Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
East Greenbush, NY
Students enrolled: 1,357
 

3 stars
Based on 16 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

10 reviews of this school


Columbia High School 5

Posted July 04, 2013
- a student
It is interesting to note that, in the school comparisons, the students rated Columbia below Rensselaer, but in every category of Regents test scores, Columbia far outshines Rensselaer

Columbia High School 4

Posted September 29, 2012
- a student
I graduated from CHS, got into a top 10 university, went on for more schooling, make a great deal of money, and continue the healthy lifestyle fostered by the athletics programs at CHS. Perhaps those with complaints should have tried a bit harder.


Columbia High School 3

Posted February 10, 2012
- a student
Some of Columbia's most prominent flaws are issues with drugs and fights on campus (there have been MANY ineffective anti-bullying assemblies), hallways that are ridiculously crowded and narrow, and an overall lack of motivation of the students. If you are not involved in sports, this is probably not the school for you - that is their main focus here. Generally the teachers are great and helpful both during and outside of school, but the small amount of dedicated students sometimes fall behind due to the other, less inspired students who cause the teachers to have to stop during their lessons to reprimand. The classes are decent, and the school does offer a fair amount of extra curriculars. The sports programs are great, which is where the majority of the budget goes, and the music and theater department is good as well.

Columbia High School 3

Posted January 21, 2010
- a student
while there are large classes, small hallways and some terrible teacher i have to admit that they do have some amazingly kind and devoted teachers and some really interesting electives and classes when the teahers allow for the environment to be plesant

Columbia High School
no rating

Posted December 11, 2008
- a parent
I am a long time resident of the East Greenbush School District, I and my siblings all graduated from Columbia & both my daughters attended the school. I must say since I left Columbia & the time my daughters entered the administration has gone downhill! There are more school 'monitors' and 'enforcers' for the principal than I have ever seen! Even the teachers are afraid! You want to cut taxes - get rid of those people & the principal and let the true educators take charge!


Columbia High School 5

Posted September 04, 2008
- a parent
I'm surprised at some of the negative comments. My daughter graduated in June with an Advanced Regents diploma and began college with transferable college level credits she earned before she left high school. She was well prepared for both college and the workforce and she's doing both successfully due to the awesome educators at Columbia. In four years, and many teachers, I have NEVER not received a response! I have had very positive experiences, my daughter loved going there every day and got a great education.

Columbia High School
no rating

Posted September 03, 2008
- a parent
My child is entering his 3rd year in columbis starting tomorrow. He doesnt have the best things to say about the school, its teachers or it administrators. When i tried to contact teachers i would never get calls back or if by ria email i would never recieve a email back. They do nothing to further the education of there kids, b/c they are put into a enviornment that is not healthy for them. The teachers are not good at their jobs and arent availabe as much as they should be for the amount of taxes we pay. The hallways are half the size of the hallways of schools in nearby areas. My child is not at all excited to be going back tomorrow and at one time he liked school. Since going to columbia he has not. He still has the same friends, and is still smart and popular.

Columbia High School 1

Posted November 09, 2007
- a student
The school is way to small for the amount of students. Teachers show no enthusiasm in the students and teaching them.


Columbia High School 2

Posted June 07, 2007
- a parent
There is too much focus on testing and a lack of respect for the individual student. Teachers seem to be overwhelmed and show little interest in helping students. There is a lack of confidentiality and an abundance of discriminary and prejudicial attitudes. I am happy to say my children will be attending another school in the fall.

Columbia High School 2

Posted September 24, 2005
- a student
The school was just redone and it is still to small for the amount of kids they have. Some of the clases have over 30 kids per teacher.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.
We're sorry, but this feature is no longer supported. If you'd like to share your experiences at this school, please write a review.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Columbia High School
962 Luther Road, East Greenbush, NY  12061
(518) 207-2010
Last modified Columbia High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Columbia High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top