Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Central Islip, NY
Students enrolled: 1,836
 

3 stars
Based on 49 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Central Islip Senior High School 1

Posted May 15, 2015
- a community member
This is one of the worst schools on Long Island, hands down. The administration as well as the school staff in the main office and guidance are unwelcoming and cold and talk down to the students and their parents on a regular basis. They operate in a very punitive manner and are quick to suspend kids for the smallest infraction. Aside from some individual teachers, there is no motivation or positive encouragement given to the students. The various departments do not communicate effectively which creates problems for the kids and many of them fall through the cracks as a result. The building itself is outdated and institutional like. In addition, the Special Education department regularly give children and parents a hard time when they want to explore whether or not there is a disability of some kind to provide assistance with. They always put the blame on the parent and the kid and offer the bare minimum to help students, most of whom come from very challenging circumstances. They speak negatively and unprofessionally to the kids and parents on a regular basis. The management of this school needs an overhaul ASAP.

Central Islip Senior High School 4

Posted June 17, 2014
- a community member
Overall a great school. Music department is phenomenal, but favoritism plays a huge role especially, in the Concert Choir. Stay busy with extracurricular activities and you'll be fine. Many seniors are going off to Ivy league schools. (i.e. Harvard,Yale) As long as you hang with the right crowds you'll be fine.


Central Islip Senior High School 4

Posted April 27, 2014
- a community member
To be completely honest this school is what you make of it. I've been to other schools on the Island and many of the things that people say make this school terrible exist in many other schools. There is a lack of motivation in this school, but that is because students are constantly being told that they are at the bottom and how bad ci is. As an AP and Honor student I take advantage of the schools opportunities. Yes there are fights but not very often. I've chosen not to take lunch to free up periods (suggest that you do the same) and bring a bagged lunch. The Ap teachers are amazing and are really dedicated, they send out reminders through text and email. The music department is phenomenal but there is favoritism so beware (and the choirs take up a lot of time, like night rehearsals once or twice a week) . If you don't have the right attitude you won't fit in. Overall, CI is a great school if you stay in the right crowd and keep yourself occupied with sports, extracurricular activities, and staying focused on school.

Central Islip Senior High School 5

Posted April 12, 2014
- a parent
Best School ever, I found. This year 150 students got admission in top 10 universities of the Nation.

Central Islip Senior High School 3

Posted June 08, 2012
- a student
It is not that bad. People who rant on CIHS obviously don't take advantage of the opportunities. Sure, the lunch isn't healthy but nobody forces you to eat it. Kids get in fights but then again, kids get in fights in any high school.Obviously if you hang out with delinquients with no ambitions then you might get in trouble. I am an AP/ Honors student and I have to say I like my honors classes better than the regents. As for the education system, there are the teachers who devote their time to education and those who are lazy. This is just something that a student has to deal with in life because it happens in college and work too. Also, our school has a lot of clubs to get involved in after school if you take the time to participate. We have a great music department as well. CIHS isn't as bad as people make it out to be.


Central Islip Senior High School 1

Posted February 17, 2012
- a student
Im a senior at central islip senior high school and I cant wait to get out from this horrible school. When it rains the water leaks in and there's wet floor signs everywhere, and the cess pool over flowed 2 times this year. The lunch is discusting and not healthy at all. There's almost a fight once a week and instead of the teachers being teachers some of them are like your classmate. Girls and guys that are boyfriend and gurlfriend are always making out in the halls. So I wud not advise anyone to come to this school.

Central Islip Senior High School 1

Posted August 16, 2009
- a student
CI is a horrible school. The education system is low and most teachers don't even teach and just sit around and don nothing. The students are out of control and there is always fights and riots and they never keep to their Curriculum.

Central Islip Senior High School 3

Posted January 15, 2009
- a student
im a freshmen at CIHS and its okay. there are people who just act like animals and others who act normal. i wish we had better teachers, if u ask all the students if they have at least 2 or 3 horrible teachers i bet more then half would say yes. Ci is a great school but there needs to be a better system; more organized and run better.


Central Islip Senior High School 5

Posted September 26, 2008
- a student
i am a 9th grader at cihs and i love it the only reason why the school has the rep it does is because of the bone heads who don't know when to stop. every high school no matter where you go is like that i personaly think that if you want to make it out there in the real world your best chance is here it's as close to the real world as your going to get in high school

Central Islip Senior High School 2

Posted September 18, 2008
- a parent
This school is terrible!! My son attended this school for the 9th grade and did not like it. He came from a school as a honor roll student, but when he got to CIHS everything seemed to go down. He has now transferred to another school and is doing wonderful! The teachers seem to have their favorites and the music department is not what it seems. There is definitely favoritism in the music dept. I had a niece who graduated from the school and other children i know who also graduated and said they would not advise anyone to have to put CIHS on their resume. The school needs a whole new makeover as far as the teachers!!!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Central Islip Senior High School
85 Wheeler Road, Central Islip, NY  11722
(631) 348-5078
Last modified Central Islip Senior High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Central Islip Senior High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 50 reviews. Top