Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-6
Public district
Franklin Square, NY
Students enrolled: 824
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Washington Street School 5

Posted October 05, 2012
- a parent
A fabulous school. Both my children loved this school. The Principal and Vice Principal really get involved and make sure that the children get the best of what the school has to offer. They are organzied, have their act together and I feel can match up to ANY private school in Long Island. If there was one area of improvement, I would have to say that they need to work closer with their neighboring Middle/High School (Carey High School) to ensure the children are prepared for that next step. A suggestion: how about spending 15-20 minutes a week going over time management and organizational skills. This will significantly improve the childs initial experience with thier new environment where this, even above the more advanced curriculum, seems to be the students biggest challenge. The small time spent of this preparation will provide the middle school students with great returns if CArey HS is their next destination.

Washington Street School 5

Posted May 18, 2012
- a parent
My kids love going to Washington Street School! They have a modern curriculum that makes learning fun (like the March Mathness games), an active PTA that hosts a lot of fun activities for the kids, excellent and caring teaching staff, very involved principal and assistant principal with a great vision for the school, and convenient summer recreation program (just $150 for 5 weeks!). Best of all, it's quite affordable to live in Franklin Square (where the people are down to earth and friendly) and be able to enjoy a top-rated school district at the same time.


Washington Street School
no rating

Posted February 26, 2010
- a parent
You won't find more dedicated teachers anywhere. From the caring Kindergarten teachers (Mrs. Skop & Ms. Herrera) who never seem to tire (how many times can you zip a coat cheerfully?) and make learning to read seem effortless. When my son was in 4th grade, his teacher (Miss Pagoto) actually had the kids excited to learn fractions! I would not have believed it unless I saw it with my own eyes. I hear just as many positive comments from other parents about their children's teachers. Great communication between parents and teachers. New principal still getting her feet wet, but a long history in the district and well respected. Few extracurricular programs such as drama, basketball, etc.

Washington Street School 5

Posted September 18, 2008
- a parent
Washington Street School excellently serves the needs of the children, through general education, special education, and the talented and gifted program. The principal and assistant principal, and well as the staff, goes above and beyond to provide an exciting learning experience for all. The PTA is extremely active, and works very hard to provide fun and enriching programs for the children. My children are very fortunate to be able to attend such a wonderful school.

Washington Street School 5

Posted August 08, 2008
- a parent
Washington Street School is a great school with a very active PTA. The teachers and staff is very dedicated to their students needs, the music program is fablous as well as the other programs this school offers. I am very impressed with the schools reading olympics program and work my daughter brings home. I love this school. Yonelle Baptiste


Washington Street School 5

Posted January 05, 2008
- a parent
This is a great school for all the reasons already stated. This school caters to ALL children, regardless of there individual needs while maintaining high standards for the class. I love this school. The music program is great, as is special ed., gen ed. and the gifted program.

Washington Street School 4

Posted March 09, 2006
- a parent
washington street is a good school with special education, advanced/gifted program, a great music department and an active pta

Washington Street School 5

Posted June 16, 2004
- a parent
This is a fantastic school with a great music, special education and math programs. Both the principal and the vice principal are very involved in the everyday issues of the students and teachers, and their leadership style is one that seeks a balance between accomodation and challenge.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Washington Street School
760 Washington Street, Franklin Square, NY  11010
(516) 505-6995
Last modified Washington Street School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Washington Street School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top