Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Is 61 Leonardo Da Vinci

Public | 6-8 & ungraded | 2320 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

33 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 6, 2014

As a student that is soon going to high school, I decided to write a review about this school. This is a great school--its just the students that goes to this school is very influential. Walking around the halls, I've seen girls putting up make up--have nothing against that but I really couldn't tell if they were trying to be a clown or not. And yes, students start getting into relationships and kiss in the hallways, outside of schools(alley), its really obnoxious. During my second year, there's a girl that has been pregnant as well. In my opinion, I find it really difficult fitting in. The teachers are really nice and great at teaching. Well, some. My social studies teacher is the first teacher I've ever been comfortable with. The school offers many activities and fun programs. This school also have different academies that is named after famous universities. The reason is because it encourages students to participate in school activities and work hard in school. At the end of each year, we get to do spirit week which is very fun, except for the seniors because of the regents. Overall, I really like this school, I met great friends and had a lot of fun.


Posted January 7, 2014

Parents, listen do not send your kids to this school unless you want your son to have a girlfriend and make out in an alley or any place where people cant spot them. The girl/boy, he/she loves will later on dump him/her and your child will be depressed like most kids in this school are. MOCK MY WORDS DO NOT SEND YOUR CHILD HERE!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2013

My daughter is in I.S. 61 Leonardo Da Vinci. and she loves going to this school. It has lots of great programs and friendly teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2012

i love my child going to this school and it really helps her alot ,taking clases in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2012

.. :D no conflicts, programs that help student get better at what there doing. ;)


Posted January 24, 2012

Good programs. Dedicated teachers. 3 of my children graduated from this school. We never had any issue. The school is well protected. The teachers are friendly , hard working and helpful. They always strive had to give their best, academically, socially and morally. All my children love the school. Long Live I S 61
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2011

omg this is school is the best hard not eassy but awesome programsd help and anthing you nedd for learning people join your kids here for a better future!!!!


Posted September 7, 2011

This school is great. Lots of programs, friendly teachers, the deans and assistant principle, and mr.lisa care for us, take time to listen to our problems and try to help and improve the school every minute. I feel safe in this school and i personally feel it is a safe enviorment. The only problem is some of the students that attend this school. They don't care about education and love to misbehave. They tend to use foul language and act stupid. But, never try to bully or beat up someone. So far, I have never seen that. I'm also Asian and in the G&T Program. So the other kids tend to say discrimination things such as "Nerd" but, they do that for fun. They arn't really racist. But, hey not every school is perfect, there are always some flaws. I would reccomend this school because there are lots of programs, teachers always try to make learning fun, and I have friends that care for each other.


Posted September 3, 2011

The school wasn't that great. The teachers were fantastic though. They did what they had to do, educate us children and help us with our problems. All the teachers were determined to teach, friendly with the kids and have everything planned out for the day. The school had great competitions, events, and trips for those who deserve it. What really disappointed me was the environment and some of the students that attended this school. I'm Asian, and I was part of a Gifted&Talented class, therefore the students in other "plain/regular" classes think it's right to bully the ones who are more different. Many are not dedicated to learn and laugh at those who do. Each year, the amount of 8TH graders that don't graduate and go to summer school range from 60 to 80, which is a fairly large amount. A few students looked like they were supposed to be a senior in High School, or maybe even a freshman in college! I have seen children talk back and yell back at teachers, along with the use of foul language. If you hear curses, don't be surprised because it's used occasionally (Daily Vocabulary LOL). Sometimes, I don't feel safe walking around the school. I'm so glad that I've just graduated.


Posted February 10, 2011

I attended this school around '86, I loved it. I was so upset that my parents moved to Brooklyn and I had to do my 8th grade at I.S. 302. when my brother and sisted had graduated from IS 61, I wanted to do the same. I think this school was awesome back then. Great teachers!


Posted January 6, 2011

100 the teachers are nice,smart and so is the principle the students respect for example i am a student in i.s.61 in class 8c7 and i see everyday students being nice to others and to the teachers


Posted December 5, 2010

i have been taking a special program in 1.s 61 and its called rewards but i only take it when its social studies but not in monday or friday and then the s.s study teacher gives me a zero for homework i didnt do which i didnt know about and also when i taking a test and after that i get a low score but when i tell them about the program the y do even care!!!!!!


Posted July 22, 2010

Well I have read veryones view some are good and some not so good, but with good parents and grandparents and a great student, I can not see why any school can be that BAD. So if my grandson in August is accepted to this school we will do evey thing within our power to make sure he continues to learn allot and make new good friends and be happy because thats what all children deserve. And if I am wrong about this school, well there are other schools. LUCK TO ALL.


Posted April 10, 2010

My son goes there and comes home beat up !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2010

hey, i used to go this school. i had ALOT of good and bad memories here. fun teachers and nice deans and principles.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 27, 2009

it is a great school to learn
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 23, 2008

this school is good it has some good teachers that help you the school has 5 acedimas like yale, cornell ,stanford, princeton and harverd but the best is stanford they have great teachers.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 1, 2008

This year is my third year attending Leonardo Da Vinci. Leonardo Da Vinci is a fine and well educated school. As the year pass by and under new managment the school become safer, funner, and educational. Every year the school had improved. I'm a student of I.S.61 and this year i will be graduating. I'm from Harvard Academy, i was transferred from Yale. I really like this school because, we have different activities that make coming to school a funt hing to do. the teachers are awesome and the principals are kind. This school is the best! especially if you are enrolling to Leonardo Da Vinci join the after school tennis club called NYJTL. The best tennis and etc sports there is.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 22, 2008

this school is one of the best middile schools in queens
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2008

This is the best school ever. It is improving every day in acedimics. Its a place were us kids gcould go have fun and still learn from the best teachers ever.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2013.

708 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
12%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
32%
Math

The state average for Math was 30% in 2013.

717 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
52%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 31% in 2013.

788 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
15%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
25%
Math

The state average for Math was 27% in 2013.

811 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
15%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
49%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2013.

761 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
17%

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
25%
Math

The state average for Math was 27% in 2013.

781 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
19%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
52%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

772 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
49%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students12%
Female12%
Male13%
African American15%
Asian/Pacific Islander40%
Hispanic9%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged12%
Not economically disadvantaged16%
Students with disabilities1%
General population15%
English language learners0%
Proficient in English18%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant12%

Math

All Students22%
Female21%
Male22%
African American21%
Asian/Pacific Islander64%
Hispanic17%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged20%
Not economically disadvantaged36%
Students with disabilities0%
General population25%
English language learners3%
Proficient in English30%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant22%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students15%
Female18%
Male11%
African American15%
Asian/Pacific Islander43%
Hispanic10%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White23%
Economically disadvantaged13%
Not economically disadvantaged42%
Students with disabilities2%
General population16%
English language learners2%
Proficient in English20%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant15%

Math

All Students15%
Female15%
Male16%
African American6%
Asian/Pacific Islander53%
Hispanic10%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White15%
Economically disadvantaged15%
Not economically disadvantaged36%
Students with disabilities2%
General population17%
English language learners0%
Proficient in English23%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant15%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students17%
Female21%
Male13%
African American19%
Asian/Pacific Islander53%
Hispanic12%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged15%
Not economically disadvantaged31%
Students with disabilities1%
General population20%
English language learners0%
Proficient in English24%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant17%

Math

All Students19%
Female20%
Male18%
African American11%
Asian/Pacific Islander64%
Hispanic14%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged19%
Not economically disadvantaged27%
Students with disabilities1%
General population23%
English language learners4%
Proficient in English26%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant19%

Science

All Students63%
Female65%
Male61%
African American63%
Asian/Pacific Islander90%
Hispanic59%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilities21%
General population70%
English language learners33%
Proficient in English76%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant63%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "B" for the middle school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 2 81% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 12% 9%
Black 1 5% 19%
White 2 1% 48%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 0% 1%
Two or more races 2 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 136%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 191%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 6%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 38%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 3822 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.6
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.8
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Students

This school

 
7.1
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.8
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
8.0
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.9
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Students

This school

 
7.6
 

City average

 
7.8
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.6
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.5
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.3
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Students

This school

 
7.2
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.9
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.0
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.8
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Students

This school

 
8.2
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents149769%
Students222296%
Teachers10359%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. JOSEPH J. LISA

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

98-50 50th Ave
Corona, NY 11368
Phone: (718) 760-3233

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Ming Yuan Chinese
Elmhurst, NY


Ps 280
Jackson Heights, NY




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT