Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ps 129 Patricia Larkin

Public | PK-5 & ungraded | 1015 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 3, 2013

I have graduated from PS.129, and i am now in the eighth grade. My times at 129 were some of the greatest moments i had in life, they have taught me so much and i would do anything to go back. The teachers and staff are very carring and they are so talented. To you parents out there who are reading this from a kid who has gone to this school i recomend to bring your kid to this school.


Posted September 9, 2012

my wife doris gunther went to ps129 in 1953 it was the best school she wentto; she lived on 18-12 127 street . we are looking for any one that has picture of the area .where she lived.


Posted March 11, 2011

My son is in the second grade and I first enrolled him when he was going into to the first grade and I could not have made a better decision for him. The school is amazing he has not only improved tremendously on his reading and writing but his behavior has improved as well. Everyone at PS 129 is great, from the staff in the office to the teachers, the parent coordinator and Ms. Alesi the principal are all amazing. My son was first enrolled in PS143 in Corona which is a HORRIBLE school so I had moved to College Point because of the school ratings and again I could not have made a better decision for my child. I recommend PS 129 to everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2011

I just have to say this school is amazing!!!! Everyone seems to really care at PS 129 and that is what we look for as parents for our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2010

My daughter's are in the 1st and 4th grade, both of my daughters have learning disablities ADD and dyslexia. My 4th grader went from not being able to read at all to now being on grade level because of the great staff that put the hard work into making sure my daughters matter. When my life gets overwhelming with my 2 year old son with sensory issues the principal herself with the guidance counselors will take time to stay with him while my 1st grader is preforming her 1st grade show. I mean this staff goes above and beyond and I know my kids matter. That makes a exceptional school, exceptional staff with a result of exceptional students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2010

My kids are in 1st and 3rd grade. They have been enrolled since pre-k. My husband and I love this school. We have had great teachers. The office staff are always helpful and friendly. Great group of people. Enjoy the shows performed with the great music and art teacher. Guidance counselor has been exceptional with both my children. She has always gone above and beyond for them. Cant say enough great things about this school. Not everything is perfect..but this school is pretty close to it..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2010

My children went to ps 129, and I was very sad that we had to move. My daughter learn to read very fast and I think that is not the school's job to teach your children, the parents also have to play their role and help their children in their education. If I had the chance to put my children back to ps 129, I would. The # of students in a class is little and I think is the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2010

This is a great school. I don't know who would write a bad review about this school. Everyone is helpful, friendly and care about the children. The administration is wonderful and listens to parents' needs. The children seem happy. My child needed extra help and it was given immeiately.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2009

My daughter learned to Read at a speed that just blew me away. She loves the environment and I love the academics. Works for us!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2007

Excellent we just need more parent involvement. This is a great school my children attend this school and I have no complaints.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2007

The school is very strict, not very nurturing for small children, the children do not have extracurricular activities but yet they impose so many restrictions there needs to be a balance children need education but they also deserve some activities. The school also lacks extra resources for children who are struggling. The have an after school program which is not enough. It is only 30 minutes and focused on a few topics not directly towards where you child might be struggling. The offer a programs which is not friendly to parents and children where they can go to school at 7:00am (not realistic). If your child needs a nurturing environment this is not the school. It is a safe school but very strict.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2007

i am very happy with the school and my kids too , everybody is ver friendly and if you need something they try to help you , we moved from long island and at the beginning i was kind of sad because the school over there but not anymore , this school is great .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2007

This is a wonderful school the principle is excellent. This school has the best teachers they are dedicated to their work and are kind and courteous. This is the best school in collage point I'm am so happy with my children's achievement and their progress.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2006

School follows balance literacy and everyday math as does rest of the city. Recently became a Title I school so it is anticipated that the additional funding will provide some badly needed after school programs and ESL classe. Kids have either art (fabulous teacher(, music or dance. Parents are not as involved as they once were. Administration tends to first make decisions and then present them to paretns for 'discussion'-- really more of a rubber stamp approval. If parents don't feel they are part of the process, they lose interest.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2006

I wish I felt more of a sense of community in the school. It provides good academics and cultural programs but I do not feel wanted or welcome there--many restrictions on parents in the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2005

I think this is a very good school,considering the new academic format implemented by the city. It is a very safe school, my kids have never had any problems there.They offer extra help for kids who need help prior to the statewide tests free of charge to the parents. The only downside I think is the lack of extracurricular activities available. I would guess this is due to lack of funding. On the whole, I really think it is a very good school, even better than some private schools in this area. There is a PTA with varying membership but they do a lot for the kids and the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2003

this is a good school, but I feel that it needs more physical activities for the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 31% in 2013.

137 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
65%
Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2013.

140 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2013.

177 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
68%
Math

The state average for Math was 36% in 2013.

179 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
84%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

179 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
98%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 31% in 2013.

137 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
58%
Math

The state average for Math was 30% in 2013.

137 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students43%
Female50%
Male36%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander66%
Hispanic27%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged37%
Not economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disabilities13%
General population47%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English45%
Non-migrant43%

Math

All Students58%
Female62%
Male56%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander79%
Hispanic40%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged53%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilities27%
General population62%
English language learners27%
Proficient in English61%
Non-migrant58%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students42%
Female43%
Male43%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander55%
Hispanic33%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White53%
Economically disadvantaged40%
Not economically disadvantaged49%
Students with disabilities22%
General population47%
English language learners13%
Proficient in English45%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant42%

Math

All Students53%
Female51%
Male55%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander83%
Hispanic39%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White50%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged66%
Students with disabilities32%
General population57%
English language learners24%
Proficient in English56%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant53%

Science

All Students93%
Female93%
Male94%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander98%
Hispanic90%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged92%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilities83%
General population95%
English language learners77%
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students33%
Female37%
Male29%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander45%
Hispanic24%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged29%
Not economically disadvantaged46%
Students with disabilities6%
General population37%
English language learners17%
Proficient in English35%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant33%

Math

All Students51%
Female56%
Male43%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander76%
Hispanic36%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged46%
Not economically disadvantaged62%
Students with disabilities0%
General population57%
English language learners14%
Proficient in English55%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant51%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "B" for the elementary school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 2 49% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 30% 9%
White 1 18% 48%
Black 2 3% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 1% 1%
Two or more races 1 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 214%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 174%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 5%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 60%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 661 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
9.1
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.9
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.3
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
8.9
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.8
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.9
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.5
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.8
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.7
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.0
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents60871%
Teachers5376%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. MARILYN ALESI

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

128-02 7th Ave
College Point, NY 11356
Phone: (718) 353-3150

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Ps 29
College Point, NY


Ps 79 Francis Lewis
Whitestone, NY




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT