandparent , my parents , my children and myself are all products of Lawrence - I also switched them out and put them back in - I buckled and listened to my peers , instead of goin with my gut! When goin to college fairs Colleges roll out the red carpet when they hear you are from Lawrence - Lawrence is the real world , diverse , but the kids LOVE IT and the parents should learn from the kids - The other great thing about Lawrence is the young foward thinking teachers and administrators GO TORNADOES !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2008

I have two daughters in Lawrence High School. Excellent teachers, Music program, and Art program. Just unfortunate that lots of activities has been reduced due to budget and because of some private school. This is the only school who provides education for special needs kids around. The principals and teachers in all the schools were always open to hear the parents point of view. The high school principal. He is a warm, caring man, who really loves and cares for his students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2008

This school is fabulous. All of the news on the racial and religious conflicts are not felt inside of the classroom. Each student has a chance to be something special and wonderful.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 31, 2008

Lawrence is a great school. There are so many activities you can join and we have a large diversity
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 11, 2007

This School Is Excellent.Personally I Love This School.It Is One Of The Best Schools I've Attended.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 16, 2006

Without support from the community the school is having a hard time providing services to special needs children that really need it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

I agree with the comment that is on the site already. Both my children have had a great education in the Lawrence Public Schools. As in any school, there have been some bad apples, but I feel that overall my children have had the best a school can offer. Both of my kids were on Varsity soccer teams throughout high school,had band and orchestra participation through high school and participation in other clubs.The principals and teachers in all the schools were always open to hear the parents point of view. Especially the high school principal. He is a warm, caring man, who really cares for his kids. This is especially evident at the graduation ceremony where he speaks about that particular graduating class. He always finds the positive to speak about. Sure, there have been bumps in the road, but I thank all the people who helped my children achieve their best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2003

I am not a parent but a student at this school. I feel the quality in the academics offered is wonderful and there is a wide array of extra curricular activities for students to participate in. New actions have been taken to furthermore ensure student safety and this school year will begin the new order of student ids. Most students don't like the idea of being tagged but I believe the faculty is doing it in the best interest of the students.


Posted August 10, 2003

My son just graduated from Lawrence High School and I feel this school has a lot to offer its students. It is run by a caring principal and has some of the highest quality teachers on Long Island. The students can choose from an extremely wide variety of electives, college courses and AP courses. Extra help is at the students' fingertips, as teachers avail themselves before school, after school, lunchtime, or during free periods. There is weekend school prior to midterms and finals/regents. There are extensive music and art classes. The marcing band has twice been invited to Disney and also participates in the NYC Columbus Day Parade each year. The teachers and administrators truly care about each child. Despite recent financial problems, children's programs were not touched. Extensive Special Education Department as well. Tremendous sports school, especially football. The students of Lawrence High have gotten into the nation's finest colleges, Harvard, Yale, GW, Princeton, University of Pa., Stamford, Georgetown, Univ. of Michigan, Lehigh, Brown, NYU,etc. This shows that the school has done its job. It is a multi-cultural school and has a substantial minority population. Overall, it was a great experience for my son.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra II/Trigonometry

The state average for Algebra II/Trigonometry was 64% in 2012.

106 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
78%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 78% in 2012.

128 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
70%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 73% in 2012.

272 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
69%
English

The state average for English was 82% in 2012.

276 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
77%
French

The state average for French was 95% in 2011.

25 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
96%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2012.

185 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
79%
Global History and Geography

The state average for Global History and Geography was 71% in 2012.

307 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
61%
Integrated Algebra

The state average for Integrated Algebra was 72% in 2012.

295 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
78%
Italian

The state average for Italian was 98% in 2011.

41 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%
Living Environment

The state average for Living Environment was 78% in 2012.

177 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
82%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 79% in 2012.

52 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
63%
Spanish

The state average for Spanish was 94% in 2011.

123 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
91%
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 79% in 2012.

279 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
73%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Algebra II/Trigonometry

All Students72%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a

Chemistry

All Students60%
Students with disabilities13%
General population62%

Earth Science

All Students71%
Students with disabilities59%
General population74%

English

All Students80%
Students with disabilities57%
General population84%

Geometry

All Students76%
Students with disabilities71%
General population77%

Global History and Geography

All Students64%
Students with disabilities53%
General population66%

Integrated Algebra

All Students80%
Students with disabilities75%
General population81%

Living Environment

All Students87%
Students with disabilities87%
General population87%

Physics

All Students54%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population54%

U.S. History and Government

All Students77%
Students with disabilities63%
General population79%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 34% 23%
White 33% 48%
Black 26% 19%
Asian 7% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 5%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 36%N/A43%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 2%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 55%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2 Reilly Rd
Cedarhurst, NY 11516
Phone: (516) 295-8000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Bible Baptist Academy
Cedarhurst, NY





Machon Academy
Lawrence, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT