Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ps 144 Col Jeromus Remsen

Public | PK-5 & ungraded | 710 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 8 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

45 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 2, 2014

I'm all for kids having fun, but in a school, I primarily want to make sure my child is learning well and establishing a good foundation for his future. so far, PS 144 has been amazing in that regard. the teachers and principal encourage parent participation and provide detailed feedback on my son's progress in class. They are always responsive to queries and guide me on areas that I can focus on at home to supplement his learnin in school. Other than reading, writing and math, they also have special science residencies, art, dance, and music lessons and also run a great after school program. The parents association is very involved and help out new parents with a strong support system. another great bonus is the great cultural diversity in the classroom here. In my son's class there are about 15 different countries represented and the parents are all involved in their childs education. In todays global times, I think these are the elements that prepare anyone for a strong future ahead, and I'm glad I gave up my son's G&T seat elsewhere to come to PS 144.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2014

my older boy is in the G&T class since 3rd grade. he love it here. my younger son join the same program in first grade. Both of their teachers are great, warm, reachable (email are welcome by both teachers), giving them attention and support. but the best of all is The Principle - Ms Schneider is the greatest scholar you ever meet. She is involved with classes, school events, supports knowledge, friendship and challenge. Our parent - teacher coordinate ALWAYS gives you an answer within short time and ALWAYS helps us with anything. PS 144 needs every parent to be involved in fundraising, bake sales, trips...etc . We love PS 144. Keep the good work and math circle.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2014

Is a great school, I recently moved to New York and enrolled my daughter in this school. The principal and teachers have advised me that my daughter is regularized. I have lots of support from the school regarding the integration
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2013

My son just started kindergarten at this school and we love it. The administration is very open and engaged and parent participation and feedback are very welcomed. My son is already reading and writing and loves doing his math homework. The PA is very active and strong. This school is great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2013

this school is very good, all teachers are nice, the teacher in fourth grade put many effort in math quick quiz which improved the students's skill. my son is in ESL now, their ESL teacher is good, nice and have sense of responsibility. My son has improved much in reading and writing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2013

My son is in K this year. He absolutely loves his teacher and has great respect for her. It has been almost two months only, and I can already see great improvement in his writing and reading. The principal greets kids and parents as we show up every morning with big smile and hugs. She and the staff are very open to parents, their questions and input. My son and me are very happy!!!! Thank you PS144
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2013

This school has good teachers and strong PA community, however, the school officials are rude and not willing to work with parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2013

PS 144 is a wonderful school to start with. The programs and the level of education is fair. It's can be great at times, and certainly above average. The level of education your child receives REALLY depends on who the teacher is. I have 2 kids in PS144, and it's been a mixed bag of teachers, some exceptionally great and some...well..don't seem to want to be there, other than for the paychecks. The administration is very good and caring. I definitely want to give them lots of credit, and probably a good reason why the school is in strong standings. The PA is strong some years and weak in others, and all depends on the leaders voted in, and the amount of parent participation. The whole experience can be a hit-or-miss, and it sort of hinges on who the teacher is, and the parents in the class. Depending on the mix, you could get a fantastic or really bad year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2012

I can't say enough good things about this school. The PA is awesome! They are the engine for all of the extracurricular activities that make this school stand out above the rest! There are residencies in every grade; the kids participate in enrichment programs/cultural activities that are otherwise not provided by the DOE. The philosophy if the school is to educate kids be well rounded individuals rather than just focusing on testing on standardized testing. The school community is very nurturing and collective. Anything that I don't like about the school has to do with the current education mentality in this country rather than with the school itself. A happy and progressive parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2012

Previous reviewer: while I agree with you wholeheartedly about the quality of faculty and programming at 144, I hope you will take the time to develop a greater understanding of the role of the PA board. Among other valuable programs, our fundraising supports the art and science residencies that mitigate the lack of full DOE support in the visual and performing arts. The PA also supports the school's Penny Harvest and other community-oriented fundraisers, which certainly promote greater social consciousness. I agree that plastic or sugary treats are far from ideal, but these only make up a small portion of the fundraising efforts, and these incentives, unfortunately, seem to be the only means to entice some to donate. Those who have the financial wherewithal donate without premium, and I hope we may count you among them. As for the co-managed seats, note that these positions are time-intensive and with so many initiatives to manage, it is only fair that the unpaid responsibilities of these positions be shared. I hope you find the time to work with the PA and perhaps take on some of these responsibilities, attend meetings, and even suggest approaches you find less compromising.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2012

I love this school and the faculty. The only drawback is the PA. I've never seen a bumbling bunch of people in my life. They may have the best of intentions, but they are terrible at promoting civic-mindedness or health and well-being. Every event is inundated with Oriental-Trading-plastic-garbage toys. It's nauseating. The fund raisers use things like candy baskets and other unhealthy fare. I'll happily support this school, but I've taught my kids what quality and a healthy lifestyle are and I can't support what the PA does. Don't even get me started on the fact that they have and had a "co-president" and "co-vice-president". If you can't make the simplest of decisions (picking a leader), how can I trust you to make a decision regarding the development of hundreds of children? I'd love to give it 5 stars, but I honestly can't until a change of staff in the PA. Everything else about the school is awesome... I'd also get rid of the Ice-cream-Fridays (another PA thing, I believe).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2012

