Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

5 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Waverly Early Childhood Center 3

Posted January 10, 2013
- a parent
Waverly is a very ambitious school, many times in a bad way. The first grade is many times inappropriately advanced, which affects children' progress negatively as they never quite grasp the advanced concepts and do poorer than they would normally do with the appropriate level work since they never get to focus enough on it. As a parent I constantly needed to deal with helping my kid acquire basic concepts that were brushed over by this school in their rush of accomplishing experts in writing and composition and mathematicians who can solve problems in at least five different ways. The so called parent-school partnership dumps on parents large part of the teaching not accomplished by school given their approach. There are kids who do well - Waverly's teachers love already taught older kids, after all their work is already done. The parental slap is issued for the others usually during the winter assessments - a nasty discussion meant to push parents to fill in for the teaching of the many concepts falling through the cracks of Waverly's education and pretentiousness. There is progress, but more and much more pleasantly would be achieved with the right programs and approach.

Waverly Early Childhood Center 3

Posted May 16, 2012
- a parent
Waverly has a great atmosphere and is child friendly. However, the school and teachers target average students and don't do anything to challenge bright students. The homework is a breeze for my son. I haven't seen any challenging homework. I am a teacher and have to supplement my son's homework daily. If your child is average, that might be a good place for him, but if your child is very smart, this is not the school that goes beyond average expectations.


Waverly Early Childhood Center 5

Posted August 02, 2008
- a community member
Eastchester has a great concept to keep the young children together and allow them to develop independently while still under the care of a nurturing environment. Waverly is amazing. I bought a home in Eastchester because of the reputation of the academic environment. The teachers and parents work together to make this the best experience for every child.

Waverly Early Childhood Center 5

Posted June 15, 2008
- a parent
My daughter started last year and she's had a great year. Responsible teachers and great structure for support in every part of school life. Everyday is a special day.

Waverly Early Childhood Center 5

Posted June 08, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Waverly Early Childhood Center 5

Posted December 19, 2007
- a parent
Superb teachers and great infrastructure.

Waverly Early Childhood Center 5

Posted September 18, 2006
- a parent
Well, my son has been at Waverly for only a few weeks, but when the weekends come he gets very sad. He wishes he had school seven days a week. The school is clean and very well equipped. They have the latest technology and books in every classroom. They are very organized, but continue to maintain a loving and nurturing environment. I feel so bless that my son will have such an outstanding education. I wish everyone could. I believe everyone should.

Waverly Early Childhood Center 5

Posted September 08, 2005
- a parent
Waverly is a wonderful, enriching environment. One of my children required special needs and has excelled beyond my expecations. She is now reading above grade level! My other child, who requires no special adaptations, has grown and matured and was nurtured at Waverly. The teachers and staff are truly remarkable and I feel blessed that my children went there.


Waverly Early Childhood Center 5

Posted February 04, 2005
- a parent
The academic programs at Waverly are top-notch. In addition to the core curriculum, it has music, art, gym and the PTA has recently arranged for afterschool activities. There is after school care until 6:30 p.m. at the local elementary school. The teachers and staff at Waverly are extremely qualified and attentive. The focus is definitely on building self-esteem and a love of learning. The parents are strongly encouraged to be involved in their children's education and an overwhelming percentage of parents participate in volunteering in the classroom, on trips, at fund raisers, etc. Construction was just completed on the school and it has a beautiful new wing. It is a beautiful school with wonderful children and teachers. I can't say enough good things about Waverly.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Waverly Early Childhood Center
45 Hall Ave, Eastchester, NY  10709
(914) 793-6130
Last modified Waverly Early Childhood Center is a Public school that serves grades K-1
Waverly Early Childhood Center Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top