Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 27 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Mcvey Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 24, 2016
- a community member
Ms Eppinger has always shown great charm and optimism in dealing with all her children. She always has extra time for a child even if the child stops her on her way to her automobile. She is encouraging and obviously does a great job in imparting information via her teaching skills

Mcvey Elementary School 5

Posted May 20, 2015
- a parent
My daughter currently attend first grade and also first year at McVey, its academic curriculum is excellence, they makes students work hard and I expect my daughter to work hard as well. The teachers willing to help if needed, and they answer questions promptly, very appreciated. In the future, the whole school district might have full day kindergarten program, which has just been voted but no result yet, hope many people in East Meadow voted YES so my two younger daughters could attend.


Mcvey Elementary School 5

Posted February 03, 2014
- a parent
My wife, son and I Love the school and its academic program. Great teachers and staff!!

Mcvey Elementary School 5

Posted November 02, 2012
- a parent
As a family this McVey has been a wonderful experience. Our daughter loves the school, teacher and classmates. I always feel informed and Principal and Vice Principal are a great duo. This school offers a veriety of extra activities that other schools lack with special programs like music and art. One of the best school ratings for math and science in Long Island.

Mcvey Elementary School
no rating

Posted April 21, 2010
- a parent
The education is very personalized and the staff are all very professional, helpful, and educated.


Mcvey Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 06, 2009
- a parent
The only drawback is with Kindergarden, it should be longer. We had pre-k elsewhere longer and then to come to Elementary school and it is shorter just wasnt right. My son then had to make a very big adjustment to 1st grade being so many hours that he hated school and I had a very hard time with him all year. Pre-K was 4 hrs., Kindergarden was 2 1/2 and then 1st grade is 6 hrs. This needs to change for the future children to adjust better. I personally dont have any young ones left, but I feel for the new children and it should change to benefit everyone.

Mcvey Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 03, 2009
- a parent
My son had some inspirational teachers there.

Mcvey Elementary School 5

Posted January 04, 2008
- a parent
Great school! Amazing learning enironment, faculty, and disciplinary rules.


Mcvey Elementary School 5

Posted June 02, 2007
- a parent
The teachers are amazing my kid has never been in a better school. All of the teachers are concerned with my child's problems and issues. They also tutor my kids when they need extra help.

Mcvey Elementary School 5

Posted November 03, 2006
- a parent
I have 3 kids in mcvey and i couldnt be happier. all the teachers weve had are very caring, and knowledgeable. They have a fantastic gifted program,band and orchestra. One thing thats good is they encourage parent involvment. I would reccomend mcvey to everyone.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mcvey Elementary School
2201 Devon Street, East Meadow, NY  11554
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. (516) 228-5300
Last modified Mcvey Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top