Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Centereach, NY
Students enrolled: 1,641

3 stars
Based on 23 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


26 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Centereach High School 3

Posted August 01, 2011
- a teacher
As with anything in life, you reap what you sow...the effort you put into something directly correlates with what you receive and achieve. Education is no different. Every school has its challenges and every child faces his or her own issues. It is up to every parent to advocate for his/ her children and support educational efforts. If the parents are involved and value education the children are more likely to be successful. Students who have parents who support their education and are on top of things are more motivated to put forth the effort to succeed. The school needs to provide a safe place for learning to occur and the teachers need to provide challenging, relevant lessons to teach the curricula to meet NYS standards. But we can't do it alone. The students have to want it and that desire does not happen by itself.

Centereach High School 1

Posted March 14, 2011
- a student
This school is really bad ancient desks and lunch tables all from 1975 when my parents went to school pretty sad and embarrasing how i sit in the same desks that my parents sat in 35 years ago. But what are you gonna do we go to Centereach =/


Centereach High School 2

Posted March 11, 2011
- a student
This school focuses more on sports, mostly the bad one such as the football team. the fencing team has won more than 25 county championships, is great for the kids to learn discipline, yet gets no attention. the football team hasn't won anything more than one game since 200! and yet, the school decides to put in a multi-million dollar turf football field with lights for night games. the fencing team is using equiptment from 1970!! The principal is doing an amazing job. The assistant principals are the worst, they dont know what theyre doing and they think suspending people is the best thing for them when they decide to do nothing!

Centereach High School 4

Posted January 23, 2010
- a student
It's a good school with great teachers and a great principle. The sports are also very good,excellent education.

Centereach High School 4

Posted October 15, 2009
- a student
It's a good school with great teachers and a great principle. The sports activities are fun but we aren't very good! Fights happen but less lately


Centereach High School 0
no rating

Posted September 17, 2009
- a parent
I love Centereach High School because the teachers,guidence counselors and staff truly care about our childrens futures.

Centereach High School 1

Posted May 09, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Centereach High School 3

Posted February 05, 2009
- a parent
CHS is a decent school. Not the best and not the worst. The job gets done if your child is willing. You do have to stay ontop of things. The administration does not do for you, so you do have to push. Actually the administration is probably one of the worst I have seen in years. The kids do go to college but the work must be done by the parent. CHS is lacking more of the upper level classes (such as more college courses and the IB course). How can our children compete for college if the school doesn't have the same programs as other schools do? They do have enough after schho activities and the music program is fantastic. All in all the students do well as long as they have a strong parental support.


Centereach High School 1

Posted February 04, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Centereach High School 1

Posted September 28, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Centereach High School
14 43rd Street, Centereach, NY  11720
(631) 285-8100
Last modified Centereach High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Centereach High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. Top