Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public
East Meadow, NY
Students enrolled: 650
Before care: No
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


19 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Mcvey Elementary School 5

Posted February 03, 2014
- a parent
My wife, son and I Love the school and its academic program. Great teachers and staff!!

Mcvey Elementary School 5

Posted November 02, 2012
- a parent
As a family this McVey has been a wonderful experience. Our daughter loves the school, teacher and classmates. I always feel informed and Principal and Vice Principal are a great duo. This school offers a veriety of extra activities that other schools lack with special programs like music and art. One of the best school ratings for math and science in Long Island.


Mcvey Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 21, 2010
- a parent
The education is very personalized and the staff are all very professional, helpful, and educated.

Mcvey Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 06, 2009
- a parent
The only drawback is with Kindergarden, it should be longer. We had pre-k elsewhere longer and then to come to Elementary school and it is shorter just wasnt right. My son then had to make a very big adjustment to 1st grade being so many hours that he hated school and I had a very hard time with him all year. Pre-K was 4 hrs., Kindergarden was 2 1/2 and then 1st grade is 6 hrs. This needs to change for the future children to adjust better. I personally dont have any young ones left, but I feel for the new children and it should change to benefit everyone.

Mcvey Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 03, 2009
- a parent
My son had some inspirational teachers there.


Mcvey Elementary School 5

Posted January 04, 2008
- a parent
Great school! Amazing learning enironment, faculty, and disciplinary rules.

Mcvey Elementary School 3

Posted September 01, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Mcvey Elementary School 2

Posted June 27, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Mcvey Elementary School 5

Posted June 02, 2007
- a parent
The teachers are amazing my kid has never been in a better school. All of the teachers are concerned with my child's problems and issues. They also tutor my kids when they need extra help.

Mcvey Elementary School 5

Posted November 03, 2006
- a parent
I have 3 kids in mcvey and i couldnt be happier. all the teachers weve had are very caring, and knowledgeable. They have a fantastic gifted program,band and orchestra. One thing thats good is they encourage parent involvment. I would reccomend mcvey to everyone.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mcvey Elementary School
2201 Devon Street, East Meadow, NY  11554
(516) 228-5300
Last modified Mcvey Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Mcvey Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top