Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 21 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Barnum Woods School 5

Posted April 08, 2014
- a parent
The teachers are wonderful, and have shown a genuine interest in my child's progress. However, I have serious reservations about the Principal, for a variety of reasons. Follow through and communication are minimal on his part, and he seems to follow directly along with the Superintendent, who is TERRIBLE.

Barnum Woods School 5

Posted June 16, 2011
- a parent
This school is tops. Very good all around, Simply the best. Very good learning environment. Extremely safe. Creates well rounded students. Truly #1.


Barnum Woods School
no rating

Posted April 24, 2010
- a parent
This school holds a high standard for academic and personal excellence! They are fair and understanding to all. The staff is wonderful! I am proud to say my children attend Barnum Woods

Barnum Woods School
no rating

Posted September 05, 2009
- a parent
I love Barnum Woods!!! They have wonderful teachers and a Principal who is dilligent and caring. The children learn in a friendly, fun environment. The PTA is dedicated and involved. I'm looking forward to a wonderful year ahead.

Barnum Woods School
no rating

Posted December 04, 2008
- a parent
My son attended this school and he couldn't have had a better experience. He excelled and thanks to Barnum, he is extremely prepared for Middle School. My daughter is a 4th grader and loves her teachers, Principal, Vice Principal, etc. She will also be fully ready for Middle School, academicly, mentally and physically.


Barnum Woods School
no rating

Posted August 24, 2008
- a parent
This is my son's third year and every teacher I got was one better than the next. I love it!!! I was a class parent and I got to see from the inside. They are dedicated, caring teachers. Especially Mrs. Kelleher and Mrs. Pelo.

Barnum Woods School 5

Posted August 21, 2008
- a parent
barnum is a great comunity and takes action and responcibility for the kids and that is what i like to see out of my kids

Barnum Woods School
no rating

Posted April 14, 2008
- a parent
Barnum Woods is a good school but in order to be more competitive with other schools, they need to start with full day kindergarten because most 5 yr olds are ready for it and it starts them reading and learning more at an earlier age. Parents have to do their share of teaching also at home. en


Barnum Woods School 3

Posted July 10, 2006
- a parent
I am very disappointed with Barnum Woods Zero Tolerance of bullies. They do tolerate it and issues do not get resolved, they are swept under the carpet. We have had great teachers there, don't get me wrong, it's the overall system that is a problem.

Barnum Woods School 3

Posted June 13, 2006
- a parent
Barnum Woods consistently delivers a mediocre education, mainly due to the hiring practices of the teachers. Not to impune the enitre stafee, but over the last 3 decades, the teachers and their abilities have been questionable at best

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Barnum Woods School
500 May Lane, East Meadow, NY  11554
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. (516) 564-6500
Last modified Barnum Woods School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top