Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Columbanus School

Private | PK-8 | 36 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Cortlandt

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $337,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,520.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 17, 2012

Great school! I graduated a couple of years ago. It set an excellent foundation for high school with its wonderful teachers and family atmosphere. I will never regret sticking it out until the end.


Posted September 6, 2011

I graduated from St. Columbanus and have to say that I absolutely loved the experience! I started in 4-year-old preschool and graduated with some of the same classmates when I was in the eighth grade! Your class really becomes your family; you don't necessarily like all of them, but you do care about all of them. The education is high-quality and teachers really do care.


Posted October 14, 2009

A great education in a family environment!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2009

The teachers care about the kids and the school. They work really hard. The students respect any adults in the building. Spanish is offerred as a subject from K-8. The older students help the younger students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

St.Columbanus school offers a wonderful alternative to large, chaotic public schools in the area. Parents and teachers work well together and everyone works together. The students are educated extremely well and have excellent characteristics like being respectful to their teachers and peers, and behaving during lessons. My oldest has been there for five years (prek 4-3rd grade) and my second just started Kindergarten. It is truly a wonderufl school and work the tuition (which is affordable by the way) compared to other neighborhood catholic schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2009

St. Columbanus School offers a well rounded education, including religious studies.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2008

Fantastic School, small, caring environment, excellent teachers and A+ Principal - not many of these type of schools left!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2008

great school recomend it to all people who would like to learn. ummm hmm good lunch on wednsdays. i am a student here for 8 years. great extracurricular activities like chorus and band thats about it..... ooo how could i forget tennis baseball at recess!!! #1


Posted September 27, 2007

This is a great school as a Alumni i would recommend it....as a parent of a a '5 year old' who has just started kindergarten I have choose to send my son here! He is having a 'Great' experience. He loves going to school and is learning so much! Great school and best decision I ever made!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2007

Small classes, Well educated - low turn over staff, team building atmosphere
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2007

The teachers and staff are very thoughtful. The students are respectful of one another. The parents work together with the teachers to see that the children have a wonderful experience. Parents volunteer to help around the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2007

St. Columbanus instills so much in the way of character, behavior and conscience in the students. This is so evident when groups of students or classes attend activities or events in the community - people often approach the teacher/chaperones and comment on the admirable behavior of the children. The teaching staff are top notch as is the principal and staff; the environment reflects good parenting and good educational values.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2005

Looking for a high caliber school? Consider St. Columbanus. It has a real family atmosphere, with high parent involvement and caring, dedicated teachers. It offers a full-day kindergarten. Above and beyond a well-rounded education through eighth grade, offerings include computer education, foreign language, art, band, choir, and sports. There's a low student-to-teacher ratio, allowing for more personal attention.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 68% 52%
Black 14% 21%
Hispanic 11% 21%
Two or more races 5% N/A
Asian 3% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Frank A. Disanza
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of New York
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

122 Oregon Road
Cortlandt, NY 10567
Phone: (914) 739-1200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Hillcrest School
Peekskill, NY


Annsville Christian Academy
Cortlandt Manor, NY


Oakside School
Peekskill, NY


Assumption School
Peekskill, NY




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT