Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Elwood John Glenn High School

Public | 9-12 | 844 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 18, 2014

The Worst school in the world! I an not kidding, I setup an appointment with the councilor and I had to reschedule it because he was "busy." Not only that all the staff are very hard to talk to because the way they act towards you. My Son has problems with 3 of his teachers and they are not his fault. They other students just learned to live with it. But because we have just moved in it is very annoying. If you love your child you will do everything in your power to not sign them up in this terrible school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2013

If your child doe not fit the "mold" whether advanced or disabled, this is not the school for the child. There is a lot of talk but little action. Both the budget, and NYS law make things difficult. This is a school with no immagination or inspiration. Collaboration with the parents is one-way: the parents must collaborate. Personally, I found both the academic and support staff to be unprofessional at times, and there to be a culture of "us" versus "the parents".
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2012

I have to say that as far as public education goes,high schools dont come any better than this.John Glenn is a fitting pinnacle to a child's education which began with the former schools in the chain. Very often,faculty the student has had in Primary and Middle School is purposefully transferred to the High School to create an immesurable continuity for the student.The fact that the faculty is trained enough to revolve in this way also speaks well for the administration,who have personal knowledge of the students in this High School,and the ability to encourage them to seek the correct college. I have had a daugther graduate from this school and attend Geneseo and graduate with honors. She had a wonderful High School education,full of not only academic pursuits but also extra curricular drama and music during which they helped her compete to be the best on a county level,with exciting results.This school is not insular.It is involved with its community and its students are frequently seen in the surrounding neighborhoods promoting their various programs and running track in groups. Many a productive human being has graduated through these doors,and the principal is wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2011

The primary focus of this school is to maximize salaries and minimize output where students are concerned. Administration's main focus is the budget, not dealing fairly with students. Administration does not want to be involved with student's problems and paints everyone with the same brush to avoid responsibility.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2010

After reading the other reviews, there are somethings I'd like to address: there's a lot that goes on that parent's don't know about. The staff doesn't work all that closely with the students as you would like to believe. The special education program is also lacking, as most people forget that special education is supposed to apply to not just those who don't reach a level of capability as most, but those who exceed this capability, this is where the school is seriously lacking. As well as excellent teachers, there are a few but not many. The school district overall is fairly good, but there are spots where it could do for improvement. Local politics and poor budget planning are also noticed by everyone, they're annoying and excessive.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 27, 2008

This school is great. The faculty and staff treat everyone with respect and have the students best interest and education at heart. The quality of education is excellent and challenging. The administration works well together and communicates effectively. The principal is knowledgeable and student centered which helps create a caring but rigorous program of study for all students. This is a five-star high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2005

The school used to treat all students fairly until the last few months when they have new building administrators.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2005

Absolutely wonderful! The small size means that teachers and guidance counselors really get to know the kids. This really helps with the college admissions process. Lots of AP courses, and a real 'small town' atmosphere. Sports teams, especially volleyball and girls' basketball, are tops! Plenty of opportunities for kids to get involved because the school is so small. Safety is a number one priority; I feel really confident in sending my kids here. No gangs, very little fighting, and the administration has a really good handle on the student poopulation. Parents are super-involved, even at the high school level. There is a volleyballathon each year where the kids play round robin games for charity, a big homecoming parade and dance, plenty of community service work, and a large PTA presence in the community. We wouldn't live anywhere else!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2004

I've just graduated from Elwood and it has been the best four years of high school I could have ever gone through. You meet great teachers who will help you through any problems. You'll also make long lasting friendships that will help you through any situations whether they're thick or thin.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 19, 2004

In Reply to the April 2004, I do have a son in special ed. He was classified as ED. and for 8 years all I heard was we're doing the same thing next year. Resource room and inclusion. I'm speaking from experience. I'm not just blowing smoke. I have done my homework. I'm sorry that your child who has a learning disability isn't getting the help he/she needs. But that's just Elwood's way of not analyzing the individual needs of the children in their district. The teachers they do get once in a while who show some concern about their students, soon realize their fighting a losing battle and soon leave the district. That has happened on 3 such occassions that I know of. Sorry my feelings and views differ from yours, but that's what makes us unique. Good luck to you and your children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2004

