Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Jhs 216 George J Ryan

Public | 6-8 | 1258 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

42 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 25, 2014

Ryan has positive and negative qualities, as every school does. I am very pleased with some teachers and administrators, but disappointed with others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2014

My school is awesome. They offer you everything. This school is probably the Best School in the district.


Posted December 11, 2013

I am a sixth grader in George J. Ryan Middle School 216, Calss 6224 and I love it here. This school is the best and the honors classes are filled with brainiacs.


Posted October 14, 2013

I'm a senior at this school and I have to admit I am so proud to be a member of this school. The environment is great that no one actually feels like leaving for high school. Th teacher's are very helpful , and the staff are truly good people. Being a senior at this school it's truly so fun because of all the senior activities the principal gives. You won't regret going to this school !


Posted March 14, 2013

In my opinion, the school needs work. Security is not as efficient as they should be. Teachers need to communicate with parents instead of only at PTC or after a note from the parents. They are the first to see and knows if a child is falling back..etc. As for leadership, it is being apart of who you precede over. The principal needs to interact with the students instead of over the speakers. Overall this school needs to accept negatives and treat it with concerns, not take it personally. Parents are partners not outsiders..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2012

everything parentss are saying are very wrong george j ryan is a very good school there is no bullying or there will be serious consiquences


Posted August 2, 2012

I had to take my son out of this school in a middle of 7th grade. Do not send your kids their. My son was depressed and harassed by a teacher because he was asking too many questions. Well, he has a curious mind. Principal and assistant principal were not helpful at all. They don't appreciate smart kids (my son is in top 10% Nationwide in Math) and was always an A student. Please review Learning Environment Surveys before you send your kids to any school. They don't like when parent gets involved either. My cousin now is having the same issues after she moved to Fresh Meadows and had to send her kids to Ryan.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2011

I'm a current student at this school and i think that its amazing . I can from a school where all the kids were going to ms.158 or ms.74 so basically i came here as a friendless loser. By the second day of 6th grade i made my first friend and then by 7th grade i went to honors and made more friends. Im in law academy and i think that its the best because the assistant princable is AWESOME! and the yard is one big thing that makes our school different while other schools have boring yards our has grass, handball courts, basketball courts, and picnic tables and many benches and trees to provide shade during the hot summer time. In gym they have many different sports we get to play like volleyball, soccer, basketball, and base ball. Talent: I think that art is the best talent because we actually get to do stuff! im making a sculpture and we did paintings and used pastels last year.


Posted January 16, 2011

This school is great and can make you have a better future. Arbys and Dunkin Donuts is right next to the school. We have vending machines. The school has a great leadership. The education teachings are great. The teachers are strict only if you don't do your homework sometimes, and don't respect them. You should attendthis school. It's fun, smart, has lots of programs so attend it!


Posted January 3, 2011

my son graduated in june 2010 and he loved it their. the school is full of great teachers and students. i highly recommend this school to other parents. now since my son is in high school he misses his old middle school and hes always wishing he could go back
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2010

My school is the best school and has a great principal =] The teachers are great and the principal is nothing like your describing him


Posted December 12, 2010

As a parent I am sadden by the state of the poor leadership in this school. The principal needs to go!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2010

Don't send you child to this school!!! The classes are over crowed and the principal doesn t care about the students. He is all about test scores and runs the school like a dictator. There is so much animosity between the teachers and the administration that your child will be caught in the middle of the battle.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2010

My son comes home crying every day from all the gang violence in the school. The classes are too large, and the school has poor leadership. Does the principal even know what is going on under his nose? One plus, is many of the teacher are outstanding.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2010

Iam a senior in the school. when i first came in 6th grade i was nervous but after 1 year iam really to be partn of ryan. It really good school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 19, 2010

I am in the 7th grade in the media arts academy. in my 1st year here i loved the school. now in my second year things are going into downfall. The teachers are rude, mean, uncompromising, and speak down to the students. Some teachers cannot control the students. The cafeteria is a wild zoo. The hallways are ridiculous. However this happenes in most schools. The kids are disruptive and show no sign of control and wanting to learn.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 10, 2009

I just graduated this year! And I am really, truly, honestly going to miss this place. This is one of the best junior high schools in queens. When I first entered this school I was completely horrified! All my elementary school friends were either going to M.S. 158 or M.S. 74, and I thought I was going to be completely friendless and a total loser. But, I was wrong. I made better friends and gained the confidence I never had when I entered this school. You will not regret sending your child here! And for those who are entering this year, don't be scared! This school is great and you will definitely make friends.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 16, 2009

I am a current student of M.S. 216 and i have spent some of the best years of my pretty short life so far at this school. Most classes have up to 32 children which may seem like alot but you don't even notice it at all. The teachers give us a assignment then they walk around the whole classroom asking us one by one if we understood the work. This is one of best middle school in Queens, New York.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 22, 2009

I am a current student in this school. I like the school. I am graduating this year(2009). I am so happy that I am going to high school but sad to leave the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2009

I have been a proud parent of a Ryan student approaching our third year. My son is graduating this year, and it is a bittersweet moment. The teachers, faculty and staff have been informative, supportive, and forthright in any dealings I have had with them. There is open communication as to what is expected, and I am very involved with the education of my son. The principal is hands on and approachable, he acts on issues raised immediately. The collaboration to ensure parents are informed is to be commended. The parent coordinator constantly alerts parents to events and keeps parents abreast of monthly activities with a calendar and newsletter. The website which is sponsored and maintained by the PTA is superb. Ryan is an excellent Middle School and definitely one of District 26 best kept secrets.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

421 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
70%
Math

The state average for Math was 38% in 2014.

433 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

444 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
69%
Math

The state average for Math was 33% in 2014.

461 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 36% in 2014.

431 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
68%
Math

The state average for Math was 22% in 2014.

283 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
42%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
92%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

419 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "A" for the middle school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 66% 9%
White 1 14% 48%
Hispanic 2 12% 23%
Black 1 7% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 0% 1%
Two or more races 1 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 29%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 161%N/A43%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 3%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 61%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 1828 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.2
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Students

This school

 
6.5
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.1
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
7.2
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.2
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Students

This school

 
6.8
 

City average

 
7.8
 

Teachers

This school

 
6.6
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
6.9
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.8
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Students

This school

 
6.4
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
6.6
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
7.6
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.0
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Students

This school

 
7.6
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.2
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents48041%
Students128698%
Teachers6286%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. REGINALD LANDEAU

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Judo / Other Martial Arts
  • Tennis
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

64-20 175th St
Flushing, NY 11365
Website: Click here
Phone: (718) 358-2005

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Ps 177
Flushing, NY






Ps 255
Flushing, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT