Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Flushing High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 3116 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 16, 2013

I'm about to be a junior in this school, and so far the school isn't bad. Since the new prinicipal was in charge of the school. I've seen a lot of changes in the school from freshman year (2011-2012). They're are so much more security guards and they're more strict than before. Some teachers are great and help me with my work while others do not know to teach well. Some of the students at the school don't behave as well as others. But if you surround yourself with the right people and you'll be fine.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 30, 2012

Flushing High School is a good school. I beleive you get out of a school what you put in to it. Like a lot of schools in NYC, it has struggled with its share problems, receiving poor ratings for academic standards. It was at risk of being closed this past year, but staff, parents, and students rallied to keep it open. My daughter is a senior here now and is thriving. As an honor student, she was able to make good connections with her guidance counselor and teachers, enabling her to excel, despite the issues students around her were having. She is getting offers to many top colleges in the nation, and I give partial credit to the curriculum that she has had at Flushing High School. I am not happy with the principals that the school has had in past years, but the teachers are good. Bravo to the staff that has stood by her and truly cared.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2009

this is a very good school. i am student . the teachers are nice and friendly. students are bad. but it is ok nice school
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 8, 2009

My daughter has excelled since transferring to Flushing High School. The teachers and faculty keep me informed as to my child's academics and behavior. I am also informed of any events via mail or telepphone calls about what events are taking place at the school. I am happy with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2009

i am a graduating senior at flushing high school and i am here to say that flushing is not a bad school at all. sure like all school there is a negative crowd but if u raise your children to behave and act the way they should you have absolutely nothing to worry about. when i first entered flushing high was a pretty foul place to be. but suprisingly the next year it was cleaned up. as long as your kid is willing to do work then passing will not b a problem. the faculty cares about the students. and football is becoming a really big deal . we jus finished they year 8-2 and we were officially the queens champs . and they have a devoted coach who is very heavy on being good citizens on and off the feild. and he preasures all students to do good . flushing
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 15, 2009

Im a student at flushing h and i think its a good school i really like it.The tachers are good and they let you hav fun.Ma family at first didnt want me to go there but as they saw it wasnt a bad school they let me stay,but overall its a good school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 3, 2009

Flushing High School may not be the best choice, but it is not that bad either. In my experience teachers are great and they are always there to help. There are many school activities and AP classes, but in my opinion they should add some more AP classes. Other than that the school it okay.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 11, 2008

I am a student at this school.I wouldn't recommend any kids to this school.The teachers don't interact with the students enough.The consulars are the worst.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 6, 2008

I am a senior at Flushing High School and the experience has been fun. The school isn't as bad as people make it sound. I do agree, the school is def, over crowded, The children are rude at time adn so are the teachers. They do however offer alot of AP classes, they just arent advertised. Flushing offers about 20 AP classes in various subjects along with alot of clubs, student activities, and sports. Overall its a pretty good school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 30, 2008

I am a student here at Flushing, and it really isn't as bad as they say it is. i moved from Maryland to New York last year, and i am attending my freshman year now at Flushing. I have to admit, the first time i came to Flushing, i was a little scared because i heard they had a bad reputation, but when i actually experienced the school, it was nothing like i heard what it was. the teachers really care about the students and they have a lot of after school activities. its a good school and i really like it. if u were a student who is about to go, or a parent who is concerned about the school for their child, you wont have to worry about it that much.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 6, 2008

ok classes. crazily overcrowded. Few AP classes and over packed classes. Advance Placement is rare and are barely given even if they were done in previous years
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 5, 2008

It's nice. But it's not really a happy atmosphere. I didn't really feel right at home. It's not bad as they say it is, and when you try to change your schedule to fit your life, they think you have family problems or something. Lots of clubs, not much AP classes. And the standards to meet 90 average is tough.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 17, 2007

Although I have heard varying negative opinions about Flushing HS, my son had a positive experience. He graduated, on time, in June 2007 and has gone on to college. I have found that if your child associates with a negative crowd then they will more likely be involved in negative experiences.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2007

The teachers here are really top notch. I am disappointed that there aren't a lot of AP classes though. However, I have come to really love this school. There are so many free programs here that help students to learn and understand, as well as some nice rewards for frequently doing well. It's only real downfall in my opinion is the students' lack of caring. But this is not the school's fault. They do all they can to reach out to students.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 3, 2007

I agree as well with the other comment or rating that was made. The reputation is a lot more over exaggerated then it actually is. I was kind of scared at first to attend this school. I thought it would be a lot more worse then it actually is. The school isn't that bad and they have a lot of extra curricular activities and programs as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2005

I think people over react when they hear about Flushing H.S. so did I when i learned i was coming here. However, it is not as bad as it is made out to be, their are so many clubs,extracurricular activities, and sports to join and theirs a seperate law and science program as well.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra II/Trigonometry

The state average for Algebra II/Trigonometry was 66% in 2013.

241 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
64%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 76% in 2013.

325 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
48%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 72% in 2013.

574 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
52%
English

The state average for English was 77% in 2013.

1315 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
66%
French

The state average for French was 95% in 2011.

67 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
89%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 74% in 2013.

766 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
68%
Global History and Geography

The state average for Global History and Geography was 71% in 2013.

929 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
59%
Integrated Algebra

The state average for Integrated Algebra was 73% in 2013.

1452 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
50%
Italian

The state average for Italian was 98% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Living Environment

The state average for Living Environment was 77% in 2013.

1042 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
55%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
70%
Spanish

The state average for Spanish was 94% in 2011.

225 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
98%
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 80% in 2013.

791 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
86%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Algebra II/Trigonometry

All Students61%
Female59%
Male61%
African American48%
Asian/Pacific Islander75%
Hispanic43%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged45%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learners79%
Proficient in English56%
Not migrant61%

Chemistry

All Students22%
Female18%
Male26%
African American7%
Asian/Pacific Islander39%
Hispanic12%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged24%
Not economically disadvantaged17%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population22%
English language learners42%
Proficient in English19%
Not migrant22%

Earth Science

All Students22%
Female19%
Male25%
African American17%
Asian/Pacific Islander35%
Hispanic19%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White46%
Economically disadvantaged23%
Not economically disadvantaged20%
Students with disabilities6%
General population24%
English language learners16%
Proficient in English25%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant22%

English

All Students50%
Female55%
Male46%
African American45%
Asian/Pacific Islander66%
Hispanic46%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White58%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged48%
Students with disabilities21%
General population55%
English language learners27%
Proficient in English56%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant50%

Geometry

All Students47%
Female47%
Male48%
African American38%
Asian/Pacific Islander71%
Hispanic39%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White52%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Not economically disadvantaged44%
Students with disabilities13%
General population51%
English language learners58%
Proficient in English46%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant47%

Global History and Geography

All Students45%
Female46%
Male45%
African American45%
Asian/Pacific Islander67%
Hispanic37%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White60%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Not economically disadvantaged51%
Students with disabilities16%
General population50%
English language learners30%
Proficient in English50%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant45%

Integrated Algebra

All Students52%
Female52%
Male52%
African American43%
Asian/Pacific Islander75%
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
Native American31%
White57%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Not economically disadvantaged49%
Students with disabilities22%
General population58%
English language learners46%
Proficient in English54%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant52%

Living Environment

All Students42%
Female42%
Male43%
African American37%
Asian/Pacific Islander57%
Hispanic39%
Multiracialn/a
Native American38%
White50%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Not economically disadvantaged44%
Students with disabilities14%
General population48%
English language learners22%
Proficient in English49%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant42%

Physics

All Students39%
Female31%
Male47%
African American21%
Asian/Pacific Islander50%
Hispanic39%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged40%
Not economically disadvantaged38%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population39%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant39%

U.S. History and Government

All Students53%
Female53%
Male53%
African American48%
Asian/Pacific Islander75%
Hispanic45%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged54%
Not economically disadvantaged48%
Students with disabilities16%
General population59%
English language learners34%
Proficient in English59%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant53%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "C" for the high school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 2 50% 23%
Black 2 26% 19%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 20% 9%
White 1 3% 48%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 0% 1%
Two or more races 1 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 220%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 275%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 6%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 63%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 1%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Medical

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many languages and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program school-wide for at least 25% of our population

Health & athletics

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Medical

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
School leaders can update this information here.
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 2545 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
6.4
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
6.6
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Students

This school

 
5.6
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
6.9
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
7.0
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.2
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Students

This school

 
6.4
 

City average

 
7.8
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.5
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
6.7
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
6.8
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Students

This school

 
6.0
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.4
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
7.2
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.1
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Students

This school

 
6.9
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.6
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents48418%
Students193569%
Teachers12668%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. MAGDALEN RADOVICH

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Business
  • Medical
  • Social justice
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many languages and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program school-wide for at least 25% of our population

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Busses - Q12, Q13, Q15, Q16, Q17, Q19, Q20A, Q25, Q26, Q27, Q28, Q34, Q48, Q50, Q65, Q66. Subways - 7 to Flushing - Main St
  • Passes/tokens for public transportation
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Soccer
  • Sofbtall
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Wrestling
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

35-01 Union St
Flushing, NY 11354
Website: Click here
Phone: (718) 888-7500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Windsor School
Flushing, NY





St. Agnes Academic School
College Point, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT