Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Upper Room Christian School

Private | K-12 | 310 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Dix Hills

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $383,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,780.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 27, 2013

Upper Room Christian School provided my two daughters with an excellent Christian education that prepared them to go to outstanding colleges and become women of God.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2013

I sent all four of my children to this school and am thoroughly pleased with the outcome. Not only were my children prepared for college but more importantly, they were prepared for life! No regrets!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2012

I do not recommend this school to anyone. I had my daughter in this school for exactly 60 days, and that was more than enough. The principal was very rude and the 1st grade teacher was not someone who I would want teaching my child. I know this is said to be a christian school, but I question the values of some of the staff. The only thing they seemed to be concerned with was money.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2011

I am very disappointed with my experience here. I cant tell you what happen with this school, but it is not good. Broken equipment, cold building, no lunch, or breakfast is provided and it seems like the only thing that is happen it the money is going in the school pocket. the kids are rude to the teachers, the are caught cursing and being so disrespectful
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2007

I have had my children in the school for years, from elementary through high school. My children love the school and are challenged by the curriculum. They have stayed close to their friends and miss school during the summer. The teachers have been amazing, and even the elementary teachers have stayed close with their former students throughout the years, encouraging my children to visit, and offering their continued mentoring long after leaving their grade. A Christian School with an excellent program is difficult to find, but I have found it here. The administration encourages involvement and is always accessible. For a small school, the music and arts program is excellent and constantly growing, and the sports program is top notch. I would recommend this school to anyone. I have seen many students graduate, and these children are getting into the schools and fields of their choice, with scholarship money awarded.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2006

This is the first year for my 5th grade level niece. So far she and my family rave about the school. The curriculum seems challenging(which is great). She is taking advantage of the wonderful music department by taking vocal and piano lessons. So far I'm a fan.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2006

If you're lokking for a good christian school i would definitely say go to urcs all my children attend urcs the teachers are great and they have a wonderfull staff.Keep up the good work .God bless.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2006

The curriculum is not challenging and there is favoritism when it comes to non-Upper Room church members.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2004

A once 'well kept secret', the word is out on URCS! A place where children can increase in wisdom and stature and in favor with God and man. Small classes, caring teachers, very safe environment. Our first year, but not our last at URCS. Then enrollment now is almost 300.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted August 26, 2003

Upper Room is like another family. They take care of the students like they are there own.The relationships you build with each other last a life time. I think Upper Room is better then a public school because its more like one to one teaching. This is a great place to send your children for school.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 60% 21%
Hispanic 20% 21%
White 11% 52%
Two or more races 4% N/A
Asian 3% N/A
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 3% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Other health impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Dance

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:10 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Gregory P. Eck
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (631) 586-2796

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
  • Special education
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Other health impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Dance
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

722 Deer Park Road
Dix Hills, NY 11746
Website: Click here
Phone: (631) 242-5359

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT