Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Elwood, NY
Students enrolled: 819
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Elwood John Glenn High School 5

Posted May 07, 2015
- a parent
This school, although smaller than any district does an excellent job in making sure parents are alerted to their child progress. My children have excelled on this district and in this school.. Some people will never be happy with a school system and you have to really know your children. Glenn is rated high performing and their sports programs for a smaller school is also excellent , the volleyball team has gone to state a few times as well as football. We have had students get into Princeton and other high profile schools as well due to their academic achievements here and sports achievements as well. The parents who complain are the same ones that never attend a PTA meeting or is involved in any way with the school. The kids...well ..the ones who don't want to study or think outside the box will complain about tests not outlined for them....they need to grow up...Good Job Elwood and John Glenn!!

Elwood John Glenn High School 1

Posted March 05, 2015
- a student
As a student that attends this school, I can tell you that every student who attends on a daily basis, absolutely hates the school. 90 percent of the teachers do a poor job and enjoy seeing kids struggle. They also enjoy making everyone's life more miserable. The tests that are given are usually nothing like the review or ten times harder. Days in middle school used to be the glory days. Overall the high school is a poorly run place run by people with no common sense.


Elwood John Glenn High School 1

Posted March 18, 2014
- a parent
The Worst school in the world! I an not kidding, I setup an appointment with the councilor and I had to reschedule it because he was "busy." Not only that all the staff are very hard to talk to because the way they act towards you. My Son has problems with 3 of his teachers and they are not his fault. They other students just learned to live with it. But because we have just moved in it is very annoying. If you love your child you will do everything in your power to not sign them up in this terrible school.
1 person found this helpful

Elwood John Glenn High School 2

Posted September 13, 2013
- a parent
If your child doe not fit the "mold" whether advanced or disabled, this is not the school for the child. There is a lot of talk but little action. Both the budget, and NYS law make things difficult. This is a school with no immagination or inspiration. Collaboration with the parents is one-way: the parents must collaborate. Personally, I found both the academic and support staff to be unprofessional at times, and there to be a culture of "us" versus "the parents".
2 people found this helpful

Elwood John Glenn High School 5

Posted August 02, 2012
- a parent
I have to say that as far as public education goes,high schools dont come any better than this.John Glenn is a fitting pinnacle to a child's education which began with the former schools in the chain. Very often,faculty the student has had in Primary and Middle School is purposefully transferred to the High School to create an immesurable continuity for the student.The fact that the faculty is trained enough to revolve in this way also speaks well for the administration,who have personal knowledge of the students in this High School,and the ability to encourage them to seek the correct college. I have had a daugther graduate from this school and attend Geneseo and graduate with honors. She had a wonderful High School education,full of not only academic pursuits but also extra curricular drama and music during which they helped her compete to be the best on a county level,with exciting results.This school is not insular.It is involved with its community and its students are frequently seen in the surrounding neighborhoods promoting their various programs and running track in groups. Many a productive human being has graduated through these doors,and the principal is wonderful.


Elwood John Glenn High School 1

Posted November 04, 2011
- a parent
The primary focus of this school is to maximize salaries and minimize output where students are concerned. Administration's main focus is the budget, not dealing fairly with students. Administration does not want to be involved with student's problems and paints everyone with the same brush to avoid responsibility.

Elwood John Glenn High School 4

Posted March 28, 2010
- a student
After reading the other reviews, there are somethings I'd like to address: there's a lot that goes on that parent's don't know about. The staff doesn't work all that closely with the students as you would like to believe. The special education program is also lacking, as most people forget that special education is supposed to apply to not just those who don't reach a level of capability as most, but those who exceed this capability, this is where the school is seriously lacking. As well as excellent teachers, there are a few but not many. The school district overall is fairly good, but there are spots where it could do for improvement. Local politics and poor budget planning are also noticed by everyone, they're annoying and excessive.

Elwood John Glenn High School 5

Posted May 27, 2008
- a parent
This school is great. The faculty and staff treat everyone with respect and have the students best interest and education at heart. The quality of education is excellent and challenging. The administration works well together and communicates effectively. The principal is knowledgeable and student centered which helps create a caring but rigorous program of study for all students. This is a five-star high school.


Elwood John Glenn High School 4

Posted December 11, 2005
- a parent
The school used to treat all students fairly until the last few months when they have new building administrators.

Elwood John Glenn High School 5

Posted March 10, 2005
- a parent
Absolutely wonderful! The small size means that teachers and guidance counselors really get to know the kids. This really helps with the college admissions process. Lots of AP courses, and a real 'small town' atmosphere. Sports teams, especially volleyball and girls' basketball, are tops! Plenty of opportunities for kids to get involved because the school is so small. Safety is a number one priority; I feel really confident in sending my kids here. No gangs, very little fighting, and the administration has a really good handle on the student poopulation. Parents are super-involved, even at the high school level. There is a volleyballathon each year where the kids play round robin games for charity, a big homecoming parade and dance, plenty of community service work, and a large PTA presence in the community. We wouldn't live anywhere else!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Elwood John Glenn High School
478 Elwood Road, Elwood, NY  11731
(631) 266-5410
Last modified Elwood John Glenn High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Elwood John Glenn High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. Top