Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ps 165 Edith K Bergtraum

Public | PK-5 & ungraded | 647 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 10, 2014

As a parent of a child that graduated from PS 165, I must say that the TEACHERS in this school are way above EXCELLENT. Without their caring and teaching methods of the basics needed to be learnt in Elementary School for moving ahead, my child would not have gone into the SP program in Middle School and graduated High School a year early. Then again, this was with the former Principal running this school. The school was a family back then , not a dictatorship as it has become. Reading the ratings on this site truly saddens me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2014

The mere task of spreading holiday cheer became MISSION IMPOSSIBLE! This school is not a welcoming or warm environment! Just to give you a small example, my 5 year old who is in Kindergarten wanted to give her 2 teachers flowers for the holidays. On December 20th the last school day prior to this winter break, I stopped at the school to delivery flowers. I asked the secretary to call my child down and she literally refused. She said "it would be disruptive per the principal." SERIOUSLY!!! I tried to reason with her but I was talking to the wall! Even though I was upset, I attempted to have my daughter give her teachers the flowers at dismissal. Just so happen that for whatever reason her teachers left early and she was release by other school staff. I cant begin to tell you how upset she was!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2013

Warning, if your child has an IEP and needs services, this school s principle makes it so that your child will only receive the bare minimum. Performance requirement are also set higher without justification. Though there are several good Special Ed teachers P.S. 165 very few truly advocate for your child simply because they do not want to go against the principal. I am not familiar with the bureaucratic guidelines of how a school s performance is rated but it is obvious to me that the educational welfare of my child is second on this schools list.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2013

Took my child out of PS 165. The principal clearly sets the tone. Not purpose driven - it's rather performace driven. We could not be happier for changing schools. In less than 3 months the new school did what they could not in a year! My child finds fulfillment in achievements. The success of a school is indicative of all pieces coming together! Teachers, Administration and letting the parents be involved in their child s education. 82% of teachers reporting principal is a weak manager and percent of teachers reporting they don't trust principal. 64.5% of teachers reporting they STRONGLY believe principal is a weak manager and percent of teachers reporting they STRONGLY don't trust principal. Response Rate (percent of teachers who filled out the survey) 83
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2012

I took my child out of this school and couldn't be happier with the decision. While he had a very caring teacher and decent service providers, they could not meet his needs because the principle was involved where she shouldn't have been. I always got an apologetic look from the teachers as if they were saying "my hands are tied." When I tried to speak to the principal, she talked in a patronizing tone, interrupting and refusing to listen to our concerns. Looking at statistics below, it all makes sense.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2012

I am also surprised that there are so many positive reviews. This school is too pushy. Teachers don't value parents' opinion. My child hates her school and her daughters and feels that teachers don't like her, because she is not pretty. This too when she is only in Kindergarten..... What could be making a kindergarterner feel this way. I am planning to move my child to a different school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2010

i feel discriminated in this school and at last i have to change my child school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2009

both of my daughters are in this school and one of my girls has a moderate hearing loss. I must say that her teacher took such an excellent care of her the whole entire year, my daughter reached her goals by the end of the year and I couldnt thank more to Ps 165 for putting so much effort and attention into my kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2009

The Alpha (Gifted and Talented) Program is well established here. The kids in the program get an incredible education. They get very strong academics and an arts education that include 1 year of recorder, 2 years of violin, and lots of dance. They also have a choice of band, chorus or dance club in the upper grades. Kids are encouraged to reach within themselves and they really come out of their shell. By the time they graduate, they are well accomplished, independent and well-rounded. It's a great program!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 26, 2008

My eldest son started PreK and his teachers are great. The staff is very positive and encouraging. All the feelings of worry I had have been eliminated and I look forward to my other two children attending PS 165Q. I know they will be surrounded by good people and taken cared of as if my children were theirs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2008

I have been a PS165 parent since 1995 and have had nothing but pleasure from this school. Six of my seven children have attended this school. I would recommend it to any prospective families.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2008

My son have been attending this school since pre-k and he is on in first grade and I am very happy with this achool and the tescher and general staff is excellent, you can send you child to this school and be confident that they will learn and undertand and explain stuff very clearly. Everywhere my son goes people alway ask what school does he attend and I am proud to say PS 165 Q and they always say he is so intelligent and I am proud off that. Ps 165 is five star in my book
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2008

I'm about to graduate this year, but I do not want to. The G&T Programs are great too. The teachers are very quaified teachers, and the students too, are great. We have great teamwork ability, and I think we were taught the right way. P.S. 165 is surely a home away from home! i hope to come back to this school one day.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 29, 2007

PS165 is more than a school, its a family. The teachers and staff are caring and considerate and above average. The Principal is awesome, she knows every student and always has the children's best interests at heart. The Parent Coordinator is always available to parents and student and is able to handle any type of problem. The Arts program in this school is way above average. I highly recommend this school to all that are able to attend. You couldn't get a finer education anywhere. In my opinion this is the best Elementary School in NYC
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2005

Very happy with the prk teachers. My child learned alot with them and they took good care of my little one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2004

This elementary school is one of the very best in my opinion. The teachers are excellent! They have helped me excell in life and encouraged me to further my education. I thank the Lord everyday for blessing me with fantastic teachers!
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 31% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
58%
Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
59%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
63%
Math

The state average for Math was 36% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
74%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 31% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
66%
Math

The state average for Math was 30% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students56%
Female66%
Male48%
African American25%
Asian/Pacific Islander79%
Hispanic32%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White45%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilities12%
General population65%
English language learners15%
Proficient in English63%
Non-migrant56%

Math

All Students65%
Female67%
Male64%
African American25%
Asian/Pacific Islander83%
Hispanic42%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White72%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilities19%
General population75%
English language learners47%
Proficient in English69%
Non-migrant65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students44%
Female48%
Male38%
African American6%
Asian/Pacific Islander63%
Hispanic33%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White38%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Not economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilities23%
General population47%
English language learners14%
Proficient in English49%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant44%

Math

All Students52%
Female52%
Male53%
African American25%
Asian/Pacific Islander69%
Hispanic20%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White55%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Not economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilities23%
General population56%
English language learners6%
Proficient in English62%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant52%

Science

All Students94%
Female95%
Male93%
African American100%
Asian/Pacific Islander98%
Hispanic87%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged94%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilities92%
General population95%
English language learners71%
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students48%
Female56%
Male42%
African American25%
Asian/Pacific Islander62%
Hispanic44%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White40%
Economically disadvantaged40%
Not economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilities24%
General population54%
English language learners15%
Proficient in English53%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant48%

Math

All Students44%
Female46%
Male41%
African American25%
Asian/Pacific Islander65%
Hispanic23%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White20%
Economically disadvantaged37%
Not economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilities18%
General population49%
English language learners13%
Proficient in English49%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant44%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "B" for the elementary school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 43% 9%
Hispanic 23% 23%
White 18% 48%
Black 16% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 215%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 273%N/A43%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 12%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 52%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 552 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.8
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.3
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
6.1
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Teachers

This school

 
4.2
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
6.9
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.9
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
5.9
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
7.5
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.0
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.1
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents49491%
Teachers5875%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. RAQUEL V. DEMILLIO

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

70-35 150th St
Flushing, NY 11367
Phone: (718) 263-4004

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Ps 219 Paul Klapper
Flushing, NY


Ps 154
Flushing, NY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT