Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
24 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 24 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Coram Elementary School 5

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
The teachers, principal and the staff are caring, and very involved with the school and the kids. They run this school at a high standard. The PTA is dedicated with many parents who volunteer their time to make this school fun for the kids. Coram being one of the biggest elementary schools in its district, does not fall short on providing the kids with a warm, friendly atmosphere and sense of unity.

Coram Elementary School 5

Posted January 05, 2015
- a parent
We transferred in from private school to Coram and are 100% pleased with our decision. First of all, the principal is exceptional. He is calm, poised, involved and accessible. Secondly, the teachers are engaged, enthusiastic and involved with each student and his / her progress. Thirdly, there are many parents involved with the PTA and other events. And, most of all, we have not had any issues with bullying or bad behavior. The school teaches, expects and rewards values such as respect and cooperation. My children have really blossomed here. We were concerned our kids would be lost in the crowd moving from a small school to a large school but I can honestly say that everyone from the principal to teachers they've never had to the aides to the front desk know them by name. The curriculum is excellent and they are challenged. Each of them were student of the month and my son who is now in middle school is on the High Honor Roll. There are many events and activities that go on. So many more opportunities than private school. All in all, this is a great school and we are really happy that we transferred in.


Coram Elementary School 5

Posted January 05, 2015
- a parent
Great parent involvement and teachers are wonderful. Very happy to have my children as part of this school.

Coram Elementary School 5

Posted October 30, 2014
- a parent
Wonder if your private school even appears on the math-a-thon list, Coram elementary does. : -) It's a great school

Coram Elementary School 1

Posted April 17, 2014
- a parent
I don't know which was worse, the horror of finding out we were in the Longwood school district or this place. Very low income area with all the problems that go along with it. Very rude woman who sat at the front desk each day, needs an attitude adjustment. Send your kids to private school, we did.


Coram Elementary School 5

Posted February 15, 2013
- a parent
Absolutely wonderful school!!! Both of my children attend/ed Coram Elementary. One moved on to the Middle School this year and is an honor student. My youngest doing a wonderful job as well. They are always so motivated to work and do well. Love participating in all of the activities that the school offers. I have had wonderful experiences with all of the teachers. I am absolutely proud to say that my children attend Coram Elementary. Great place!!!

Coram Elementary School 5

Posted January 12, 2013
- a parent
The principals, teachers, the PTA and even the BOE work excellently to create and maintain a healthy academic climate for the children to thrive in both academically and socially. As a parent I am well pleased and can only wish that the principal, and teacher report cards this year would accurately reflect the level of excellence that they dedicate to educating our children.

Coram Elementary School 5

Posted June 23, 2008
- a parent
this is my son first year in school it has been a great year, his teacher was outstanding and the curriculum was great, he is in kindergarden and loves to read and writes reports about the books, he finish the year learning to add and subtract. esl program is great his teacher was awesome. very pleased with this school.


Coram Elementary School 5

Posted June 28, 2007
- a parent
my son just graduated from 4th grade coram elementary with a scholarship award and a great report card and nys testing average the teachers, and pta did a wonderful job

Coram Elementary School 5

Posted May 15, 2007
- a parent
I love Coram School and all it's teachers with the exception of the lunch menu and lack of nutritional choices. I understand that this occurs in most schools but, we must start the change somewhere and soon. Hot pockets and French Toast Sticks are not a nutritional lunch and we should be teaching our children better nutritional values. Why can't we have vegetables to dip daily, fresh fruit to snack on, salad choices daily and whole grain wheat breads and wraps. I would think that the parents would be willing to pay a little extra in price for alot extra in nutrition.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Coram Elementary School
61 Mount Sinai Coram Road, Coram, NY  11727
(631) 698-0077
Last modified Coram Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-4. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Coram Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. Top