Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Dix Hills, NY
Students enrolled: 1,806

4 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


16 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Half Hollow Hills High School East 4

Posted May 31, 2011
- a community member
I am an alumni of this school and found it to provide a great education. The teachers were thoughtful and approachable. The tests were fair and the subject matter was spot on. Some teachers were better than others in their technique. I found it well prepared me. The only thing was I felt that the students in the honor classes were treated a little bit better than those not on the AP track.

Half Hollow Hills High School East 0
no rating

Posted October 10, 2010
- a parent
While they emphasize academics at the school, they always work with the whole child to make sure they are well rounded.


Half Hollow Hills High School East 2

Posted February 28, 2010
- a student
I hate to admit it but even though some say there has been advancements in the administration, it is still what i believe a guilded school. Drugs are still a problem here and are very prominent. Fights break out very often and unfortunately it seems to become more visible as the years go by. From a parent's perspective the teachers and education offered here are advanced and very privileged. Don't get me wrong it is a very good school education wise. But the percentage of very successful students here feels as if it is outnumbered by the amount of failing and under-achieving students. There is a feel of no pride or boasting compared to many other schools in the area, such as HHH West and St. Anthony's because there is a decreasing performance coming from most sports teams. I feel the education is very well taught here, but it lacks socially.

Half Hollow Hills High School East 3

Posted February 13, 2009
- a parent
It's not all it's cracked up to be. If the student is to succeed he/she will be self-motivated and come from a caring ,loving ,and involved family. That will hold true regaurdless of what school that student attends.Some schools are more polished than others but that is not the driving force, it's the love and involment of the parents.

Half Hollow Hills High School East 5

Posted January 10, 2009
- a parent
Half Hollow Hills East is a fine school, among the best on long island. It offers great sports, has the second largest auditorium in suffolk and a student body of 1800. THis is one of those schools, students out side of long island look at in awe. The school has purchased new Macs for the computer labs, has hired several more teachers and follows an improved code in dealing with drugs. Some of the finest leaders/college students come from hse.


Half Hollow Hills High School East 4

Posted September 07, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Half Hollow Hills High School East 0
no rating

Posted February 17, 2008
- a parent
Thanks to the new principal, the school has become less tolerant of disruptive behavior. I thought of not sending my children to East because of the lack of control and discipline of the students in the past, however, with the new administration, I feel confident in sending them.

Half Hollow Hills High School East 5

Posted May 24, 2007
- a student
Hills East is a place that offers students the ability to excel and achieve high academic goals but lacks in infusing less driven students with the motivation to utilize these resources. The school is very divided between the honors kids and the regular track students. The guidance department at Hills East is spectacular, especially during the college admissions process. Just like all other high schools, East has its flaws but generally speaking it is much better at providing students with a high quality education than most other schools in the Long Island area.


Half Hollow Hills High School East 5

Posted June 01, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Half Hollow Hills High School East 4

Posted April 29, 2006
- a parent
The school district on a whole has a high quality of academic standard. There is not enough diversity among faculty and there are not enough mentors. They have to come up with quick resources to change the behaviors early on and try to find somethng beside inhome suspension as a way to handle these issues. Intervention is needed, mediation & conflict resolution and maybe public volunteering or intro to the court systems would prepare students to be aware of consequences. We need mentors, after school programs beside the malls.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Half Hollow Hills High School East
50 Vanderbilt Parkway, Dix Hills, NY  11746
(631) 592-3100
Last modified Half Hollow Hills High School East is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Half Hollow Hills High School East Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top