Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public district
Far Rockaway, NY
Students enrolled: 531
Before care: No
After care: No
 

4 stars
Based on 6 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


PS 253 5

Posted April 30, 2014
- a parent
My daughter and son go to this school, i am very happy with it because it keeps me informed. Of my kids progresses, and my son have learned a lot here.

PS 253 2

Posted March 13, 2014
- a parent
this is school very bad. because the number of student in the classroom 30 students. one teacher for 30 student.how can any teacher teach them ?.principal always refeiwes to meet parents ..teachers always absent.


PS 253 0
no rating

Posted December 04, 2009
- a parent
My husband and I are very disappointed with this school. The staff and administration is very unprofessional and disorganized. This school needs to be reviewed by authorities.

PS 253 1

Posted July 20, 2009
- a parent
My daughter has attended the school since it opened. She began in pre- k and is now going to the third grade. Although I hear that there is a waiting list for this school...its not worth it. The principle is unprofessional, the staff could care less, the teachers doesn't seem fit to even teach these kids how to tie their shoes, and i don't like that they're not flexible to working parents. You're not able to check on your child and forget trying to contact the teacher or anyone else ...they never give the messages and no one ever contacts you. The only one who gets my praises is the asst. principle.

PS 253 0
no rating

Posted March 12, 2009
- a parent
My son has been a student at 253 since 2007. The school is constantly going through changes and there is not enough positive communication among/between staff. Notices are not usually distributed to all parents/caregivers on time or at all for that matter. Parents/caregivers are not welcome to visit the school or check on their child if they need to. Meetings are not scheduled efficiently scheduled for working parents. The Principal is not good with appointments; not for parents or even community organizations. The teachers seem stressed out and tone of the school is declining to uninviting


PS 253 5

Posted May 29, 2008
- a parent
My son has attended this school since the 1st day it opened in 9/2004. The staff and school setting both live beyond my expectations as a devoted and concerned parent. My son was accepted to the Aster Gifted Program but due to his comfortabilty and my great approval with the school itself, I allowed him to continue his Elementary days at PS 253. Overall this school gets a complete 5 stars from my husband, myself and most of all my son. My four year old starts Pre-K in September.

PS 253 5

Posted March 21, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

PS 253 5

Posted December 21, 2006
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

PS 253
1307 Central Ave., Far Rockaway, NY  11691
(718) 327-0895
Last modified PS 253 is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
PS 253 Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top