My son is in a special needs program here and has really made great leaps forward. The school has a warm and inviting feel, and the staff is consistently friendly and helpful. I have another son in PS101 nearby, and this is definitely the better of the two schools in my book.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2012

We transferred my son from PS 196 , Because of their teachers quality . I can not tell you how happy i am with my son's improvement . My son hated going to class when he was in P.S. 196. I had to fight with him to convince to go and it broke my heart when he screamed for me not to leave him there when I turn away. His school teacher had no patience for the kids . When my son started his Kindergarten in P.S. 144 , I could say he has improved & he is a lot more happier with his new teacher . The whole staff there is wonderful & the principal is really sweet and caring .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2012

The rating for PS 144 needs to be updated. The principal, Ms. Gluck-Schneider, is a wonderful, intelligent, and caring leader, who shows up at the morning line-up to greet the kids n parents with a warm smile. I pick up my 1st-grader at the after-school program at 6 pm, and she is sometimes there too. PS144 has inclusive and fun events for families. She interacts with the kids and parents openly and with a sense of humor. She personally answers emails from parents and I am very grateful to have a strong and fair role model for my child. My child has a PDD-NOS diagnosis. l called the school prior to the first day of school to get some information, and the principal answered the phone herself saying that the only people there were the janitors and herself. She asked who my child was and I explained that my child with an IEP will start the next day. Then, the principal asked, "What are her gifts and interests?" I felt ecstatic to have my child welcomed into a new school with open arms. Did I mention how great the teachers are? The CTT teachers and paras are attentive, detail-oriented, and caring! The PTA is also hard working and puts the children first no matter what.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2012

My son is in 2nd grade. He loves school and comes home happy every day. The difference between his desire to learn here at PS144 and at the Catholic school he was attending is astonishing. His teacher is caring, communicates with me should she have concerns or to share the good stuff too. The field trips and residencies are great. I admire the teachers and staff there (and principal) for striking the right balance between being focused on test scores and allowing students to engage in real learning. Well done.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2012

My daughter is currently in 1st grade and thus far, her and us as parents cannot say enough of the warm and caring atmosphere this school offers. The curriculum is also pretty demanding, but this is a good thing and have seen significant strides in our daughter's academic and social growth while attending this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2011

I am glad this term is almost over. I never saw a principal so obsessed with her self interest instead of caring about the children. She must have come from "The Academy" since any exhibit of professional experience is sorely lacking.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2010

PS 144 is a wonderful school a very good stuff. All my 3 kids went to this school their teachers were and still fantastic....because my grandson is now in PK (room 117) and the teachers are excellent and very nice with all the kids, my grand son is learning a lot for his age as a grandmother I am very happy ....


Posted May 11, 2010

The teachers are committed to each and every student - they go the extra mile for the students and the school. The level of participation of the teachers in the school and after school activities is amazing. A great team!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2010

Fantastic, caring, supportive teachers...who could ask for anything more!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 31% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
71%
Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
74%
Math

The state average for Math was 36% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 31% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
74%
Math

The state average for Math was 30% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students56%
Female56%
Male55%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander66%
Hispanic9%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White53%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Not economically disadvantaged62%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population60%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English57%
Non-migrant56%

Math

All Students71%
Female62%
Male85%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander81%
Hispanic36%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White66%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population73%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English75%
Non-migrant71%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students56%
Female59%
Male55%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander72%
Hispanic27%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White59%
Economically disadvantaged34%
Not economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilities0%
General population62%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant56%

Math

All Students69%
Female60%
Male78%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander71%
Hispanic67%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White79%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilities0%
General population76%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant69%

Science

All Students97%
Female98%
Male96%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander97%
Hispanic94%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged93%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Students with disabilities80%
General population98%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant97%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students53%
Female47%
Male57%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander62%
Hispanic14%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White59%
Economically disadvantaged29%
Not economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilities13%
General population60%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English58%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant53%

Math

All Students59%
Female51%
Male66%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander69%
Hispanic34%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White62%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Not economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilities19%
General population68%
English language learners20%
Proficient in English64%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant59%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "B" for the elementary school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 39% 9%
White 2 36% 48%
Hispanic 2 18% 23%
Black 2 5% 19%
Two or more races 2 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 1% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 26%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 129%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 2%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 63%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 417 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.8
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.1
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
8.8
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.4
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.3
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.8
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.2
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.3
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.7
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.4
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents36762%
Teachers5093%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

93-02 69th Ave
Forest Hills, NY 11375
Phone: (718) 268-2775

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Ps 233
Forest Hills, NY






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT