Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ps 154

Public | PK-5 | 656 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 5, 2014

Both my kids attended this school and we were pleasantly surprised...in the beginning. PS 154 has a wonderful early education program (pre-k) with teachers and teacher assistants who know how to teach and care for their students. This standard, however, slowly declines with each grade and yelling at the kids on megaphones and silent lunches increased. In the end, we pulled our kids out as they were beginning to dislike having to go to school. I give PS 154 3 stars for their pre-k program, for the supportive PTA they had at the time, and for the Principal's monthly meetings (which are super informative and a great forum to openly discuss issues). However, they need to find a better way to treat the students outside the classroom (cafeteria, auditorium) and a more consistent way to keep them engaged in the classroom. The office staff could also be more inviting and respectful to parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2014

Three of my children have attended p.s.154 . I have nothing but great things to say. The teachers are very attentive the school environment is great what more could a parent ask for,
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2011

The teachers go out of their way to make sure the students are reaching and exceeding standards.They communicate with parents and make a mark in their students lives.As for the principal instead of creating events she needs to fix problems within the school such as her being compassionate and kid friendly and training lunch aides on how to speak and treat school aged children. The main office is unfriendly and uninviting. The open door policy is not true!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

We have a fabulous principal who sets high standards and clear expectations for our students. There is a feeling of respect in the school and wonderful teachers who truly care about our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2010

i really love this school it is very clean. my son attended another school and it wasnt ever as clean as ps 154. the classrooms are so beautiful and there are books everywhere. i wish there were more enrichment programs or an afterschool for children of working parents. the principal is adorable with the students. i am sure she knows everyones name.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2009

My daughter was in PS 154 from K to Grade 2 so far. I must say that we are pretty happy with all teachers so far.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2009

i think the school is warm and inviting. the principal holds a monthly coffee and breakfast meeting for parents. there was also a dance and singing books program for kids this year. the art is ok.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2009

Poor academics and student-teacher dynamics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2009

My daughter goes to P.S. 154.After graduating at P.S. 154 her favorite teacher was Mrs.Cohen. So I would want to give compiments to Mrs.Cohen
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2008

I am pleased with the overall running of this school. There is a parent-friendly atmosphere and the school goes overboard with trying to advance children who are performing below standards. The principal is great! My only complaint is that children who are performing well above the standards are not given enrichment .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 26, 2008

I feel school was much better when Ms Ratner was there. Something's have change , Like getting telephone calls for school events, but Teachers are under a lot of stress and Vice principle is not courteous to parents, she has tantrums if things don't go her way and quotes mayor and chancellor for for everything she wants done. I feel school would be much better with a more experience staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2007

My son is going to the 4th grade in ps 154. Last year was rough with the ela tests. But he had mrs. Cohen who is hard but well worth it. My son struggled through the whole year but passsed the tests with flying colors.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2007

I feel it is a great school, with excellent staff. my grandson has Ms Daniels, and she is excellent. My daughter graduated from there 3 years ago and I had no problems with her. Simply a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2005

My son has been attending PS 154 since Kindergarten and we have had the pleasure of having 3 great teachers consecutively. My son who disliked writing is now writing books and poems. He's an avid reader, to the point where he sneaks books and a light under his covers at night because he cannot get enough of the adventures.(He now needs glasses). His math skills have improved dramatically and I owe a lot to his teachers for their patience. The teachers,parents,vice Principal and Principal are very involved with the students' development. there's always a great turnout to the Math and Reading nights. The musicals are always beautifully performed by the students, thanks to the music teacher. I truely believes that the Principal knows every kid's name which says a lot for her reputation as well as the school's.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 32% in 2014.

115 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
34%

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
56%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

117 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
67%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2014.

108 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
67%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

112 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
83%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2014.

100 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
27%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
65%
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

100 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "C" for the elementary school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 49% 9%
Hispanic 2 24% 23%
White 1 15% 48%
Black 1 11% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 0% 1%
Two or more races 1 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 220%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 179%N/A43%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 5%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 65%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 392 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.3
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.6
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.0
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
8.2
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.6
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.8
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.0
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.2
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.8
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.2
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.4
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents36068%
Teachers3280%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. TARA DAVIDSON

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

75-02 162nd St
Flushing, NY 11366
Phone: (718) 591-1500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Shin Dong Ki
Flushing, NY





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT