Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Moses Dewitt Elementary School

Public | K-4 & ungraded | 289 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 22, 2014

They are great with my son who has ADHD/OCD and have been very helpful in trying new ways to get him to learn and keep up with the rest of the class.His teacher always returns my calls and keeps me informed of my sons progress. However, up until this year my daughter loved going to school, now she ask to stay home if she can't switch teachers. Her teacher doesn't return phone calls, berates my child about our families income, she ask my daughter why I'm calling and emailing so much and even once stole from child
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2014

Love this school! The teachers are nurturing, understanding and patient. My boys did so well there and got a great foundation for middle school. The administration is very supportive of special needs. To this day I see the little ones in my neighborhood getting off the bus happy and cheerful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2013

This school is terrible. My son recently went into their kindergarten, and he couldn't speak English well. Now they're putting him into ESL (english as a second language) and putting him with a "special" education because he doesn't speak English well. He's a slow learner. He's shy. He doesn't talk very much. Give us a break. If you're going to move into this area, try Tecumseh Elementary school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2013

This school is horrible!! from the teachers to the incompetent principle. My son has adhd and is treated like he is some kind of monster. They have no patience for anyone that is not perfect. The area is clicky like all the parents are still in high school. Terrible in every aspect!! Save yourself the headache and go to a different elementary school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2009

Great attention to the students, and everyone knows your kids!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2008

Moses DeWitt has been wonderful for both my 'typical' child - my daughter, and my son, who has multiple disabilities. I find the staff to be very caring and willing, and they are eager to find ways to include my son in every activity. Exceptional elementary school and staff, from the new principle to the aides!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2006

During the few yaers that I attended Moses Dewitt I always felt like I was the one & only there. The teachers knew how to make any of the kids that attended feel that they were the first & most important person in the class & I very much appreciated that.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 4, 2006

Moses is an excellent elementary school. Supportive teaching staff, great community involvement, a great place to go to school!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 31% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
69%
Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
61%
Math

The state average for Math was 36% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
58%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students55%
Female51%
Male58%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White61%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English55%
Non-migrant55%

Math

All Students44%
Female29%
Male58%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White50%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged48%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English44%
Non-migrant44%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students28%
Female41%
Male19%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White35%
Economically disadvantaged5%
Not economically disadvantaged39%
Students with disabilities0%
General population35%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English28%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant28%

Math

All Students32%
Female33%
Male31%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White40%
Economically disadvantaged5%
Not economically disadvantaged45%
Students with disabilities0%
General population38%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English32%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant32%

Science

All Students87%
Female82%
Male91%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilities45%
General population96%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English87%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 2 76% 48%
Black 2 10% 19%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 7% 9%
Hispanic 1 3% 23%
Two or more races 1 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 20%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 218%N/A43%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 6%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 17%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. MARY SYLVESTER

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

201 Jamesville Rd
Dewitt, NY 13214
Phone: (315) 445-8370

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT