Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Tesago Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 530 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 19, 2014

The bullying on the buses are out of control; the admin. does nothing, and does not alert the parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2014

Tesago is an excellent school. Kids enjoy theire time in Tesago everyday. We are proud on Tesago.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2012

My two children moved to this school a year ago. This schol teachers have done a great job to have my children settle their heart in this new environment. This school is beyond my expectation
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

Teachers are gifted with the love of children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2008

I am happy to say the school has an excellent new principal, Mr. Pace, and we are on the road to great things. I am a teacher myself and think the teachers are doing an great job at educating our kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2006

Both my children have attended Tesago. My oldest is now in Middle School and my youngest is still attending. I have never had a problem with the teachers or staff. My youngest required special services with aids and extra help and has really progressed tremendously in the past few years. I believe the school is what you make of it. They have added several after school activities along with setting in place late buses to take the children home or to their day care providers. I have been involved with Tesago for over 7 yrs and I don't have any complaints.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2005

My biggest problem is that there seems to be no consistancy among the elementary schools in the district. My nieces schools (chango and arongen) have way more extracurricular activities for the students. Tesago seems to throw a few 'required' things together for appearences but there seems to be little school spirit. The teachers seem to have free reign with the curriculum (again lack of consistancy). I'm impressed with the computer facilites but the library appears to have the same books i would have found 20 years ago. In general i find the academic programs satisfactory but am moving my son out of the district for two reasons: 1. Way too much emphasis on test scores 2. Complete lack of empathy for working parents (scheduling activities during the middle of the day frequently)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2005

The quality of the school I believe is overated. Being how large this school district is, it is hard to enroll a child in sports and unless you have wealth and power, your child is left out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2003

My kids did well here. My personal thoughts are that some of the teachers are too old, they lack enthusiasm in the classroom and are simply awaiting retirement. Quarters are more cramped than I would have liked to see but I understand the overcrowding issues faced in Saratoga county.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 32% in 2014.

108 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
79%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

109 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2014.

97 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

96 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2014.

94 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

94 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 1 81% 48%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 12% 9%
Hispanic 2 3% 23%
Black 2 2% 19%
Two or more races 2 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 21%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 23%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 0%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 17%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

970 Rt 146
Clifton Park, NY 12065
Phone: (518) 881-0570

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Karigon Elementary School
Clifton Park, NY


Skano Elementary School
Clifton Park, NY


Orenda Elementary School
Clifton Park, NY


The Sara Marie School
Clifton Park, NY


St George's School
Clifton Park, NY


Mother Teresa Academy
Clifton Park, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT