Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Wood Park School

Public | K-2 | 396 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

5 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 8, 2014

My youngest just finished Kindergarten and boy is it amazing! She's all grown up! :) Her teacher was great!; was very appreciative of her responses to any issues I may have had at the beginning of the school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2013

There is a high voltage LIPA power station right behind this school. Parents should know this as it could effect their children's health. Look at the aerial view on Google maps/


Posted April 13, 2009

My 6 year old is in First Grade - she loves her teacher and thinks highly of the Principal and the other staff. As a parent, it it extremely comforting to know that she is in a warm, and safe environment when I drop her off in the mornings. Although she went in to WP reading, she has become a much more fluent conversationalist and more sociable. I admire the manner in which she looks up to WP as 'her' school, and stresses if she is going to miss a day. WP is an amazing all-rounded school, with programs that influence my child's character, protecting the environment and her choices in friends and food. kudos to the principal and all of her staff!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2008

This is the best school ever. The principal is awsome.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2007

Wood Park is a great school. My daughter will be going into her third year there. They are great academically and the school has a nice family atmosphere. They also have a program in which they teach the children how important it is to have good character. My daughter loves it!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

Oops! We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Public and charter school test scores for most states come from the state Department of Education. The most common reasons we might not have this data are either that not enough students took the test or that the school was recently opened, and its scores have not yet been reported.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 2 83% 48%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 8% 9%
Hispanic 2 5% 23%
Two or more races 1 3% 1%
Black 1 1% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 11%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 15%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 3%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 77%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. MICHELLE COLLISON

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

15 New Hwy
Commack, NY 11725
Phone: (631) 858-3680

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

North Ridge School
Commack, NY


The Jewish Academy
Commack, NY



Rolling Hills School
Dix Hills, NY




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT