Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 16 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Howard L Goff School 5

Posted October 30, 2014
- a community member
At the moment I am in 7th grade. The modified teams are amazing for young athletes. The pure leadership club is a honor. Student of the month is also a honor. We have many students here at goff middle school. There are so cliques but most of us blend in all together. There isn't to much drama. There are some people who aim to start drama but I'm not one. I count myself as a outsider who comes in once in a while. I am in a (squad) of about 45 students. The teachers are amazing , they understand you. At the moment I'm suppose to be studying for a social studies test.... But here is some information from a student.

Howard L Goff School 5

Posted July 03, 2011
- a community member
Amazing teachers. Amazing programs. The staff at this school try their hardest and take time out of their days to help their students succeed.


Howard L Goff School 5

Posted April 24, 2009
- a parent
First off the Goff Gone Green group won $10,000 for ther efforts to make the school even more green than it already is with its solar panel and great recycling programs.Goff is a great school with great teachers. The only bad thing is the terrible sports teams East Greenbush has year after year. Miss. Webster is a great science teacher and diserves to stay at Goff for a long time.

Howard L Goff School 3

Posted December 23, 2008
- a student
I am a student at Goff Middle school. It is my last year here, and i am not satisfied with my learning experience. The teachers here are boring, though there are a few exceptions. I previously attended Menands Elementary School and although the population was less than one third of what Goff is, the teachers there were more focoused on the enjoyment, interaction, and education of the students. Ive been at Goff since the 6th grade, and ever since then ive realized the amount of boredom there is here. Every single one of my friends agrees that they would pay attention in class more if it was more exciting; therefore they would get better grades. The teachers blame the poor grades we recieve on us, though they do not realize that it is in fact them.

Howard L Goff School 5

Posted August 21, 2007
- a student
i was a student there, im now going into high school but i remember alot of really fun times at goff! the teachers are nice, the classes are good, and the field trips for natures classroom (6th grade), philidalphia (7th grade) and washington d.c. (8th grade) were just plain awesome!


Howard L Goff School 5

Posted November 08, 2005
- a parent
This school is great for working with children. They focus on academics first and encourage sports and/or art programs to keep children interested. I am very happy with the teachers I have been involved with.

Howard L Goff School 5

Posted March 14, 2004
- a community member
After reading the previous comments I needed to respond. I have a friend who has a child with special needs & the Goff staff & administration, along with the District PPS has gone above and beyond to see that his child got the support he needed. I have spoken to other parents who feel the same. Hooray Goff..Keep up the good work.

Howard L Goff School 1

Posted March 09, 2004
- a parent
After 3 years of tireless attempts to get my struggling, often failing, child help, I've come to realize this is not of importance in Goff Middle School .As for the issue of parent participation, I have had very negative experiences. This school never admits its something they're not doing, rather they try to convince you it's your fault or the fault of your child. Even though an evaluation was done on my child to assess needs, this school did everything they could to make sure no help was given! (ie:Informal testing=no responsibility for the school). Anyone who has had the displeasure of having their child evaluated in Goff will understand the difference between 'formal' and 'informal'testing. Informal is given when a child tests with the need for help, but the school does not want to give extra help! That sums up the philosophy of Goff Middle School. In the event they put the students needs first, then perhaps our children will have a happier experience.


Howard L Goff School 3

Posted November 16, 2003
- a parent
Goff has the potential to become an outstanding school, with a 100% change in administration recently. There are some wonderful and caring staff and administration. Parent participation is at an all time high, despite some adversity in this area. Unfortunately, there are many faculty with serious attitude problems, and they tend to drag the others down, creating morale problems and an overall negative atmosphere. There are too many who harshly criticize and even ridicule colleagues and parents for trying new things to make the school a better place. This issue of attitude and providing a safe, nurturing learning environment is the key to student success. Goff is at a turning point.

Howard L Goff School 1

Posted August 11, 2003
- a parent
To give you an idea of how we feel about Goff, we plan on moving just to get out of this school district. If you have a child with a learning disability they will get no structured help for the 3 years they are there. I would not recommend this district to my worst enemy!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Howard L Goff School
35 Gilligan Road, East Greenbush, NY  12061
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. (518) 207-2430
Last modified Howard L Goff School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top