Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Clifton Park, NY
Students enrolled: 2,974

4 stars
Based on 34 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


34 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Shenendehowa High School 5

Posted July 18, 2014
- a parent
I've had 2 kids graduate from Shen and 1 almost finished. All 3 have enjoyed their experiences tremendously. They were challenged and prepared for college, while having many activities to participate in such as sports, student gov't, the future business leaders club, peer counseling, etc. The Principal and Superintendent are at all types of events and are very engaged in the education and culture of the school. My wife and I settled in Clifton park after 11+ years of moving around the U.S. with the military, and we could not be happier with where our children were raised and the education they received from Shen. My kids have high aspirations and their success in college so far tells me that Shen had a lot to do with preparing them for adulthood while providing positive childhood memories. It is a large school, and some kids will always struggle in their teenage years, but we have found that if a kid asks for help there is no shortage of assistance from the faculty. All schools have people that complain, but if you are looking for good values, work ethic, and opportunity then I don't think you will find many public schools that can top Shenendehowa.

Shenendehowa High School 1

Posted June 28, 2014
- a community member
I attended this school. Although it is portrayed as a wonderful, outstanding educational establishment, it is terrible. Teachers do not teach in sensible ways, and many, many children are oblivious as to what they are doing more than frequently. When children arent failing, having anxiety attacks, crying, or stressing over their tests, they sit in confusion due to indolent or just simply bad teachers not teaching in good ways. The test scores are a lie, because many fail a large amount of the tests given, due to poor teaching. Shen is honestly a very bad school. Although it may seem nice, the truth is maybe 30% of the school enjoys it, and is being educated to their liking.


Shenendehowa High School 5

Posted December 02, 2012
- a community member
I went there K-12 and would not have wanted to go anywhere else. They have programs for everyone. I graduated in 2009 and got into an engineering college thanks to my science and engineering teachers. This is the best public school in the district, whether you like sports or not.

Shenendehowa High School 5

Posted August 04, 2012
- a parent
Great school that offers a lot of different types of classes and extra curricular activities.

Shenendehowa High School 4

Posted March 19, 2012
- a parent
I would just like to correct the comments posted on 4/30/10, as they are incorrect. Shenendehowa H. S. has approximately 2900 students in attendance. If only 3% of the students participated in sports, that would only be 87 students...they had over 60 boys on this years freshman football team alone. Over 200 students participated with indoor track. The school board has one former teacher (in another school district), a former director of personnel for a college, a physicist, a SAHM, a business owner, and a poet. The budget passed. Grades and report cards can be found on the parent portal. The district has no control over what a private publication chooses to print. Sour grapes anyone?


Shenendehowa High School 1

Posted April 30, 2010
- a parent
If you live anywhere near this school you will receive in the mail a local paper of which 50 % is devoted to sports. Only three per cent of the Shen high school students are involved in sports. The school board which is made up of primarily teachers (which is a conflict of interest) routinely raises pay beyond what other area high school teachers receive. The superintendent talks a good game but that is all. He talks about zero based budgeting as if he knows anything about it. He like the school board have not the slightest inkling or desire to hold down costs which is a chief reason the next school budget vote will fail particularly in this economic 'climate' in New York State. This school sends out grade reports and squanders thousands on postage. It is a rare occasion I see one since my child intercepts the mail.

Shenendehowa High School 5

Posted December 30, 2009
- a student
former student, moved there in the middle of 10th grade from a school that was way upstate(by canada) with a graduating class size of a 100. I went from failing 2 classes, to honor roll at shen because the previous school i attended only had 1 track for the math program and it was advanced. At shen it was much different and a lot more choices, i personally couldn't imagine graduating from any other school!

Shenendehowa High School 1

Posted August 28, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Shenendehowa High School 5

Posted August 17, 2009
- a parent
Shenendehowa High School has something for every student. It is a large, suburban high school - with a diverse economic population. Because of the size, students and parents need to be proactive for schedules, and planning towards graduation. The options for university prep, technical/vocational and other alternatives post graduation are extensive - but, the student needs to get involved in the planning and options. Extra curricular activities abound. While it may be said that the school focuses too much on 'big', varsity sports, there are tremendous opportunities for all student atheletes. Tennis, crew, cross country, track & field and many other sports do not cut atheletes who do not excel on the field. In the arts, all students have the opportunity to participate in the school - and large numbers rise to the highest levels on county, regional and state ensembles. Yes, the school is huge & terrific!

Shenendehowa High School 1

Posted May 21, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Shenendehowa High School
970 Route 146, Clifton Park, NY  12065
(518) 881-0310
Last modified Shenendehowa High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Shenendehowa High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 34 reviews. Top