Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Union East Elementary School

Public | PK-4 & ungraded | 825 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 31, 2014

Union East Elementary is disappointing. My daughter is currently in Kindergarten here. The teachers do not have the available resources to properly teach these children. There is no testing system to see which students need extra help or those who may be a bit advanced. Therefore a number of students are suffering and not getting the education they need. The children in her class evidently, from teacher comments and my daughters account, have behavior issues. Guns, death and sex are some of the first things my daughter learned upon starting kindergarten. There is VERY LITTLE parental involvement in this school. The ones who are struggle to keep this school afloat with constant fundraisers. From day one Carrier Coach has been late or early with times varying within 30-40minute windows. The bus driver has changed no less than 10 times since the of the year and we're in March now. Calls to Carrier coach, the school and the district bussing manager have proven unsuccessful. There have been times my 5 year old daughter has had to direct the driver to our home. In short this school is a disappointment and planning and sacrifices should be made to AVOID this school at all costs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2013

horribl horrible staff the they lie th about i and definitely treat kids who might need a little extra help like th and definitely treat kids who might need a little extra help like they are a burden but from what I have seen Buffal is 100 percent better I would give anyth for my kids to go back to Buffal for my kids to go back to Buffalo schools
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2011

This District is not for children who need extra help, they did not help my children at all!!! You would think being out here and the teachers pay is soo well that i wouldn't have to basically tuter my own child even when he clearly needed professional help, drive them to school when they r being bullied on the bus because no one would help, and fight and i mean fight for my oldest to get into a special school because they wouldn't or couldn't help ( i think wouldn't they get thousands of $$ for "special" kids to be there from the goverment just so they can shove these kids through the cracks) SO IF YOU HAVE CHILDREN WITH "SPECIAL NEEDS DO NOT SEND THEM TO CHEEKTOWAGA CENTRAL!!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2005

My son Michael is now entering his second year at Union East and I think he is getting a top notch education. The teachers and principal are loving and caring for each student. I have other nieces and nephew who are in better school districts (or so they claim) and I believe Michael is getting a better education in a more diverse setting. Cheektowaga is making sure that they learn that everyone is different and that you should be proud of who you are and where you come from. They make sure that each child has a chance to tell in what ways they celebrate holidays. There mucic and art activities are excellent, last year they had a play and a music concert. I believe that the parent involvement could be a little higher, but I blam the parents not the school for that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2004

Cheektowaga schools do not compare favorably to suburban schools and is not a good place to enroll a gifted child. Though I detest the idea of contributing to the movement of able parents from the city to further out in the suburbs, I feel like this school district abandoned my daughter starting in Kindergarten. Cheektowaga schools have to spend thier resources on lower-achieving students and don't have a nuturing environment for students with more academic potential.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2003

Myself and both of my daughters attend(ed) Cheektowaga Central. All the teachers are wonderful, the schools are well kept, up to date , and very clean. The quality of education is top notch and the entire learning experience there could not be better.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 32% in 2014.

142 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
26%

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
49%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

141 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
32%

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
61%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2014.

148 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
18%

2013

 
 
19%

2012

 
 
44%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

148 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
34%

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
60%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

141 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 1 51% 48%
Black 1 32% 19%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 6% 9%
Hispanic 2 5% 23%
Two or more races 1 4% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 1% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 24%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 264%N/A43%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 0%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 5%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. BRIAN BRIDGES

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3550 Union Rd
Cheektowaga, NY 14225
Phone: (716) 686-3620

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Maryvale Primary School
Cheektowaga, NY





St. Andrew School
Buffalo, NY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT