Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
7-12
Public
Elmsford, NY
Students enrolled: 395

3 stars
Based on 22 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


26 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Alexander Hamilton High School 1

Posted June 11, 2014
- a community member
Some teachers at this school have no clue what their doing for example the Spanish 2 teachers 2014 they succckkk. One of the Spanish 2 teacher completely ruined Spanish for me,i wasn't alone it was the entire class......when we told him about his teaching methods he said that it wasn't the first time he had students complain about his teaching. His name begins with a D. The messed up part about all of this is going and complaining to your counselor, constantly telling him that the teacher is bad and him not being able to do anything..

Alexander Hamilton High School 4

Posted August 23, 2013
- a community member
My school is the best! It the most amazing staff, people, and facilities even if they aren't as big as some other schools. No matter what anyone else says I love Alexander High School and everyone that is a part of it!!!


Alexander Hamilton High School 4

Posted August 22, 2013
- a parent
This school has made some significant changes over the last few years. It has become a school to be proud of. My honor student is taking some very challenging classes. All the teachers I have encountered seem to be enthusiastic about teaching and push the students. Hamilton is moving in the right direction. The principal can proudly take the credit for a job well done.

Alexander Hamilton High School 5

Posted August 22, 2013
- a parent
More is being done now for the children and their future than at any time in the recent past!

Alexander Hamilton High School 5

Posted March 24, 2013
- a parent
The changes to AHHS over the past 4 years have been amazing. I have 2 children in the school and they are treated with care and compassion. The teachers are passionate and willing to go the extra mile. This is a huge change. The new principal is amazing and stands at the gate each morning greeting students and parents. The graduation rate has increased to 90%. I am so happy with the new direction the school has taken.


Alexander Hamilton High School 1

Posted May 30, 2012
- a parent
This was a great school but changes made since my youngest has been attending it has killed a great program. The teachers complain that administrators are making it difficult to provide a quality education and they shouldn't be talking about the problems to the students. The big problem is that reports show that the district reportedly spends a lot more money per student than even Scarsdale, but Elmsford the high school's report card is shameful.

Alexander Hamilton High School 1

Posted May 10, 2010
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Alexander Hamilton High School 0
no rating

Posted May 05, 2010
- a parent
I think given the size of this school the academic performance should be much better. The teachers make the difference and from what my child has experienced the teachers are not challenging the students and preparing them adequately. It is unfortunate it appears if some of the teachers really do not care whether or not the students sink or swim. The current pricipal seems to be trying. An overhaul of the teachers would be a good place to begin to make a difference.


Alexander Hamilton High School 0
no rating

Posted May 01, 2010
- a student
I am currently attending AHHS and I've been in the school district since the kindergarten. AHHS doesn't compare to many other high schools. Many programs have been cut and academics are failing. Teachers seem very little to care about the students. shore we have a great ratio of students to teachers, but what does that doesn't matter if you don't have teachers who really care about the students. I've been told many times by teachers that they could care less about lesson and they are just there for a paycheck. no student wants to hear something like that coming from a teacher, at least I don't. AHHS needs more programs activities, sports, and classes for the students. we offer much less than other schools do causing many parents to pull their children out of the school by 8th grade. AHHS needs to make big changes because the school is going down

Alexander Hamilton High School 5

Posted March 22, 2010
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Alexander Hamilton High School
98 South Goodwin Avenue, Elmsford, NY  10523
(914) 592-7311
Last modified Alexander Hamilton High School is a Public school that serves grades 7-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Alexander Hamilton High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. Top