Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 20 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Cohoes High School
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted April 17, 2016
- a community member
if a child has moral strength to fight their good battle ...with good word they can make it.....but the school is not of this word..

Cohoes High School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted April 17, 2016
- a community member
....not since the 60's has the district cared about the children on a whole...it has become a very ill willed community


Cohoes High School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted April 17, 2016
- a community member
they have a way of creating ill will and tension with class division based on living locations ...the poor vs the rich

Cohoes High School 1

Posted April 17, 2016
- a community member
cohoes has become a laughing stock.....its district has the worst behavior toward the people of the city who pay for its keep....now they don't send the second half of the tax bill out.....i wonder if this is a way of trapping people who forget to pay into late fees....just another symptom of a horrific school

Cohoes High School 5

Posted February 28, 2013
- a student
I loved this school, I wish I could go back. Most of the students were respectful. Of course you will have that few who disrupt class, but very limited here. Teachers will take their time with you if needed. Everyone I knew loved it at Cohoes High School.


Cohoes High School 5

Posted July 31, 2010
- a parent
Cohoes School district has been wonderful for both of my daughters. The principals, teachers and staff are all very approachable with even the most minor concerns a parent may have.

Cohoes High School 5

Posted June 22, 2010
- a parent
I have loved having my daughter go to this school. Cohoes gets a bum rap but it has excellent schools!!

Cohoes High School 5

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
Excellent teachers and staff...top notch music program, Marching Band best in the area


Cohoes High School 5

Posted October 25, 2006
- a student
I thought that Cohoes High (as well as the entire school district) prepared me very well for NYU. I'm extremely happy with my education and wouldn't of changed a thing, the environment is friendly and fantastic. Teachers are fabulous and people should definitely check out the Science Research department, it is great!

Cohoes High School 5

Posted April 28, 2005
- a student
I graduated from CHS well prepared for RPI. The math teacher was one of the best in the state. Other teachers were very good to outstanding. Principal ran a tight ship, but was very accessible. Academic programs were excellent for a school of that size - other schools do better but they have a larger population and can support it better. Outstanding sports program. Again, for a relatively small school, extracurricular activities were plentiful and well-run. I was in the chorus, newspaper and yearbook. Parent involvement is probably the same as for any other high school - keep in mind that high schoolers may not want their parents involved! Active PTA. I recommend CHS highly. They are a small school in a small town with a limited budget, but they do well with what they have.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Cohoes High School
1 Tiger Circle, Cohoes, NY  12047
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. (518) 237-9100
Last modified Cohoes High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top