Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

East Aurora High School

Public | 9-12 | 668 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 27, 2013

As an EAHS alumni, I feel strongly that EAHS is an acceptable school. However, when I arrived at college, I felt ill prepared and lost academically. I could not compose an essay effectively. I could not handle the demands of an academic school and I believe this contributed to my struggle during my freshman year in college. (No, I did not go to school to party or pledge a sorority. I went for an education!) EAHS is small. It is a school that is highly focused on offering all sports possible and unfortunately not performing any of them spectacularly. I do not believe the school is focused on education. Nor do I believe that it is sympathetic of seniors who wish to be challenged through graduation. Seniors are often left with such a light schedule that it is like they are in limbo between high school and college. It's too bad that the district does not wish to push seniors to be stronger academically and serve them better in the transition to college. I have three children coming up in the district. I have great reservations about sending them to the high school. It's a shame because Parkdale Elementary is wonderful and the middle school is outstanding.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2012

East Aurora High School offers the kind of high school experience many parents wish to give their children. The schools are a wonderful aspect of living in East Aurora, which is a town that prides itself in having a strong sense of community and positive social values. The students are educated well. A wide range of courses and extra-curricular opportunities are available. Upon graduation, more than 90% of the students attend college. I recommend the school highly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 30, 2008

As a recent EAHS graduate I am proud to say that I went to a NYS public high school. I attend college out of state and when I compare my education to that of my peers, I can see that I am at an advantage. Of course there are some downfalls. There is a clear lack of diversity at the high school, which refects upon the lack of diversity in the town and general area itself. There are many activities for students to get involved in, such as sports, music, theater, and clubs. The staff is, in general, supportive and willing to help those who put in the effort. I did notice that a lot of the curriculum is designed for 'numbers' AP program participants are required to take the exam, for instance. Otherwise, I believe that East Aurora Schools are an excellent plact to recieve a high school diploma.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 23, 2007

I am a recent East Aurora High School graduate and have found how much I learned at EAHS compared to students who went to other schools. The education at EAHS, and just the East Aurora School District in general, is so much more advanced compared to other schools in the state. While the high school is a bit cliquey, you will get that in any school. The teachers in most of the departments are great. The Art Department at EAHS is one of the best high school Art Departments in the area, if not in NYS. It seems as though EAHS is constantly expanding their curriculum to adapt to the changing times. Parent involvement at the high school is a bit low, but parents really should not be involved too much after middle school. The administration really does not help solve problems and are not open to change.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 4, 2006

I am a parent of two children in the High School. In my opinion, the High School has offered a very high quality education. My children have had the opportunity to take many AP courses, along with the standard curriculum. The teaching staff has been excellent. I have found them to be very motivating and always available for extra help. The music department offers Concert Band, an award winning Jazz Band, Orchestra, and Chorus. They include a very dedicated and fine staff. In addition to the academic side, the sports teams, plays, and numerous clubs give the opportunity for kids to broaden their horizons and get involved. No school is perfect and for the most part any child gets the most out of their education with exactly what they put into it... at East Aurora they have the chance to learn, grow, and have fun.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2005

I'm an EAHS grad, and I'm proud to be one. I feel that the teachers have provided me with an unbeatable education.I went on to an Ivy League school and plan to send my son to EAHS some day.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 25, 2005

I am an EA grad, and I hate to say it, but this school and town has changed so much since I've been there. The quality of students has gone down as you can see by the % that have enrolled in a 4 year college. One thing that is great with EA, is the number of extra-curricular activities the school offers. Now, if the parents in EA would motivate there children a little more to participate, then EA would not have so many problems. The leadership by the management is not good as you can see by going to sporting events. The principal use to be at every event, and now you are lucky if you see him at 1 a season.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 25, 2004

I am a student of East Aurora. We are a great school with alot of extracurricular activities. We have some of the best swim and cross country teams in the state. The guys swim team has had the ECIC division title for 36 years. Even though we have a rep as being a bad town it is just over played by everything else in the news. But other than that we are a good school that is somewhat diverse but without all of the fighting that usually comes of diversity.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra II/Trigonometry

The state average for Algebra II/Trigonometry was 64% in 2012.

152 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
85%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 78% in 2012.

150 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
95%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 73% in 2012.

98 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
97%
English

The state average for English was 82% in 2012.

194 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%
French

The state average for French was 95% in 2011.

38 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
98%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2012.

148 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
98%
Global History and Geography

The state average for Global History and Geography was 71% in 2012.

175 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
96%
Integrated Algebra

The state average for Integrated Algebra was 72% in 2012.

111 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
98%
Italian

The state average for Italian was 98% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Living Environment

The state average for Living Environment was 78% in 2012.

146 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 79% in 2012.

73 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
93%
Spanish

The state average for Spanish was 94% in 2011.

77 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 79% in 2012.

196 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
98%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Algebra II/Trigonometry

All Students85%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a

Chemistry

All Students98%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a

Earth Science

All Students99%
Students with disabilities100%
General population99%

English

All Students100%
Students with disabilities93%
General population100%

Geometry

All Students100%
Students with disabilities86%
General population100%

Global History and Geography

All Students93%
Students with disabilities70%
General population94%

Integrated Algebra

All Students97%
Students with disabilities78%
General population99%

Living Environment

All Students100%
Students with disabilities100%
General population100%

Physics

All Students87%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a

U.S. History and Government

All Students99%
Students with disabilities100%
General population100%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 97% 48%
Asian 1% 9%
Black 1% 19%
Hispanic 1% 23%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 0%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 4%N/A43%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 2%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 12%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1003 Center St
East Aurora, NY 14052
Phone: (716) 687-2505

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

The Gow School
South Wales, NY


Orchard Park High School
Orchard Park, NY






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT