Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-12|Private
200 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 24 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Upper Room Christian School 3

Posted December 10, 2015
- a parent
I have been dealing with Upper Room for some years now and it seems like the school is changing for the worse. There is no diversity of teachers and it seems like it's a family thing. You have the husband - Gregory Eck (Head Master) , then his wife, then his daughter and her husband. How can there be an unbiased result when they would take up for each other because that is what family does. At this point really considering other schools where this is diversity.

Upper Room Christian School
Develops grit: Agree

Posted December 10, 2015
- a parent
The school main activity is the Arts so they strive to be the best in all you do.


Upper Room Christian School
Develops respect: Agree

Posted December 10, 2015
- a parent
The children are taught the love of GOD and to put him first in all you do.

Upper Room Christian School
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted December 10, 2015
- a parent
Not sure. There seems to be good children there but children are able to act one way in the front of their parents.

Upper Room Christian School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted December 10, 2015
- a parent
No. The teachers are all related to someone in the school. This school deficiency displays nepotism.


Upper Room Christian School 5

Posted July 27, 2013
- a parent
Upper Room Christian School provided my two daughters with an excellent Christian education that prepared them to go to outstanding colleges and become women of God.

Upper Room Christian School 5

Posted April 28, 2013
- a parent
I sent all four of my children to this school and am thoroughly pleased with the outcome. Not only were my children prepared for college but more importantly, they were prepared for life! No regrets!!

Upper Room Christian School 1

Posted July 23, 2012
- a parent
I do not recommend this school to anyone. I had my daughter in this school for exactly 60 days, and that was more than enough. The principal was very rude and the 1st grade teacher was not someone who I would want teaching my child. I know this is said to be a christian school, but I question the values of some of the staff. The only thing they seemed to be concerned with was money.


Upper Room Christian School 1

Posted February 04, 2011
- a parent
I am very disappointed with my experience here. I cant tell you what happen with this school, but it is not good. Broken equipment, cold building, no lunch, or breakfast is provided and it seems like the only thing that is happen it the money is going in the school pocket. the kids are rude to the teachers, the are caught cursing and being so disrespectful

Upper Room Christian School 5

Posted September 23, 2007
- a parent
I have had my children in the school for years, from elementary through high school. My children love the school and are challenged by the curriculum. They have stayed close to their friends and miss school during the summer. The teachers have been amazing, and even the elementary teachers have stayed close with their former students throughout the years, encouraging my children to visit, and offering their continued mentoring long after leaving their grade. A Christian School with an excellent program is difficult to find, but I have found it here. The administration encourages involvement and is always accessible. For a small school, the music and arts program is excellent and constantly growing, and the sports program is top notch. I would recommend this school to anyone. I have seen many students graduate, and these children are getting into the schools and fields of their choice, with scholarship money awarded.

Nearby schools

Upper Room Christian School
722 Deer Park Road, Dix Hills, NY  11746
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. (631) 242-5359
Last modified Upper Room Christian School is a Private school that serves grades K-12
Top