Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
Clifton Park, NY
Students enrolled: 545

4 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Okte Elementary School 5

Posted July 18, 2014
- a parent
Excellent teachers and a great size for an elementary school. My 3 kids went here and received well rounded, personalized educations.

Okte Elementary School 5

Posted October 20, 2013
- a parent
Both of my children are just beginning school (kindergarten and first grade), so I don't have a lot of experience comparing schools, however I feel that Okte is a wonderful beginning to my kids' education. The teachers seem to provide a thorough education, while working together to ensure that all kids, regardless of their skill level, are able to thrive. Our Principal is always available for her students and is always involved in school events, showing that leadership isn't just a role which elevates her above everyone else. Our PTA is active and works hard to help make Okte a fun place while encouraging reading, math, and other necessary skills. In general, Okte is a 'family' which supports and encourages it's children to be the best they can.


Okte Elementary School 5

Posted October 09, 2010
- a parent
Great programs, caring teachers and staff, great use of resources

Okte Elementary School 5

Posted April 26, 2010
- a parent
it's smaller and feels like a neighborhood school. the teachers know all the kids and there's a wonderful caring vibe. both my children had IEPs and the staff at this staff were so amazing at helping them succeed!

Okte Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 17, 2010
- a parent
My son went there. It is like one of the old time school houses. The techers know all the kids and really care for them.


Okte Elementary School 5

Posted April 16, 2010
- a parent
Because it's not on the Shen main campus, Okte has more of a neighborhood school feel to it. And the Okte community is great.

Okte Elementary School 4

Posted October 31, 2008
- a parent
Okte is a very good school. One thing I like is that it is more of a neighborhood school, and it's located off the huge Shen Campus. I like the focus on academics, and I would have to say that my child is doing much better than I ever imagined. However, it doesn't seem to be a very warm or nuturing place, but the kids are getting a good education. I guess no school is completely perfect.

Okte Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 30, 2008
- a parent
I completely understand enforcing proper case usage. However, when taking a test, although a child spells the word correctly, it is unfathomable that the entire word will be marked incorrect if the word is spelled with the wrong case. Can't we give the students a little bit more confidence by giving them partial credit for spelling the word correctly? I thought building confidence and nurturing students was an important moral code of the school. Additionally, there are some teachers who are obviously 'tired' and should consider retirement, especially when the demeanor is negative and is easily read by not only the students, but parent volunteers as well. I believe that if a child's and teacher's personalities does not mesh, it is much more harmful to the student to be forced to stay in that class than to transfer the child to another teacher.


Okte Elementary School 1

Posted October 29, 2008
- a parent
This is a school focused on bringing all children to a mediocre level and passing the tests. If one's kid is average, he/she will sail through. If one's kid ahead of the curve, he/she is kept back till everybody catches up. There is relatively little concern about little acts of aggression. I would avoid the school if I could.

Okte Elementary School 4

Posted August 03, 2008
- a parent
First grade teacher, Mrs. Willams is worth moving to Clifton Park and having your children attend this school. I am in awe!

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Okte Elementary School
1581 Crescent Road, Clifton Park, NY  12065
(518) 881-0540
Last modified Okte Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Okte Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top