Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Our Savior New American School

Private | PK-12 | 283 students

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Centereach

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $280,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $2,060.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 2, 2014

Our daughter went to Osnas for 3 years and did extremely well both socially and educationally but wanted to go to a larger school. We reluctantly granted her wish. The worst mistake we could have made. Its been all down hill. Great school, great values, and great educationally.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2012

Great Christian education providing a solid spiritual foundation. The teachers continually challenge students with curiculum.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2012

This school has been set up by Christ Himself as a way to preach the gospel to a sinful world. Both my kids go here and I feel their education rivals none. My daughter is on the Honor Roll every quarter since 3rd grade coming here after the public schools said she couldn't read. My son is performing well and is going towards a creer in Computer Graphics. The teachers, Pricipal, and staff ( paid as well as volunteer ) have a Godly love for eachother. God Bless OSNAS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2012

Both of my children attend school here and it has been great. They are academically challenged every day and are being well prepared for college when the time comes. I recommend this school to anyone who is concerned of giving their children a well rounded education while also instilling spiritual growth. The staff is caring, respectful but stern and also provides the one on one attention when needed. The education of your children is a responsibility of the parents and the teachers combined and is also reflective of both.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2012

My children graduated from Our Savior and currently attend college. I am writing this review becuase one of the professors sought out my child to review some of the subject matter taught in HS and was very impressed with the curriculum. The college professor feels that the student was very prepared for undergraduate work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2012

If you are looking for a Christian School with a caring, dedicated staff, look no further. Your child will be treated with respect by a staff that cares about all of the children realizing they are a gift from God.. Each child has the opportunity to excel in all areas of learning. This school, although small, has everything a parent would look for in educating their child. My son was reluctant to come because of it's small size, but after he graduated, he knew that as a family, we made the right choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2012

I am a parent of two children currently attending OSNAS. I am not happy with the school at all and will not have my children return for the next school year. There are some very good teachers but unfortunately a couple that spoil the bunch. I feel if they had a new principal and changed a couple of teachers this could be a good school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2011

Very small school, a grade is about 10 people! although very small and strict, has a good education.


Posted December 13, 2008

I am very happy as a parent with this school. Both my children have been attending since pre school and have been excelling. This school has amazing teachers who put 150% into their children. My children do not want to leave. I am very pleased with Our Savior.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2006

I thank the faculty and staff at Our Savior. They have helped me succeed in life and for that I will always be grateful.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 12, 2005

I have exhaled! This wonderful school has taught my children academic excellence as well as character, respect, etc. Teachers and staff are excellent. They are getting a great christian education. Keep up the good work OSNAS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2004

This is a wonderful school, for the child that is eager to brace the word of God. The public schools just seem to want to push a child through the grades. Our Savior teachers will spend extra time to help the students, and will go out of there way to assist them in anyway that they can. As for the headmaster of the school, he is very deicated to the school and to the students. He will also assist in anyway that he can.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2004

This Christ-centered school is the best place to educate your children in the area. The teachers are awesome and give 110 Percent. The Headmaster is a solid, spiritual leader and educator. Please disregard the previous message that depicts this school as a 'cult' and the Headmaster as anything other than a caring and dedicated Pastor and teacher. (Must be sour grapes.) Our Savior provides each student a solid Christian education grounded in God's Word. If you are looking for a Christ-Centered education with dedicated teachers and staff, then look no further. God bless you on your search for a quality Christian school. I pray you choose Our Savior.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted April 24, 2004

I consider this school a cult. Most of the teachers are dedicated to the students, but the ''headmaster'' needs to come back to the real world. This school keeps the kids in a bubble.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

Great support for students! Teachers know the students and are concerned about their welfare. The basketball program and other sports program is great!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 72% 52%
Black 14% 21%
Hispanic 8% 21%
Asian 6% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Gifted & talented

College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Dolores Reade
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Lutheran church - missouri synod
Associations
  • ACSI

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Softball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

140 Mark Tree Road
Centereach, NY 11720
Website: Click here
Phone: (631) 588-2757

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Oxhead Road School
Centereach, NY


Dawnwood Middle School
Centereach, NY


Centereach High School
Centereach, NY



Holbrook Road School
Centereach, NY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT