Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-6
Public
Elmont, NY
Students enrolled: 437

4 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


John Street School 4

Posted April 28, 2014
- a parent
This school has a huge care and concern that children have an understanding to be caring and kind to one another. Education is key. But i can tell thst there is a balance for fun. My child is new to the school but never wants to miss a day. This truly makes my heart feel glad that we live in the Franklin Square School district. How a the school can improve is creating an environment for new kids to meet each other and somehow hear from new kids transitioning regularly and have more parent teacher conferences. It is relieving to know that my child's teacher will take the time to meet with me or will call when I do have a concern.

John Street School 2

Posted March 23, 2014
- a parent
The teachers and staff are very nice! The CPSE and CSE board are all about how to save the money on the services for the special needs kids! My child has severe autism and instead of increasing services they are decreasing them. God forbid if you ask them for additional services they shoot you down immediately! They are not equipped for the autistic they don't have the facility to teach them daily living skills which is more important than the ABC's.


John Street School 4

Posted July 14, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

John Street School 2

Posted July 12, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

John Street School 5

Posted May 19, 2009
- a student
today is the spring concert!!!!!!im in T.A.G in this school and its awsome!!!!!!!!!!!


John Street School 5

Posted December 01, 2008
- a parent
I love this school. Three of my kids graduated years ago. I have one in there now.

John Street School 4

Posted September 29, 2005
- a parent
My older children attended John Street School. I felt that they had gotten an excellent education, which prepared them for middle school and beyond.

John Street School 5

Posted April 01, 2005
- a parent
I have a child who will be leaving John St School this year to go onto High School. I have to say that he received an excellent education, has mastered the saxophone, and has been involved in the 'TAG' Talented and Gifted Program at the school. The school has wonderful resources for students from special needs to the gifted. As in any other situation, you like some teachers more than others, but on the whole, it has been a pleasure having my son go from Kindergarden to 6th grade here. I also have a daughter who is currently in the 4th grade at John Street. She too is receiving an excellent education at John St. The PTA is very active in all areas involving a large percentage of the parents. From pumpkin patches,book fairs,bringing in authors, astronauts, hosting a career day, etc it's been a wonderful place for both of my children.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

John Street School
560 Nassau Street, Elmont, NY  11003
(516) 505-6955
Last modified John Street School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
John Street School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top