Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Delmar, NY
Students enrolled: 1,605
 

3 stars
Based on 20 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


20 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Bethlehem Central Senior High School 3

Posted January 19, 2015
- a student
Despite what many in the Greater Albany area might think, I would argue that this school is far from being special. Yes, its academic and athletic programs are excellent and adequate --- provided that you are both socially suitable and in the top 10% of your class. If you are an average student just trying to "survive" high school, you will be adequately educated here. Yes, adequately, but don't expect your teachers to be too optimistic when you get stuck on that math question half of the class got right. Socially speaking, the buttom line is that you won't ever need to wear an armored vest to school. The whole bullying issue shouldn't become a problem for you as long as you are in one of the school's many cliques. Anything otherwise and don't expect a smooth ride to the finish line.

Bethlehem Central Senior High School 4

Posted December 17, 2013
- a parent
My son and daughter attended BCHS and they went on to Duke and Cornell. Their high school academic experience was above average. This high school is also small enough that it isn't very difficult for youths to make the team in various sports. I am sure that both of my children would give this school high marks.


Bethlehem Central Senior High School 2

Posted July 11, 2012
- a community member
Academically speaking, Bethlehem is a decent enough school. Although it is a high ranking school, some teachers are very lackadaisical, incompetent, and act like it is a burden to help students who are really struggling, and tend to leave those students behind. Another thing about Bethlehem is how clickey it is and how the administration does close to nothing to put a stop to the bullying, which is a very BIG problem here. Bethlehem has a lot of work to do, it's honestly nothing special.

Bethlehem Central Senior High School 5

Posted March 03, 2012
- a parent
Both my daughters went to the Lab School within the High School. It was a superb preparation for attending college and working in the real world.

Bethlehem Central Senior High School 5

Posted October 14, 2011
- a community member
I attended Bethlehem High School, and went on to succeed both as an undergraduate and a graduate. I was more prepared by Bethlehem for college than the vast majority of my peers from other public schools.


Bethlehem Central Senior High School 2

Posted April 14, 2011
- a student
Bethlehem Central was the second high school I attended, as I moved there as a sophomore. Coming from another public school with about the same number of students, I expected the schools to be very similar. Bethlehem, however, is filled with teachers who don't care about the success of their students. The faculty is so caught up in rankings that call BCHS a good school, that they don't bother to do their part to contribute. People rave about the opportunities available for BCHS students, but as an AP student there, I left feeling like I should've gotten so much more of out my high school education.

Bethlehem Central Senior High School 3

Posted May 05, 2010
- a student
The teachers i have and have had the previous years in this school are great and are concerned about your education. The teachers in the excel programs also do an excellent job with doing what they can to pass their students. Almost everyone does a sport or is in a club and Bethlehem High is located in a convenient location that's in the suburbs but is fairly close to the city of Albany. The only negative things I have to say about this school are there is a lot of unnecessary drama and it's filled up with cliques of every kind. Usually if you're not in the clique, you're not really friends with them.

Bethlehem Central Senior High School 1

Posted April 22, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Bethlehem Central Senior High School 3

Posted April 30, 2009
- a student
For BCHS, it is a hit and miss case. I have had oustanding teachers and some amazing experiences. I've also had lousy teachers and some horrible experiences. Some teachers hate students, some teachers love students: Some of the administration is very competant and some of it isn't. Some kids are heavy into cliques, and ... well, there are a few who like you no matter who you are.

Bethlehem Central Senior High School 5

Posted March 20, 2009
- a student
Bethlehem is a very good school. It has fantastic academics, relatively good teachers, and, for a school, is a pretty fun place to be. Kids that go to this school take pride in it. 94% of seniors last year went to college, enough said.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.
Please note: questions asked via Facebook are public, and not anonymous. Want to leave a review, instead of ask a question? Click here.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Bethlehem Central Senior High School
700 Delaware Avenue, Delmar, NY  12054
(518) 439-4921
Last modified Bethlehem Central Senior High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Bethlehem Central Senior High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. Top