Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Shenendehowa High School

Public | 9-12 | 2974 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

25 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 18, 2014

I've had 2 kids graduate from Shen and 1 almost finished. All 3 have enjoyed their experiences tremendously. They were challenged and prepared for college, while having many activities to participate in such as sports, student gov't, the future business leaders club, peer counseling, etc. The Principal and Superintendent are at all types of events and are very engaged in the education and culture of the school. My wife and I settled in Clifton park after 11+ years of moving around the U.S. with the military, and we could not be happier with where our children were raised and the education they received from Shen. My kids have high aspirations and their success in college so far tells me that Shen had a lot to do with preparing them for adulthood while providing positive childhood memories. It is a large school, and some kids will always struggle in their teenage years, but we have found that if a kid asks for help there is no shortage of assistance from the faculty. All schools have people that complain, but if you are looking for good values, work ethic, and opportunity then I don't think you will find many public schools that can top Shenendehowa.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2014

I attended this school. Although it is portrayed as a wonderful, outstanding educational establishment, it is terrible. Teachers do not teach in sensible ways, and many, many children are oblivious as to what they are doing more than frequently. When children arent failing, having anxiety attacks, crying, or stressing over their tests, they sit in confusion due to indolent or just simply bad teachers not teaching in good ways. The test scores are a lie, because many fail a large amount of the tests given, due to poor teaching. Shen is honestly a very bad school. Although it may seem nice, the truth is maybe 30% of the school enjoys it, and is being educated to their liking.


Posted December 2, 2012

I went there K-12 and would not have wanted to go anywhere else. They have programs for everyone. I graduated in 2009 and got into an engineering college thanks to my science and engineering teachers. This is the best public school in the district, whether you like sports or not.


Posted August 4, 2012

Great school that offers a lot of different types of classes and extra curricular activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2012

I would just like to correct the comments posted on 4/30/10, as they are incorrect. Shenendehowa H. S. has approximately 2900 students in attendance. If only 3% of the students participated in sports, that would only be 87 students...they had over 60 boys on this years freshman football team alone. Over 200 students participated with indoor track. The school board has one former teacher (in another school district), a former director of personnel for a college, a physicist, a SAHM, a business owner, and a poet. The budget passed. Grades and report cards can be found on the parent portal. The district has no control over what a private publication chooses to print. Sour grapes anyone?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2010

If you live anywhere near this school you will receive in the mail a local paper of which 50 % is devoted to sports. Only three per cent of the Shen high school students are involved in sports. The school board which is made up of primarily teachers (which is a conflict of interest) routinely raises pay beyond what other area high school teachers receive. The superintendent talks a good game but that is all. He talks about zero based budgeting as if he knows anything about it. He like the school board have not the slightest inkling or desire to hold down costs which is a chief reason the next school budget vote will fail particularly in this economic 'climate' in New York State. This school sends out grade reports and squanders thousands on postage. It is a rare occasion I see one since my child intercepts the mail.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 30, 2009

former student, moved there in the middle of 10th grade from a school that was way upstate(by canada) with a graduating class size of a 100. I went from failing 2 classes, to honor roll at shen because the previous school i attended only had 1 track for the math program and it was advanced. At shen it was much different and a lot more choices, i personally couldn't imagine graduating from any other school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 17, 2009

Shenendehowa High School has something for every student. It is a large, suburban high school - with a diverse economic population. Because of the size, students and parents need to be proactive for schedules, and planning towards graduation. The options for university prep, technical/vocational and other alternatives post graduation are extensive - but, the student needs to get involved in the planning and options. Extra curricular activities abound. While it may be said that the school focuses too much on 'big', varsity sports, there are tremendous opportunities for all student atheletes. Tennis, crew, cross country, track & field and many other sports do not cut atheletes who do not excel on the field. In the arts, all students have the opportunity to participate in the school - and large numbers rise to the highest levels on county, regional and state ensembles. Yes, the school is huge & terrific!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2009

It is an ok school. Not so good academically because its focus has been sports. It is hard to choose classes because there is no seat available; school/class size is too big. There were sports team scandals in recent years. Its direction looks like a sports-powerhouse like Albany high school -- poor in academics. The school's academics has been deterioated recently. A small school may provide a better education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2009

Shen High School is an excellent school for children who do not have any issue with mental health issues, but seems to have very wide cracks for children who do not fit into the mold they have created. There are no adequate alternatives for children under the 10th grade, and I was very disappointed in the district as a whole in regards to my child and his specific issues. I have worked with Four Winds counselors and have met other parents with children with pstchiatric disorders and all have said that Shen is a very difficult district to work with in this regard. I bought a home in this district to ensure my son would have ample opportunity, and have been let down time and time again. My younger children have no difficulty , and Shen is suitable for them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2007

I currently attend Shenendehowa High School, and I think it gives opportunities for every person. The club lists are endless from Ping Pong to Dance to Recycling to whatever you can think of. The academic programs are at a very high set bar, and you need to wok for your grades. The sports teams are phenomenal, and being one one myself, I know that they are very, very competitive. The parent involvement may not be at its highest, but this is probably due to the large number of students.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 27, 2006

I am currently enrolled in Shenendehowa High School and I cannot imagine attending anywhere else. I find teachers accessible and helpful. Sports teams are extremely competitive but there is always an intramural or cub for everyone. I am not at all left behind due to the large number of people attending. Our large size gives us Shen students are uniqueness.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 29, 2006

Shenendehowa H.S. is an academically challenging high school with a great curriculum and many elective sports for P.E. I would highly recommend this high school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 5, 2006

Shen has a lot being said about it's academic and while this is true for the variety it offers a student, I don't belive in the faculty. I am a parent and I am a minority for that matter. On a scale of 1 to 10, 10 being the highest, I would say I am a 9 in never bring up the minority issue. However, it's evident that the teachers are quick to label the student and as for for the guidance office, it's hopeless in trying to work with them. My experience is still to be called good. My son has been in there from 3rd grade, he was terribly overlooked. The classrooms are too big and non interactive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2006

So I'm not a parent review - but I was a student at Shenendehow from K-12. Now that I am in college, I couldn't imagine going to a small school. Shen offers more class options then any other school I know of. I would not change anything about my education at Shen.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 4, 2006

Excellent programs and extra curricular activities. Large graduating class size does not deter quality.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 14, 2005

The academics at Shenendehowa High School are really great. They really prepare their students for college. Recently the administration has decided to go to Small Learning Communities, and decided to do so without any input from faculty, students or parents.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 29, 2005

Very large school: Great social environment. Academics: AMAZING amount of course selections, and choices. Extracurricular: HUGE choice in clubs & sports programs. Sports are a very large part of Shenendehowa, and school spirit is very high. (Can be positive or negative depending.) However, due to the size of the school, some sports teams require many try-outs, and are difficult to join-But available. Shen is also known for being Undefeated! OVERALL: Shenendehowa is an GREAT school, and has TONS to offer. EXCELLENT for anyone who wishes to recieve a great education, and/or excel in very competitive sports. Safety is a major issue, (as is with every school) and could be improved. But as a student, I suggest Shen, and invite you to do as much research on the school as needed.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 4, 2005

Great reputation, but lacking in personal attention and some basic neccessities due to it's size. Very heavily rated on it's sports rather than it's academics as well, but over all a great school
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 4, 2005

After trying this school at both the elementary and middle school levels we chose to educated our chidren at home. Classrooms are crowded with too many desks due to the high number of students per class. There are many after school clubs and a good sports program, but a large percentage of the kids don't get to play due to school size. I hear from students (my childrens' friends) there is violence both in school and on the buses. I have been there a few times when they were either in lockdown or outside due to a bombscare. Drugs are rampant-EASILY obtained. The school boasts AP classes but limits the number of kids by class space instead of student abilities. In elementary school the kids are grouped by abilty, not what you think. Classes are made up of students who don't speak English, can't read yet, up to beyond grade level.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra II/Trigonometry

The state average for Algebra II/Trigonometry was 66% in 2013.

581 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
86%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 76% in 2013.

554 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
96%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 72% in 2013.

737 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
92%
English

The state average for English was 77% in 2013.

733 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
97%
French

The state average for French was 95% in 2011.

86 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
97%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 74% in 2013.

764 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
91%
Global History and Geography

The state average for Global History and Geography was 71% in 2013.

802 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
84%
Integrated Algebra

The state average for Integrated Algebra was 73% in 2013.

688 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
88%
Italian

The state average for Italian was 98% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Living Environment

The state average for Living Environment was 77% in 2013.

752 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
97%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

360 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
84%
Spanish

The state average for Spanish was 94% in 2011.

282 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
97%
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 80% in 2013.

731 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
92%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Algebra II/Trigonometry

All Students81%
Female79%
Male83%
African American83%
Asian/Pacific Islander91%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilities100%
General population80%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English81%
Non-migrant81%

Chemistry

All Students93%
Female91%
Male94%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander95%
Hispanic69%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilities94%
General population92%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrant93%

Earth Science

All Students84%
Female81%
Male87%
African American58%
Asian/Pacific Islander86%
Hispanic67%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilities46%
General population90%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant84%

English

All Students97%
Female98%
Male96%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander98%
Hispanic97%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged89%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilities80%
General population98%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant97%

Geometry

All Students91%
Female89%
Male92%
African American94%
Asian/Pacific Islander97%
Hispanic79%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilities86%
General population91%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant91%

Global History and Geography

All Students85%
Female83%
Male86%
African American68%
Asian/Pacific Islander95%
Hispanic64%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilities43%
General population91%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English85%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant85%

Integrated Algebra

All Students89%
Female92%
Male85%
African American74%
Asian/Pacific Islander95%
Hispanic93%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilities59%
General population94%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant89%

Living Environment

All Students98%
Female98%
Male98%
African American95%
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged96%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Students with disabilities87%
General population100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant98%

Physics

All Students91%
Female88%
Male92%
African American83%
Asian/Pacific Islander90%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White90%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population90%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English91%
Non-migrant91%

U.S. History and Government

All Students92%
Female92%
Male92%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander96%
Hispanic85%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilities67%
General population95%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant92%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 1 88% 48%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 5% 9%
Black 1 3% 19%
Hispanic 2 3% 23%
Two or more races 1 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 10%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 210%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 4%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 17%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. DONALD FLYNT

Resources

School facilities
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Gym
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Crew / Rowing
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Field hockey
  • Golf
  • Gymnastics
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

970 Rt 146
Clifton Park, NY 12065
Phone: (518) 881-0310

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Niskayuna High School
Schenectady, NY



Schenectady High School
Schenectady, NY



Augustine Classical Academy
Mechanicville, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT