Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
8-12
Private
Cornwall on Hudson, NY
Students enrolled: 140
Before care: No
After care: No
 

4 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


14 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


The Storm King School 5

Posted November 14, 2014
- a parent
Our daughter has had an amazing experience at Storm King. She loves the campus and it mountain back drops. She feels like the school is truly preparing her for college and really driving home her responsibilities not only to herself but to the school, her school mates, her town and the world. She is thinking so much bigger now and working harder than she ever has in her academics, sports and arts. Thank you Storm King School. Great School!

The Storm King School 4

Posted March 24, 2014
- a parent
We are very pleased with the education our son is receiving at Storm King. This is his second year at the school. We live in Manhattan and the school has provided a great alternative to the private day school offering available to us in the city. The students at Storm King keep incredibly busy scheduled. Academic classes take place from 8-3:30, sports or arts until 6PM, family style dinners in the evening and mandatory study hall at night. Our son is playing baseball. He is also auditioning for the Spring musical. Storm King s location is amazing as the campus overlooks the Hudson River. Also, the city is only about an hour away. We are very happy.


The Storm King School 2

Posted March 06, 2014
- a community member
Lacking administration-- disipline issues are not handled. Lots of bullying going on. No supervision. Big drug issue. Do not send your kid
5 people found this helpful

The Storm King School 3

Posted February 20, 2014
- a parent
Pros: For a small school, a wide range of courses, creative arts classes and sports are offered. There are some dedicated teachers, too. Cons: Weak leadership-administration; Inadequate supervision on and off campus, almost half of student body is from other countries (although this looks good for diversity numbers, students with same backgrounds form cliques-they are not integrated with other kids and are not required to speak English on campus), faculty not supported, discipline is not implemented consistently and is subjective, food is lacking in choice and quality and dorms are dirty and worn. Limited activities, if any, on weekends.

The Storm King School 5

Posted October 16, 2013
- a parent
The Storm King School has changed my daughter's life. The faculty is brilliant and caring.This is my daughter's second year at the school. She states, "this school is awesome". She plays soccer, basketball and has performed in the one of the theatre shows. This school is giving my daughter a well rounded academic experience. The teachers and the staff are incredibly warm and supportive! We applied and toured several private schools in and around the New York area. Storm King School hands down!!!


The Storm King School 2

Posted April 04, 2013
- a parent
Storm King is consistently inconsistent. Although it is a school for kids who don't seem to fit in anywhere else, it consistently perpetuates stereotypes of students who are different. Teachers are not supported, especially women. I would not want my child to attend this school.
1 person found this helpful

The Storm King School 5

Posted January 04, 2013
- a parent
Storm is a remarkable institution. It has changed our lives and the life of our son. It has allowed him to realize academic, social and athletic success that has given him the confidence to approach the world with a perspective that will ensure long term success. It is such a supportive, nurturing, inclusive, diverse yet challenging environment that I can't imagine anyone not achieving their full potential. What makes it so extraordinary is that it does all this within the context of what is really a small Boarding school environment. How it is able to offer our son an advanced class in Chinese where he is the only student and at the same time field a Varsity Soccer team that ranks so highly in New England, shows the dedication and the high quality of its staff and faculty. I will always have a special place in my heart for Storm King and I know our son will forever be thankful for all it has given him.

The Storm King School 5

Posted January 02, 2013
- a parent
Storm King School provides a warm and supportive environment. The faculty and teachers are attentive and caring. My son is now a senior and has attended Storm King since the 8th grade. Students are encouraged and challenged to achieve their goals as individuals. I would highly recommend this school!


The Storm King School 5

Posted January 01, 2013
- a parent
Academics: Teachers have high expectations & offer support to cover material that students find challenging. Students also receive guidance in developing the study habits needed to be successful in college. Our daughter takes Mandarin Chinese, which is indicative of the breadth of course offerings. Extra-curricular activities: SKS's school environment encourages students to find areas outside of academics that they are passionate about. Our daughter has played on 2 sports teams in her 1st semester. Also, she has participated in the dance program, which is quite extraordinary. Boarding environment/peers: The SKS boarding experience has exceeded expectations. The faculty are well attuned to what is happening with the students which puts us at ease as parents. Also, our daughter interacts with a diverse group of students from all around the world. As a result, she has become more intellectually curious about the world. She also has developed friends that have ambitious plans for their future. In summary, the individualized attention, the deep commitment to excellence and the nurturing environment makes SKS an ideal place for our daughter to attend high school.

The Storm King School 5

Posted January 01, 2013
- a parent
SKS is a mountaintop masterpiece. My child has thrived in this small, safe and supportive school community. she has had the opportunity to work with faculty who know her both in the classroom and outside where faculty serve as mentors, coaches and advisers. She has developed lifelong friendships with students all over the world. I love how friendly and respectful students are to one another. The school community values each child's gifts and works with them to develop their full potential. Faculty and staff have positive communications with parents. A partnership to best meet the needs of the child. I highly recommend SKS to any parent looking for a school that individualizes the educational program and works to develop the student to be prepared for college and the global society.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.
Please note: questions asked via Facebook are public, and not anonymous. Want to leave a review, instead of ask a question? Click here.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The Storm King School
314 Mountain Rd, Cornwall on Hudson, NY  12520
(845) 534-7892
Last modified The Storm King School is a Private school that serves grades 8-12
The Storm King School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top