I'm a Junior at John Glenn High School and I've had three great years here. Being somewhat talented academically, what I find most attractive about this school is that the teachers are excellent; understanding and intelligent, they enjoy challenges. Although of course there are some students who resist authority for whatever reason, the majority of the students are warm and caring. Because of the small size, some students may wish to attend a larger school but I've found lasting friendships and familiar faces. Lately, security has been very tight so paranoid parents would like the school too.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 8, 2004

I am 100% satisfied with the involvement of all the teachers with the students at this school but I am extreamly satisfied with the science teacher Mr. Lafferty. He follows up on missing homework, labs etc. and he is very involved with getting in touch with the parents. They try hard to make the school safe.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2004

I have recently entered the school district so at this time I am unable to rate the hhs. I would however like to address the entry dated march 2004. I will assume from the negative remarks in regards to the special ed program that you do not have a child with special needs, because if you did you would be better educated as to how the system works. They do not take the cream of the crop and place the rest in special ed you need to exhibit specific disabilities to be classified and I have seen many children turned away! Take it from a parent with children from both ends of the spectrum you do not want your child classified unless it is absolutely necessary as that is a label that will always follow you, and their lives a hard enough without negative comments.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2004

This is a small school where the administration knows who to watch. There is not much that goes on without everyone knowing about it. I have 2 kids in the school presently.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

This was an absolutely fabulous school for students to attend. Most have gone on to ultimate success after graduation.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra II/Trigonometry

The state average for Algebra II/Trigonometry was 66% in 2013.

159 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
82%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 76% in 2013.

137 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
89%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 72% in 2013.

161 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
73%
English

The state average for English was 77% in 2013.

215 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
96%
French

The state average for French was 95% in 2011.

22 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 74% in 2013.

196 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
89%
Global History and Geography

The state average for Global History and Geography was 71% in 2013.

206 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
98%
Integrated Algebra

The state average for Integrated Algebra was 73% in 2013.

153 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
92%
Italian

The state average for Italian was 98% in 2011.

42 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%
Living Environment

The state average for Living Environment was 77% in 2013.

197 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
93%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
71%
Spanish

The state average for Spanish was 94% in 2011.

123 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
99%
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 80% in 2013.

205 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
98%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Algebra II/Trigonometry

All Students83%
Female80%
Male86%
African American77%
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanic72%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English83%
Non-migrant83%

Chemistry

All Students95%
Female99%
Male91%
African American81%
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanic83%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English95%
Non-migrant95%

Earth Science

All Students68%
Female69%
Male69%
African American30%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic56%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilities19%
General population79%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant68%

English

All Students90%
Female96%
Male85%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanic80%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged78%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilities36%
General population99%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant90%

Geometry

All Students89%
Female94%
Male83%
African American71%
Asian/Pacific Islander94%
Hispanic70%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilities47%
General population94%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant89%

Global History and Geography

All Students86%
Female84%
Male88%
African American80%
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanic71%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities37%
General population94%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English86%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant86%

Integrated Algebra

All Students90%
Female95%
Male87%
African American81%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic78%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilities52%
General population96%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant90%

Living Environment

All Students92%
Female94%
Male90%
African American82%
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanic82%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilities55%
General population99%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant92%

Physics

All Students92%
Female95%
Male89%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander80%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White96%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English92%
Non-migrant92%

U.S. History and Government

All Students92%
Female96%
Male90%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanic76%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilities47%
General population100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant92%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 72% 48%
Black 10% 19%
Hispanic 10% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 8% 9%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 11%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 213%N/A43%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 3%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 60%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. VINCENT MULIERI

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

478 Elwood Rd
Elwood, NY 11731
Phone: (631) 266-5410

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT