Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
19 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 25 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Eastchester Senior High School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted November 20, 2015
- a parent
They teach in class and follow up with enough practice at home, leaving time for othet subjects and family time.

Eastchester Senior High School
Develops grit: Agree

Posted November 20, 2015
- a parent
Yes i believe eastchester schoosl do try to teach its student body to strive for excellence and to not give up.


Eastchester Senior High School
Develops respect: Agree

Posted November 20, 2015
- a parent
I think that as long as you dont get a teacher who is inappropriate in their dress or language yes respect can be developed in the students while they are in each class.

Eastchester Senior High School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted November 20, 2015
- a parent
A lot of the parents are emotinally disconnected from the students and it comes out in school when my daughter is offered drugs or pressured to date or do sexual acts. Some may say this is normal but not in my house is it ever considered normal.

Eastchester Senior High School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted November 20, 2015
- a parent
The kids arent taught to care for themselves or each other. My daughter was bullied until i made her understand she had to fend for herself and i had to help the counselor see i wasnt going to tolerate her sitting on her hands whilst this went on.


Eastchester Senior High School 3

Posted November 20, 2015
- a parent
The eastchester school district is an average school district. Its good as far as providing a good academic learning atmosphere-the teachers can teach and have control over their classes. Alot of the students are a direct reflection of their parents-opinionated and unhappy but Im grateful my kids arent that way. our experience was ok there. I dealt with a couple of difficult teachers but I let them know that how they're treating my kid wasnt good enough and that all stopped, just like any where. Your students will get a good education here. You just have to let the teachers know you wont tolerate any favortism or alienation when it comes to your kid and all will be fine. Its just another average school in new york state. Would i reccommend it? As long as you're no pushover.

Eastchester Senior High School 5

Posted February 07, 2015
- a parent
My 3 children have had an excellent experience in Eastchester School District. Waverly K-1; Greenvale Elementary 2-5; Eastchester MS 6-8 and now in the high school. Great programs and teachers that are invested in their students. The enrichment programs, music department, athletics & academics - have all been wonderful.

Eastchester Senior High School 1

Posted September 27, 2014
- a community member
This school is the WORST. I don't know HOW it has 9 stars. Fox Lane has 8 stars, but several people have told me how wonderful Fox Lane High School is. My uncle, who is a teacher, has said that Fox Lane is a greaaaaaattttt school (emphasis on great). Eastchester students are raised to be very snotty, prejudice, and everything is chosen by who knows who. Jazz Co., for example, their afterschool dance club, holds favoritism. Only the people who have family members that know the teachers from when THEY went to school, get placed in the front. Also, the education is mediocre. The teachers don't care about the students, and the students don't care about each other. Whoever wrote these positive reviews must've wrote them 30 years ago, because they are definitely not accurate for the present. If you want a great community to start a family and great schools for your child(ren), send them to the Bedford Central School District. - a FORMER Eastchester Student


Eastchester Senior High School 5

Posted April 03, 2014
- a student
Eastchester High is a special place. Almost every teacher is concerned deeply about their students success, and every single one will work to help the student if the student approaches them. The student body is very spirited, and for the most part very studious and easy to fit in with. I've gone to Eastchester schools my whole life, and I wouldnt want it any other way.

Eastchester Senior High School 2

Posted March 05, 2014
- a community member
Eastchester Highschool has excellent teachers, but the administration is something left to be desired. Disorganized and unfair towards the student body.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Eastchester Senior High School
2 Stewart Place, Eastchester, NY  10709
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. (914) 793-6130
Last modified Eastchester Senior High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top