Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Peninsula Preparatory Academy Charter School

Charter | K-5 | 314 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 24, 2013

AMAZING SCHOOL!!, I really love this school. I notice improvements since my daughter switched schools, she did great on the Ny state test and the teachers teach the child very well! My daughter also loves the school she made friends, got perfect grades, and liked the teachers. The staff and Teachers are very nice and friendly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2012

my son has excelled since arriving to ppa, we are so proud of his progress and we love the staff of PPA they are very caring and also set a high standard of learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2009

I really think it's time for this school to have an up to date website.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2009

Excellent school in terms of a public education.The hours are 8am-4pm....kinda long...but my daughter is excelling.It's her 2nd year.Her Kindergarten teacher Mrs Johnson was excellent...her 1st grade teacher Mrs Garcon is excellent. the problem I see is with the kid's coming in with no formal training at home.So like someone said earlier parental involvement is essential.Why should my child lose learning time cause a teacher is disciplining your child?If your child is on red...he/she is behaving badly. The most important opinion is the kids...unfortunately they cannot leave a review.They run into the school in the mornings.That says it all.My daughter loves to go this school. Paulette Jemmott-Wiley
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2009

This is my daughter's 2nd year in this school and academically its excellent. I grew up going to private school and this school tops what I had initially expected, especially for a public school in Queens/NYC. Unfortunately, we are in a rough neighborhood where parents seem to think that the teachers can fix all the problems but in order for a child to EXCEL academically, they need support at HOME. The biggest issue I have seen in this school as far as students go is their BEHAVIOR. Teachers are limited to how much they can discipline a child, and it becomes a challenge when basic rules are not enforced at HOME. I trully wish to see the Board of Ed assist some more and see the school building actually come to life. I would definately recommend this school to anyone with children entering k-5th.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2009

i think they don't how to deal with children.they aren't professional,they don't have good communication with the parents.they don't let the the kids be kids.they expect kindergardens to be robots and not to express themselves.i think they need to improve the way the rin the school,the also need security guards.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2009

it is sad that teachers do not know how to teach any more every day my child will come home from school feeling sad that he is on red for just being a kid at heart this school need a lot of one on one help the reason why i said this is because i was told that this was my chioce to send my child to ppa and this is also my choice that i have to do to take my child out. my child was not learned any thing in this school .it a joke
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2008

Since my son has been going to this school he always has problems dealing with his teachers. I agree with one the the other parents review, the teachers do not know how to handle the kids. They knit pick over every thing and don't give them a chance to be kids. I also don't like the long hours he has to be in school, he is so exhausted when he ghets home it's so hard to sit and do his homework, the teachers don't communicate with the parents at all. My son will not be attending anymore.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2008

since my son start this school I see a lot of success, he is doing much better at his work and he is improving more and more every day. my son teacher mrs Gallo is great, we all love her. I think some parent need to stop putting down this school and lets all try to make our child school a better school. thats all a'm saying. do your part
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2008

i don't know for sure what's going to become of this school but as of now I really think this school needs a lot of help to become a better school. Some of the teachers don't know what they are doing, they also don't know how to deal with the children.


Posted June 13, 2007

my daughter has excelled since arriving to ppa, we are so proud of her progress and we love the staff of ppa they are very caring and also set a high standard of learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2007

No one seems to care about what really goes on in this school, I do not see it doing to good, the parents of these kids don't seem to care they never show up at the schools meeting to fight for these kids, its sad. I wish someone would do something quick about improving this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2006

My child has been in this school for 2yrs now, there has been two principals, and different teacher every year. I think this school needs a lot of improvement. There is no outlet for these children, no room to allow kids to be kids. Some teachers are very unprofessional. I don't like the curriculum, it's all over the place and to me some what meaningless.They suspend kids a lot off of the school buses, which makes it very difficult for the children to get to school and home and that affects the childs attendance. I think the way they deal with behavior issues are not well thought out. There is not enough support to deal with the children with special need, besides putting them in special education. That is their solution to the problems for the children who need extra help.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 31% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
44%
Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
52%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
21%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
53%
Math

The state average for Math was 36% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
72%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 31% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
21%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
41%
Math

The state average for Math was 30% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
56%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students22%
Female20%
Male24%
African American21%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged21%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities10%
General population25%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrant22%

Math

All Students37%
Female35%
Male39%
African American34%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged35%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities20%
General population41%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrant37%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students21%
Female25%
Male19%
African American23%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged19%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities20%
General population21%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant21%

Math

All Students46%
Female44%
Male47%
African American51%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged45%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities20%
General population52%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant46%

Science

All Students96%
Female94%
Male98%
African American97%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged95%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities100%
General population96%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant96%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students21%
Female25%
Male14%
African American20%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged22%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population24%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant21%

Math

All Students30%
Female25%
Male39%
African American31%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged30%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population35%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant30%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "C" for the elementary school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 1 73% 19%
Hispanic 1 22% 23%
White 1 3% 48%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 2% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 0% 1%
Two or more races 2 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 23%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 175%N/A43%
Female 147%N/A49%
Male 153%N/A51%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 35%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 4%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 291 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.8
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.9
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.6
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
8.7
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
9.1
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.2
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.4
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.8
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.0
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.6
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.7
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.4
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents268100%
Teachers2392%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MRS. RUTH PEETS BUTCHER

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

611 Beach 19th Street
Far Rockaway, NY 11691
Website: Click here
Phone: (347) 403-9231

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Yeshiva Darchei Torah
Far Rockaway, NY


Reihis Chockma Preschool
Far Rockaway, NY



Ps 215 Lucretia Mott
Far Rockaway, NY



Ps 197 The Ocean School
Far Rockaway, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT