Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 19 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


20 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


New York Military Academy 5

Posted March 21, 2014
- a community member
I attended summer school for geometry the first year women were admitted. Was attending an excellent, very strict private all girls school. Once I got over the giggles of the unfamililar military tradition, my grade score increased 37 points, passing finals easily. It must have been my father who thought I would benefit from the discipline and he was right. Looking back, wished I spent all 4 years there. Great school and staff.

New York Military Academy 5

Posted November 23, 2013
- a community member
I graduated in 1972. Things were rougher in those days but it was and still is a very fine school. Taught me a lot. I am a very proud graduate of this fine institution!


New York Military Academy 5

Posted January 29, 2012
- a parent
My 2 sons both went to/are at NYMA, the eldest graduated in 2008,the youngest is a senior.So when my daughter was looking for a middle school,she wanted to go to NYMA.It is a coed school,but there is mostly boys.I however was not suprised at her choice,raised in a milatary family I am a navy pilot and my wife was an army officer before she died in combat.She is athletic,highly intelligent and a tomboy.She loves it.

New York Military Academy 5

Posted November 21, 2011
- a parent
This is my son s first year at NYMA. I am extremely happy with the school so far. The teachers are great as well as the new Superintended . The school presents great opportunity to a student who needs structure to excel. Most kids do best under some structure, this school offers great balance

New York Military Academy 5

Posted January 25, 2011
- a community member
I am a former cadet at NYMA, 1967-1974. I am very proud of what I learned there. I hope the school survives these trying economic times. They have always had top notch staff and like anything in life, you get out of it what YOU put into it. RIP Col. Castellano!


New York Military Academy 4

Posted July 22, 2010
- a parent
NYMA has been the best thing wer have done for our son. His confidence self steem has improved tremendously. The staff is superb form Major Coverdale his staff the teachers the nurse everyone cares about the safety and welfare of your child to the max. I know my son is having an excellent education. During this summer he took the admission test for private schools and the results were amazing. Thanks NYMA

New York Military Academy 0
no rating

Posted April 12, 2010
- a student
The New York Military Academy was a perfect fit for me. Their guidance and constant reinforcement set me up for the future. I am graduating this year and am looking forward to pursuing my degree at one of New Jersey's best Universities. I was accepted to a number of excellent schools and I credit NYMA with enabling me to strive for excellence. I would sincerely recommend NYMA to anyone looking for a strict, college prep program. The faculty and staff are far more than committed and have done all within their powers to assist me. I am grateful for the New York Military Academy and appreciate its mission.

New York Military Academy 4

Posted June 17, 2009
- a parent
I found the teachers and the administration at NYMA to be superb. My son just completed his first year.


New York Military Academy 5

Posted November 12, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

New York Military Academy 4

Posted August 06, 2008
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

New York Military Academy
78 Academy Avenue, Cornwall-on-Hudson, NY  12520
(845) 534-3710
Last modified New York Military Academy is a Private school that serves grades 1-12
New York Military Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 20 reviews.