Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
7 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 11 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Burr Intermediate School
no rating

Posted October 04, 2009
- a parent
Burr is a wonderful school, in a wonderful district that not only teaches our children academics, but also a sense of community.

Burr Intermediate School 5

Posted October 03, 2009
- a parent
I am the mother of 3 grown children & grandmother of 7 - ages 6 to23 years. I have been a PTA President in another school district & a child advocate for many years. The Commack School District & Burr Intermediate school, in particular, are outstanding! The staff is dedicated to the individual learning style of each student. They work as a team to identify each student's weaknesses & strengths. They create an atmosphere conducive to learning and use their Inclusion classes and Resource Room to help students that require a more intense type of one on one learning situation. NO child gets lost in the shuffle, so to speak. My grandson has ADHD & is extreme intelligent. They have nurtured his self confidence & provided him with the atmosphere that he, personally, needs to achieve his personal best. Administration & Staff work together in the best interest of each individual child!!


Burr Intermediate School
no rating

Posted October 01, 2009
- a parent
Burr has great teachers, administrators, students, and active parents. We all work together to make this a great place for the students to learn.

Burr Intermediate School
no rating

Posted March 31, 2008
- a parent
Burr is an excellent school. The staff is very dedicated and the principal is great. There are many opportunites within the classroom for differentiated learning as well as a gifted program. Many extracurricular activies.

Burr Intermediate School
no rating

Posted July 07, 2007
- a parent
Good School but can be too demanding on the students. Individual Science Fair Projects are required but should be done in school and not at home.


Burr Intermediate School 5

Posted April 22, 2007
- a student
I am a fifth grade student in Mr. Minott's class. I am in 2 enrichment programs. One is the Stock Market Club, and the other is Challenge and Discovery, in which we work on some very interesting projects, and I love it!! I was in a third, called Continental Math. Burr is one of many participating in this. In it, we do harder math, and every month, we take a test, and Burr is tied for first in the country for high scores on the test, and has been for several years. Mr. Minott is the best! The chorus in Burr is great! I don't know how good the physical education program is compared to the rest the the state, but i like it.

Burr Intermediate School 4

Posted March 29, 2006
- a student
Excellent and talented staff. Varied extracurriculars available. Many opportunities for parent envolvement.

Burr Intermediate School 5

Posted November 02, 2005
- a parent
Burr is an excellent school with dedicated teachers. They work hard every day to make sure our kids have a positive experience. The students are more than prepared to take the state exams!


Burr Intermediate School 5

Posted September 13, 2005
- a parent
Academic programs and resources available are excellent. However, the district is so large there should be more than two schools on the intermediate grade level, and more than one school on the middle school level. The chances of making a friend and having that child ever be in the same class with you again are slim.

Burr Intermediate School 4

Posted March 15, 2005
- a parent
Excellent school. Very happy with the district

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Burr Intermediate School
Burr Rd, Commack, NY  11725
(631) 858-3636
Last modified Burr Intermediate School is a Public school that serves grades 3-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Burr Intermediate School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top