Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Archer Street School

Public | K-4 | 542 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 3, 2013

I attended this school many years ago and it's nice to see that some of the staff members are still there. Says something about experience... My son is now entering third grade. He has been struggling but did enjoy 1st grade with Ms. Mac after a very ruff second grade he now has to be pushed to go and hates school. I do appreciate the teachers concerns but teachers must be careful not to overwhelm a child to the point they loose their confidence. Hoping for a better year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2012

I attended this school many many years ago. I know have a child in the 3rd grade and one will be starting kindergarten this year. The teachers are great and they keep you posted on your childs development. They encourage parent participation and they do have a PTA. It's the best elementary school in Freeport. It truly is a school of excellence!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2011

Not a very welcoming schools for new students. A lot of yelling at the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2010

Horrible school, staff, and principal. All they care about is state testing. There is constant yelling at students and little or no PTA in this school.


Posted February 28, 2007

Both my daughter and I love this school. The test scores are really high right now. There are music classes art class, beneficial clubs and school groups for the children. Including eyeglass club and homework help. This school is always looking for ways to involve parents, with plenty of PTA sponsored events and family programs. This is a great neighborhood with wonderful families, come see for yourself, you will be pleased.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2006

I am very happy that I choose Archer Street School for my child. The school is a very fun as well as a enrichment for my child. My child was not very well in grasping the concept of reading but thanks to Mrs. Fiore my child is finally learning to read. Than you Archer Street for helping my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 31% in 2013.

136 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
21%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
64%
Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2013.

140 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
13%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
70%
Math

The state average for Math was 36% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 88% in 2011.

107 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
99%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 64% 23%
Black 24% 19%
White 11% 48%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Asian 1% 9%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 26%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 66%N/A43%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 0%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 58%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. PAULA LEIN

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

255 Archer St
Freeport, NY 11520
Phone: (516) 867-5250

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Leo F Giblyn School
Freeport, NY






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT