Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Upton Lake Christian School

Private | PK-12 | 71 students

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Clinton Corners

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $360,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,230.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 10, 2013

I sent my children to Upton Lake from kindergarten through 12th grade. Both of them were grounded academically and spiritually and they went on to succeed in college and their chosen professions. The school supported our values at home. It had an active sports and drama program as well. I recommend this school to families that love God and want a Christian education for their kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2013

I am a parent of a 6th grader and a k that go to this school. The teachers are wonderful. The environment is loving, caring and absolutely awesome. I go to church at the Evangelical free church and I love it! Please consider sending your child to this school if you love God as much as we all do here. Hence it is a Christian school. -parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2011

I am an alumnus ('85-98). ULCS prepared me exceptionally well for college and life. In particular, the small class sizes allow better development of communication and critical thinking skills than the surrounding schools. The teachers and administrators also care deeply about the students. I am now a professor at a major research university, and my education at ULCS played an important role in my academic/career success. The school does have limitations. Few advanced classes are available (though co-enrolling at a local college is also an option). The conservative Christian theology is relatively narrow compared to the diversity of past and present Christian beliefs. Due mainly to local demographics and the religious mission, the student population is not very culturally diverse. These latter comments may be out of date, since I graduated more than ten years ago. Overall, I strongly recommend the school.


Posted May 23, 2011

DO NOT let your children go to this school. They don't teach, they preach. It's all about transferring idealogical and religious beliefs, not the three r's. They are force fed a daily diet of religious fanaticism, which at this young age is total thought control. They are not taught to think, but to feed back to the "teacher" the answer he or she expects. The child is then rewarded with a good grade and a pat on the head. Stay away, far away.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2011

This school is for right wing religious fanatics. If that is what you want your child to become, then this is the school. They are brainwashed from day 1 that their sole purpose in life is going to be that of religious duty. Look at the kids, none of them are smiling or happy, everything is rehearsed to impress the parents that they are doing the right thing. The kidscome out of there only prepared to enter some small, right wing religious college where their "training" will continue. I would not recommend this school anyone who wants their children to excel at life anf
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2011

Upton Lake is a wonderful school, I am an alumnus and went there from kindergarten through graduation. The teachers could not have been more helpful, and encouraging. They were great role-models for me and I learned a lot from them. They do honestly care about their students in all aspects and as far as i have seen treat all fairly. The teachers and faculty work hard to embody the gospel and the relationships that i built while there with teachers and fellow students are lifelong; truly like a family.


Posted November 23, 2010

This school is predominantly white, and for a Christian school I don't think they are very Christian in their approach to all their students. My daughter went there briefly and did not feel welcome by the students. And the teachers seem phony like they want to help you, but they can't for some strange reason. I think this school needs more integration, and need to treat all the students fairly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2006

I am quite pleased with the academic programs at Upton Lake Christian School at the elementary school level. They have updated key curriculm areas and are working especially hard to improve their reading program. Their extracurricular activities are wonderful this year. Their art and music programs are great. They even have a band this year. The sports program is very good. Soccer and basketball are offered to both boys and girls. Baseball and softball are offered in the Spring. Parents are involved as little or as much as they would like. Hot lunch is offered one day a week in Elementary and High School level which is just one way the parents are given a chance to help out the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2004

I currently have two enrolled in the high school. ULCS has been fantastic in their approach to learning. My oldest has excelled while in this school and my middle child is doing great ! The teachers are very friendly and compassionate. Their goal is Jesus Christ. If you child is average or above average (s)he will excell in this environment!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

I am an alumnus of this school. The teachers are wonderful-very caring. I have two children currently enrolled. The class size is small allowing for alot of personal attention.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 91% 52%
Hispanic 5% 21%
Black 3% 21%
Two or more races 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian 0% N/A
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Dietlind Hoiem
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

Po Box 63
Clinton Corners, NY 12514
Phone: (845) 266-3497

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



St Joseph School
Millbrook, NY


Netherwood School
Hyde Park, NY




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT