Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
240 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
25 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 47 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St. Thomas the Apostle School 5

Posted October 20, 2015
- a parent
We decided to send our three children to St. Thomas the Apostle School in Delmar, NY after attending an Open House. We met with the students, teachers, staff and parents that make St. Thomas a caring and faith-filled community. We now count ourselves among them. Our children receive an excellent education from faculty and staff who support their learning experience with everything from technology tools, creative and fun lessons, and old-fashioned one-on-one attention. We are very grateful that we can send our children to a school where they are known by name and valued as individuals.

St. Thomas the Apostle School 5

Posted October 19, 2015
- a parent
We have had 4 generations of our family attend STS. It is not only a tradition but a privilege to attend school here. The school places its values on Faith, Community Service and Technology based learning. To call the STS an extended family would be an understatement! The love is evident from the moment you walk in the door. Everyone knows your children, parents are called by name, your participation is welcomed and encouraged. It is a warm and wonderful experience for kids and adults alike. Any parent wants what is best for their kids and STS certainly has provided that for my family for many years.


St. Thomas the Apostle School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted October 19, 2015
- a parent
Carmel Foltan, the Director of Enrollment, goes out of her way to make everyone feel welcomed and included. I feel that her role is often overlooked. She works with parent and student ambassadors to make sure that all new or perspective families feel that STS is the school for their family. Job Well Done!

St. Thomas the Apostle School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted October 19, 2015
- a parent
I love that when I pick my first grader up in Aftercare I am hearing students from all grade call out to him. They develop the family atmosphere here and that is the most important to me.

St. Thomas the Apostle School 5

Posted October 19, 2015
- a parent
St. Thomas school is truly a community, not just a school. St. Thomas really does feel like a family! There are so many inspirational individuals St. Thomas, and our family is thankful every single day for who our children have become because of them. It is worth every bit of sacrifice to provide our children an environment that nurtures their spiritual development through lectures, critical thinking, service to others, and most significantly, by example. Even the smallest preschoolers absorb the message. Our children receive instruction in several subjects including language arts, mathematics, social studies, physical and biological sciences, fine arts, physical development and health [this of course will vary by grade level]. The principal the most superb school principal we have ever known. His leadership has been remarkable and inspiring. The teaching staff of St. Thomas love to teach and do so with all their heart and soul to provide their students with what is important and necessary and inspiring and beautiful and meaningful and true and good and honest. St. Thomas teachers truly care about kids and empower them and ignite their passions and help them achieve their big dreams.


St. Thomas the Apostle School 5

Posted October 19, 2015
- a parent
This is a school where you truly feel like family. My son Jake has been attending since PreK-3 and he is now in First grade. He has developed strong relationships with both the staff and the other students. I feel that at each level he has been over-prepared to advance to the next grade. The feeling of family comes from all aspects of the school, just by observing the children interact with one another, even outside their own grade levels to the staff that can name each child and also recall a personal story off the cuff to share. I am often complimented on Jake's outgoing personality, his kindness and how well he communicates with others. Most of this is attributed to the education that he is receiving at St. Thomas. Thank you and Keep up the good work!

St. Thomas the Apostle School 1

Posted September 21, 2014
- a parent
I would not recommend this school. Even though the teachers are great there are some serious problems with the principal. Among the many problems I had with him there is one problem in particular that I found inexcusable. My daughter was racially bullied and even after the principal was informed he did nothing. The boy who bullied her was not only allowed to go on the 8th grade trip to Washington D.C. but he didn't even get detention.

St. Thomas the Apostle School 5

Posted April 25, 2013
- a parent
After spending 3 years in the overrated number 1 school District in the Capital Region, we transferred our child to St. Thomas. There is smaller class sizes so the teachers have time to do smaller group instruction. The teacher touches base through e-mail, about the students work assignments and upcoming field trips. The first thing I noticed after the transfer was that I had a happier child in his new school enviroment. St Thomas offers the academics without the pressure.


St. Thomas the Apostle School 5

Posted April 12, 2013
- a parent
Our experience with St Thomas school has been very fulfilling. Our child has received exceptional guidance in developing a solid foundation for faith, academics and community service. It is the best money spent in providing a child with the tools that they need to succeed in life. The administration and teachers are all very supportive and helpful. The school continues to explore and enhance in all areas. Whenever we attend the school we are warmly welcomed. Whenever we email or call the administration or teachers, responses are immediately provided. This school welcomes families and works with them on a daily bases. I would strongly recommend this school to parents who wish to provide their children with solid foundation in the early years of their life.

St. Thomas the Apostle School 5

Posted March 31, 2013
- a parent
Our daughter is a student at St. Thomas the Apostle School in Delmar, New York. We couldn't be happier with the school in its entirety. The care, concern, communication and overall sense of security and attention that we get from the principal, teachers, administrators and staff are second to none. There can be no other choice for our daughter. She is worth it!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. Thomas the Apostle School
42 Adams Pl, Delmar, NY  12054
(518) 439-5573
Last modified St. Thomas the Apostle School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
St. Thomas the Apostle School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 47 reviews. Top