Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Theodore Roosevelt School

Public | PK-2 | 346 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 29, 2013

"T! R!" (as its known to those of us who love it.......) is an excellent school for 3 reasons: 1. A confident, enthusiastic, and communicative Principal who sets the tone for the school, by his leadership. 2. A caring and experienced teaching and non-teaching staff who clearly work together as a team, for the benefit of the students. 3. A teaching staff that has obviously chosen TR as their school of choice. This is reflected in their hard work and dedication. I am a parent of a child at the school; I am also a professional educator with 30 years' experience in the classroom. Keep up the great work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2008

Love this school! My daughter attends, the teachers are extremely interactive, very knowledgable, and the children are truly PRIORITY #1.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2008

They are the best school they are really into helping the children in all areas of education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2008

Outstanding support and leadership from faculty. Great events to encourage parental involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2007

My grandson just finished his second year at TR - first for pre-school and now kindergarten. He had Ms. Chwojdak as his teacher - what a great experience. I would highly recommend her to anyone who has children entering kindergarten. He is progressing into a fine young man thanks to the leadership given at TR.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2006

My son has just finished at TR and will be going onto Woodrow Wilson. His experience has been positive and above and beyond anything I could have expected. He was my first in school. My daughter will be starting kindergarten in Sept and I'm looking forward to more fantastic things to come. The teachers are always helpful and wonderful with the children. Thumbs up to Mr. Slaiman for the terrific job he does as principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2005

I have 2 kids in TR and both are doing great. The teachers are wonderful. They are good with the kids and encourage parental involvement in and outside of the classroom. The school also have events such as Glenn Colton concerts and Sports nights where the kids get to do sports with their parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

Oops! We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Public and charter school test scores for most states come from the state Department of Education. The most common reasons we might not have this data are either that not enough students took the test or that the school was recently opened, and its scores have not yet been reported.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 2 89% 48%
Black 1 6% 19%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 2% 9%
Hispanic 2 2% 23%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 0% 1%
Two or more races 1 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 22%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 252%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 3%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 7%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. JEFFREY MOCHRIE

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2495 William St
Cheektowaga, NY 14206
Phone: (716) 891-6423

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St. Andrew School
Buffalo, NY







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT