Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Mother Teresa Academy

Private | PK-5 | 100 students

Our students are encouraged to apply Christian values in their everyday lives.
 
 

 

Living in Clifton Park

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $254,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $990.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 10 ratings
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

37 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 22, 2014

MTA has a very caring staff. They put the children first. Don't let the previous comment deter you from enrolling your child. The new building will be a wonderful change! The teachers and staff are excited to start the year and are looking forward to seeing the kids!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2014

Lack of organization and people are not as nice as you would think! Be careful and think before you enroll your child in this school. better choice would be for you to enroll your child in a school that has approval from the diocese


Posted March 13, 2014

Please do your research before making decisions and speak to community members. MTA was a huge disappointment. The children were not the priority. It was disorganized and there was major discord between the teachers and the administration. The teachers were treated and paid poorly and there was recently a mass exodus of teachers and families. There are plenty of options in the Clifton Park area. Please do not choose this school for it's religious affiliation. The way the administration behaves is the ultimate hypocrisy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2013

Mother Teresa Academy is a great school. The teachers are fantastic and the children are getting a great education here . I love that the director is very involved in all the special activities and gets to know all of the students. You really feel like you are part of a family at MTA,
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2013

This school is an excellent value for your money if you have a child in the older grades (1-3). The teachers are good and the student teacher ratio is very low. The Nursery and Pre-K program are really overly structured for those age groups, however.


Posted August 22, 2013

I have been working at MTA for a year. It has been one of nicest places I've worked at. The teachers and staff really care about the children. They not only nurture their education, they also teach them values and character. I love coming to work and seeing all the smiling faces!!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 22, 2013

Both my children attends MTA. It is the fourth year for my older child and second year for his younger brother. We are very pleased with the school and the teachers in particular. I have also found all the parents I've meet to be friendly and highly value their children education experience. The principal is great. He does send out one too many emails, though :) Can't say that there's not enough communication.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

We love Mother Teresa Academy. The staff are supportive and will do their best to meet every students needs. Classrooms are small with plenty of one on one help for the students. Mother Teresa also offers many after school clubs and activities for the students to enjoy. there is something for everyone. Most important are the values that Mother Teresa Academy instills in their students each and every day: Caring, sharing kindness and compassion and a sense of community. What a great Christian school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2013

True story ... an elementary student who attended Mother Teresa Academy in the past before transferring to the local public school as he grew older, attended an assembly program at the school one day as a guest. At the end of the assembly he stood up and asked to speak. This caught every one by surprise in that it is out of character for an elementary school aged child to do this. He said to the students in the assembly, "You are all very lucky to attend MTA. I went here it and was the best thing I ever did!" Out of the mouths of babes as they say.....


Posted August 21, 2013

What a great school. The teachers really love there students and the education is amazing. Our son in pre k was learning almost the same as his older brother in public school 1st grade. Needless to say both of our boys will be in MTA this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2013

MTA is a wonderful small school. My child has blossomed there over the last 3 years . The teachers are mostly very good and The new principal has brought order to the office. The only reason I did not give it 5 stars is because they need really a bigger school (which they are working on) with a gymnasium and library. Also the higher grades don't have many kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2013

There are many negative comments in the community about this school. Every business has its up and downs. However, as a parent if I am paying for a private education I do not want to have to deal with the negative press. Our children are the main priority. As parents, we do not have time to wait for this business to get it together. Living in the community we are sending our children to a diocesan school. We want to support our Catholic communities. If you are seeking a catholic education -A diocesan school is more economical and has more resources.


Posted January 31, 2013

Our son has been at MTA for 3 years and has tested at equivalency levels at least 2 grades higher than his actual grade! Needless to say, MTA provides a great education and the environment is positive, caring and safe. MTA also teaches values and vests children with a concept of spirituality that will create a strong foundation for the rest of their lives. Comments from 2012 must be considered in context: the old principal, who was also a parent at the school, was terminated and waves were made but they had no effect on the school's educational quality or environment. That is why comments from prior to that year were 100% positive. The new principal is superb. MTA is a great choice!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2012

I have two children that are going to MTA and they are thriving. The new principal is outstanding and the school is starting to run like clock work in just the second week of the school year. They retained some excellent teachers and picked up some great new ones. I look forward to a great year and more to come!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2012

As a former teacher at MTA I would not recommend this school as a place of employment or as an education institute for your child. I am an advocate for the children and unfortunately I resigned because MTA doesn't share this value.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 31, 2012

I am pulling my children out of this school. While I have been a strong supporter of MTA for the past 4 years, I cannot trust that my kids' best interest comes first when my concerns remain ignored and wonderful teachers are being let go. If you are considering this school for your children, I urge you to do your homework and ask around, this school is no longer what it used to be.....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2012

Most of the people who work at the school seem to have a sincere interest and love of children. We have noticed that the children talk a lot about their teachers, the director and receptionist. We find it easy to talk to them when we have questions There are a few who seem to always be creating drama of some sort and make it difficult for those who wish to stay focused on the good of the children and the school. We hear there are changes happening and we are anxious to see some good come of it. We believe in Mother Teresa Academy and it's mission and support them during this time of change. By the way, met the new Principal today and really liked him. He was engaging and seemed to really have a good sense of what is needed to be done.


Posted April 3, 2012

You will regret choosing this school. They are unorganized and unprofessional and the communication is poor. The best interest of the children does not come first as there is not enough supervision. The aftercare discipline method is isolation as opposed to correction, and patience has been lost by almost all staff as they are spread too thin. Student/teacher ratios that are mandatory in public schools are not supported here, especially in the pre-k. The classrooms are small, as well as all other play areas so there is not enough room for your child to run, or barely get up of their seat for a song break, which is what kids need to do. I enrolled for the academics, but the lack of balance between play and work has affected the learning environments as kids are antsy at learning time. Please, in addition to asking a million questions make sure you drop in unexpectedly to see it for yourself. Teachers are excellent and certainly doing their best. They are the savior of the school, but it s certainly not enough. The principle also seems to do her best with limited resources. She is excellent at listening, but no true solutions seem to come of discussions.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2012

This is my son's first year at MTA. Can't say enough about the level of attention and dedication that the staff has for the children in this school. I put my child in this school because I recognized that he has the type of personality that requires positive/nurturing attention and I figured a private school would be better suited for him. It was the right choice! His teacher picked up on his personality within the 1st week and has adjusted how she teaches to him. The entire staff is very child focused. They truly care about the children. I have had no issues getting emails or phone calls answered. This has been a very positive experience for my child and ultimately that is all that matters.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2011

My son has been a student at MTA or 4 years! It was the best thing we could've done for his education and personal development. Yes there are kinks that are being worked out at the school. It is fairly new and they are growing. My family moved up here 5 years ago we have a "family" here now. We've made life long friends. My youngest will begin next year. As for our 2nd grade teacher, Mrs. Leander is wonderful, nurturing, challenging and inspiring. Thank you MTA!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Gardening teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
School psychologist
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Best Private School in the Area (2013)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
Clubs
  • Gardening
  • Science club
  • Technology club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Arts and crafts
  • Dance club
  • Drama club
  • Woodshop
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Chinese (Cantonese)
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Japanese
  • Korean
  • Spanish
  • Vietnamese
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many languages and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program school-wide for at least 25% of our population
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • Cooking club
  • Gardening
  • Martial arts (judo, tae kwon do, karate, etc)
  • Yoga club

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Joyce Maddalone
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
  • www.motherteresaacademy.org
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Extended/longer school day
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic, Christian, Non-Denominational

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Direct instruction
  • Please contact MTA to discuss
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Chinese (Cantonese)
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Japanese
  • Korean
  • Spanish
  • Vietnamese
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many languages and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program school-wide for at least 25% of our population
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Parent center
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Judo / Other Martial Arts
  • Tae Kwon Do
Girls sports
  • Judo / Other Martial Arts
  • Kickball
  • Tae Kwon Do

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Arts and crafts
  • Book/reading club
  • Community service
  • Cooking club
  • Dance club
  • Drama club
  • Game club
  • Gardening
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Martial arts (judo, tae kwon do, karate, etc)
  • Science club
  • Spanish Club
  • Technology club
  • Woodshop
  • Yearbook
  • Yoga club
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Various Committees for Community Outreac
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Mother Teresa Academy offers many events to encourage community spirit. if you would like to find out more about how you may become involved, contact us!
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


8 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
79
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
100

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$4000 - $6000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Grants

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Christian Brothers Academy
LaSalle Military Academy
Academy of the Holy Names
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

509 Moe Road
Clifton Park, NY 12065
Website: Click here
Phone: (518) 280-4227

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St George's School
Clifton Park, NY


Arongen Elementary School
Clifton Park, NY



The Sara Marie School
Clifton Park, NY


Tesago Elementary School
Clifton Park, NY


Skano Elementary School
Clifton Park, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT