Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
1-5
Public district
Centereach, NY
Students enrolled: 335
 

4 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

12 reviews of this school


North Coleman Road School 4

Posted May 14, 2011
- a community member
The teachers are very good with the students and plan fun field trips and class activities. The PTA can sometimes get a little crazy with what they do sometimes, but I appreciate their enthusiasm.

North Coleman Road School
no rating

Posted October 10, 2010
- a parent
Every teacher and staff member I've met has been great with my son.


North Coleman Road School
no rating

Posted October 09, 2010
- a community member
Because my grandson goes there and he is doing great.

North Coleman Road School 5

Posted April 14, 2010
- a community member
As a former student, this school's special education program gave me the help I needed in the formative years of my academic career, a tradition I know continues today.

North Coleman Road School
no rating

Posted October 20, 2009
- a parent
North Coleman is such a wonderful elementary school. the teachers are caring & they do so much with all the children.


North Coleman Road School 5

Posted August 18, 2009
- a teacher
Wonderful school! The parents are very involved with their children's education and are invited into the school often. We have an incredible PTA that goes above and beyond to enrich their children's elementary school experience. Our new principal is amazing!

North Coleman Road School 1

Posted May 20, 2008
- a parent
The new Principal is terrible! She is rude to students and to parents. And IS NOT forthcoming. Research the test scores since Mr. Wallace has left. I mean REALLY look into it. Academics (in the District as a whole) are poor. And, they are on a downward spiral. The SAME homework worksheets given in Kindergarten are given to the 1st Graders in this school. While they do put an emphasis on reading there is a definite lack of teaching mathematics and sciences. Special services are not given to students who may be falling behind UNLESS the parent calls and calls and calls. And for Gifted children, there is ABSOLUTELY NOTHING!

North Coleman Road School 5

Posted May 04, 2005
- a parent
My children attend N.C.R and I have onlly good things to say about it. All the teachers and staff that I've been in contact with have done nothing but help my children with any problems they have weather they're emotional, academic, or social. I'm always kept informed of both good and not so good things that are going on with my children and they always work with me in praising or helping my kids in weak areas. Parent involvement seem to be great although I always see the same faces. The kids don't have any after school activities, but there are many activities sponcered by the P.T.A which the teachers and principal seem to be involved in.


North Coleman Road School 1

Posted February 28, 2005
- a parent
My children attended this school - I was aghast when they came home and asked me what certain curse words were. I asked them where they got them from and was told they were reading it in a book in school. I asked them to bring the book home and was told it wasn't allowed. I got a copy of the book 'MY Brother Sam Is Dead' (5th grade reading) and sure enough there they were. I went to the Board of Education and read them this book. Instead of removing the book they removed my children from class during the reading of this book. I explained that they have a sign in the lunch room no cursing but they are reading it in class... the principals response: The parents use these words... My response: Well, I don't! Parents you need to be INVOLVED with the teaching of your children.

North Coleman Road School 4

Posted February 23, 2004
- a parent
I have 2 children in this school; 1 in first and 1 in third. I love the school because of the small class sizes and the principal is very in tune with the children. Parents are always welcome and they have a great PTA that provides alot of extras for the children.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.
We're sorry, but this feature is no longer supported. If you'd like to share your experiences at this school, please write a review.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

North Coleman Road School
197 North Coleman Road, Centereach, NY  11720
(631) 285-8660
Last modified North Coleman Road School is a Public school that serves grades 1-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
North Coleman Road School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top