Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Central Islip, NY
Students enrolled: 1,788

3 stars
Based on 48 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


49 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Central Islip Senior High School 4

Posted June 17, 2014
- a community member
Overall a great school. Music department is phenomenal, but favoritism plays a huge role especially, in the Concert Choir. Stay busy with extracurricular activities and you'll be fine. Many seniors are going off to Ivy league schools. (i.e. Harvard,Yale) As long as you hang with the right crowds you'll be fine.

Central Islip Senior High School 4

Posted April 27, 2014
- a community member
To be completely honest this school is what you make of it. I've been to other schools on the Island and many of the things that people say make this school terrible exist in many other schools. There is a lack of motivation in this school, but that is because students are constantly being told that they are at the bottom and how bad ci is. As an AP and Honor student I take advantage of the schools opportunities. Yes there are fights but not very often. I've chosen not to take lunch to free up periods (suggest that you do the same) and bring a bagged lunch. The Ap teachers are amazing and are really dedicated, they send out reminders through text and email. The music department is phenomenal but there is favoritism so beware (and the choirs take up a lot of time, like night rehearsals once or twice a week) . If you don't have the right attitude you won't fit in. Overall, CI is a great school if you stay in the right crowd and keep yourself occupied with sports, extracurricular activities, and staying focused on school.


Central Islip Senior High School 5

Posted April 12, 2014
- a parent
Best School ever, I found. This year 150 students got admission in top 10 universities of the Nation.

Central Islip Senior High School 3

Posted June 08, 2012
- a student
It is not that bad. People who rant on CIHS obviously don't take advantage of the opportunities. Sure, the lunch isn't healthy but nobody forces you to eat it. Kids get in fights but then again, kids get in fights in any high school.Obviously if you hang out with delinquients with no ambitions then you might get in trouble. I am an AP/ Honors student and I have to say I like my honors classes better than the regents. As for the education system, there are the teachers who devote their time to education and those who are lazy. This is just something that a student has to deal with in life because it happens in college and work too. Also, our school has a lot of clubs to get involved in after school if you take the time to participate. We have a great music department as well. CIHS isn't as bad as people make it out to be.

Central Islip Senior High School 1

Posted February 17, 2012
- a student
Im a senior at central islip senior high school and I cant wait to get out from this horrible school. When it rains the water leaks in and there's wet floor signs everywhere, and the cess pool over flowed 2 times this year. The lunch is discusting and not healthy at all. There's almost a fight once a week and instead of the teachers being teachers some of them are like your classmate. Girls and guys that are boyfriend and gurlfriend are always making out in the halls. So I wud not advise anyone to come to this school.


Central Islip Senior High School 1

Posted August 16, 2009
- a student
CI is a horrible school. The education system is low and most teachers don't even teach and just sit around and don nothing. The students are out of control and there is always fights and riots and they never keep to their Curriculum.

Central Islip Senior High School 2

Posted August 05, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Central Islip Senior High School 3

Posted January 15, 2009
- a student
im a freshmen at CIHS and its okay. there are people who just act like animals and others who act normal. i wish we had better teachers, if u ask all the students if they have at least 2 or 3 horrible teachers i bet more then half would say yes. Ci is a great school but there needs to be a better system; more organized and run better.


Central Islip Senior High School 3

Posted December 05, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Central Islip Senior High School 4

Posted December 01, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Central Islip Senior High School
85 Wheeler Road, Central Islip, NY  11722
(631) 348-5078
Last modified Central Islip Senior High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Central Islip Senior High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 49 reviews. Top