Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

William E Cottle School

Public | K-5 & ungraded | 549 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Saturday, September 27, 2014

The school is nice and has an awesome PTA program. Parents are well informed of their child's progress. The kindergarten class was a bit big (25 kids with 1 teacher and 1 aid). They solved that problem by getting another aid to assist. There is a good after school program as well. The school is very nice for small public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2014

I think Cottle is a hidden gem. So many people rave about other more prestigious school districts but I wouldn't want my children anywhere but Cottle. It is a wonderful school and community, I couldn't be happier with the teachers, the kids and other parents I've met in the last 2 years. Someone remarked to me that it's a private school experience in a public school since there are on average 80-90 kids per grade and everyone knows each other. It's truly a special school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2012

My daughter goes to Cottle School and she loves it! The school provides a safe and nurturing environment for the kids to learn and grow in many fun ways. The teachers are nice and experienced, and the curriculum is rich and lively. We are very happy about the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2012

I love this school and so does my child! It is a great school for all children, iincluding special needs students. It is a small school where all of the administration and staff focus on making everyone feel a part of this community. There is lots done to prevent bullying such as workshops and programs for all students to learn about bullying prevention. Any issues are handled promptly. They focus on academics but also educating the whole child. Lots of special programs throughout the year for all students and plenty of ways for parents to get involved. Its a great school and a wonderful, diverse community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2010

W. E. Cottle is a small very community/family oriented school. The school allows the parents to be involved in their childrens education. It offers many enrichment programs. music, art, sports and dance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2010

We just moved into Eastchester late last year. I was a bit apprehensive moving my daughter to a new school in the middle of the school year. MY daughter loves Cottle School. She attended mini courses (Jr. Explorer and Arts.Crafts). The school's kindergarten program has a very good handwriting program. Also, the teachers strongly emphasize on children's reading . I am very satisfied with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2009

Wonderful school; great community; excellent teachers and administration. If one word could be used to describe Cottle and the Tuckahoe Schools it would be nurturing. I feel lucky to have my son and daughte in such a great, caring learning environment. Test scores are great and high school students take SAT courses in verbal and math to help them get their scores up! Although my children are still in Cottle, I'm happy my taxes are paying for students to prepare for the SATs and college instead of taking study halls. Back to Cottle- there are lots of after school activities including an active drama club for the students, an active PTA, involved parents and an involved community. School spirit is great. Tuckahoe is the place to be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2004

Cottle is a wonderful school. My son was in another school district for 2 years. The other school had better NYS test scores, but I believe they achieved that by drilling the students, rather than teaching them to learn. My son did not do well, he fell behind and was always afraid of failure. The school did nothing to help him. Cottle focuses on the individual. The teachers at Cottle found my son's strengths and focused the learning process around them. My son is bright and is achieving high test scores now. He has flourished academically and socially. He is more outgoing and loves to learn now. The small school environment allows everyone to get to know one another, and provides the students with more resources. Many schools these days are overcrowded and cutting resources, Cottle has the advantage of providing more for the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 29, 2004

My children age 5 and 7 love this school. The teachers are very knowlegeable in the subject matter they teach. The teachers are caring and concerned for their students. They also have high standards and expectations. This school has a terrific morning and after school program called T.A.S.C.. There are many 'mimi courses' offered throughout the school year as extra-curricular activities. The school also offers many opportunities for the parents to visit, or get involved in, the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 32% in 2014.

92 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
85%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

93 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2014.

83 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

85 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2014.

69 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
76%
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

67 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 2 70% 48%
Hispanic 2 12% 23%
Black 1 10% 19%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 7% 9%
Two or more races 1 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 11%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 9%N/A43%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 0%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 63%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. GEORGE ALBANO

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2 Siwanoy Blvd
Eastchester, NY 10707
Phone: (914) 337-5376

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

The Chapel School
Bronxville, NY


Chapel School (The)
Bronxville, NY





St. Joseph School
Bronxville, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT